Mississippi Car Insurance After a DUI

If you get a DUI in Mississippi, your auto insurance is going to become more expensive — it's just a question of how large the penalty will be.


How does a DUI affect car insurance in Mississippi?


In Mississippi, a DUI will raise your annual car insurance premium by an average of $1,050. That’s 5% less than the national average premium hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN MISSISSIPPI — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Mississippi$1,587$2,637+66%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

How to find car insurance in Mississippi with a DUI


Finding affordable auto insurance after a DUI conviction is far from simple. In fact, a DUI typically triggers a larger cost increase than any other driving infraction — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Best car insurance after a DUI in Mississippi

If you’re convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in Mississippi, it’s important to consider all your insurance options carefully. Car insurance rates in the wake of a DUI can deviate widely by company. For example, the cheapest auto insurance company with a DUI in Mississippi, State Farm, advertises annual rates 51% more affordable than the state average insurance premium after a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance with a DUI in Mississippi is Alfa, while the priciest company is Shelter, at 68% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE PRICES WITH DUI IN MISSISSIPPI — BY COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,295
Alfa$2,155
Progressive$2,159
Southern Farm Bureau$2,341
Nationwide$2,635
Allstate$2,863
GEICO$3,150
Liberty Mutual$3,194

There’s no auto insurer in particular offering inexpensive DUI car insurance. The best course of action to save money post-DUI citation is to compare policies.

Compare auto insurance policies online or contact an insurance agent to assess the choices and find a sensible policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.

Looking for cheap insurance with a DUI? Compare rates today!

or
Location pin icon
No junk mail. No phone number. Free quotes.

Mississippi DUI laws and limits

Mississippi considers a driver to be DUI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Mississippi when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

As a zero-tolerance state, an those under the age of 21 are considered DUI when their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


Penalties for DUI in Mississippi

Mississippi's DUI lookback period is five years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe lead to enhanced fines and penalties. Penalties are also increased for DUIs that cause damage, injury, or death.

First-time DUI offenses in Mississippi lead to:

  • Up to two days in jail
  • $250 to $1,000 in fines
  • Suspended license for a 90-day minimum
  • Required completion of the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program
  • Requirement to install and use an interlock ignition device for 90 days after license reinstatement

A second DUI offense in Mississippi results in:

  • One to five years in jail
  • $600 to $1,000 in fines
  • 10 days to one year of community service
  • Suspended license for two years
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture
  • IID required

A third or subsequent DUI in Mississippi subjects violators to:

  • One to five years in jail
  • $2,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • Suspended license for five years
  • Vehicle forfeiture
  • IID required

DUI penalties for young drivers in Mississippi

Drivers under 21 whose BAC reads between 0.02% and under 0.08% are considered DUI in Mississippi and subject to the following penalties. Those whose BAC is 0.08% or higher are subject to the same fines as someone over 21 years old.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Pay fines up to $250
  • Receive a suspended license for 90 days

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • Pay fines up to $500
  • Receive a suspended license for one year

A third underage DUI offense in Mississippi results in:

  • Pay fines up to $1,000
  • Receive a suspended license until age 21 or for two years, whichever is longer

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/ms-mississippi/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/Mississippi.html

http://www.highwaysafety.ms.gov/Shared%20Documents/MS%20DUI%20LAW%2063-11-30.pdf

Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Based in Austin, TX, Ava has been in the insurance industry as a licensed agent for 4-plus years. Ava is currently one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts and has been featured in publications such as US News Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.