Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Kristine Lee

Insurance Analyst

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty
  • 4+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent who joined The Zebra in 2019 as an in-house content researcher and writer. Before joining The Zebra, she was a…

Author profile picture

Ross Martin

Insurance Writer

  • 4+ years in the Insurance Industry

Ross joined The Zebra as a writer and researcher in 2019. He specializes in writing insurance content to help shoppers make informed decisions.

Ross h…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Mississippi

If you have caused a car crash, filed a claim, or been given a citation for a serious moving violation, you might be a candidate for high-risk car insurance. Car insurance for drivers with bad records is almost always expensive, but the price increases you face is dependent on your car insurance company, your driving record, and the location in which you live.


What factors into auto insurance for high-risk drivers in Mississippi:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. Mississippi driving laws


Car insurance after an at-fault accident in Mississippi

If you're deemed accountable for causing an auto collision, you should expect your car insurance costs to skyrocket. In Mississippi, the average insurance rate following an at-fault accident is $2,263 compared to the national average of $2,012. A major incident like an at-fault crash will remain on your insurance résumé for up to three years!

Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Mississippi $2,263 $1,800 $463
National Average $2,012 $1,397 $615


The most affordable auto insurance company after an at-fault crash in Mississippi is USAA. USAA’s typical rate increase after an accident is $1,264, resulting in a rate 56% less expensive than the average among all companies. If you've been found at fault in an accident in Mississippi, avoid Mississippi Farm Bureau and Nationwide, which penalize at-fault drivers more severely.

Company Annual Rate With an At-Fault Accident
USAA $999
ALFA $1,333
State Farm $1,451
Mississippi Farm Bureau $1,499
Nationwide $1,678


Find the cheapest car insurance in Mississippi today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


Does getting a speeding ticket in Mississippi lead to more expensive car insurance?

One of the violations that most commonly earn drivers the "risky" designation is speeding. In Mississippi, car insurance premiums rise by $406 per year after a speeding ticket, to an average annual price of $2,206.

State With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Mississippi $2,206 $1,800 $406
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330

The foolproof way to get affordable insurance after getting a speeding ticket is to shop around and compare the available options. The cheapest car insurance after a speeding citation in Mississippi is available through USAA. USAA’s average premium after a citation is $1,271 less than the state average. If you've been caught speeding in Mississippi, Mississippi Farm Bureau is worth avoiding.

Insurance Company Annual Rate After a Speeding Violation
USAA $935
ALFA $1,269
State Farm $1,306
Nationwide $1,401
Mississippi Farm Bureau $1,598


How does a distracted driving ticket impact car insurance premiums in Mississippi?

If you're ticketed for distracted driving, your car insurance bill is going to get more expensive. In Mississippi, auto insurance costs typically increase by $264 each year. That's a 15% increase from the average annual rate in Mississippi and 53% more than the national average cost of auto insurance after a distracted driving offense.

Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Mississippi $2,064 $1,800 $264
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173

The best way to find affordable auto insurance in the wake of a distracted driving citation is to shop a variety of options. The cheapest car insurance company following distracted driving in Mississippi is USAA, with a typical rate of just $737 per year, 64% less than the average distracted driving insurance rate by all insurers.

Insurance Company Annual Rate With Distracted Driving
USAA $737
ALFA $1,141
State Farm $1,210
Nationwide $1,321
Mississippi Farm Bureau Insurance $1,348


How does a ticket for racing impact Mississippi car insurance rates?

Racing is treated as an extraordinarily serious offense. Car insurance companies usually penalize racing citations severely — in fact, Mississippi auto insurance prices increase by $702 annually following a ticket for racing. That represents a 39% increase on the typical yearly car insurance rate in Mississippi!

Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Per-Year Rate Increase
Mississippi $2,502 $1,800 $702
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000

If you have been pulled over for racing, do your due diligence and seek out the best rates. In Mississippi, start with State Farm, with premiums 48% cheaper than the state average after a racing citation.

Insurance Company Annual Rate With Racing
State Farm $1,306
USAA $1,497
Mississippi Farm Bureau $1,598
ALFA $1,600
Mountain Laurel Assurance Company $1,917


How does reckless driving in Mississippi impact car insurance rates?

One of the most serious driving violations, reckless driving is a certain way to pay more for car insurance. Insurers increase rates by $814 each year after a reckless driving citation. That comes out to 45% greater than the average insurance rate in Mississippi, and 37% more than the national average penalty for reckless driving.

Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Mississippi $2,614 $1,800 $814
National Average $2,395 $1,397 $998


If you're found guilty of reckless driving, shop around to find the best rate. In Mississippi, the best underwriter with a reckless driving ticket is USAA.

Insurance Company Annual Rate With Reckless Driving
USAA $1,063
State Farm $1,306
ALFA $1,600
Mountain Laurel Assurance Company $1,917
Mississippi Farm Bureau $2,098

If you're looking for auto insurance as a high-risk driver, the best course of action is to shop around and compare rates.

Compare auto insurance quotes side-by-side!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Driving laws in Mississippi

The state of Mississippi imposes a number of laws on its drivers in an effort to keep the roads safe. If you want to stay on the correct side of the law, check out this general guide to the driving laws in Mississippi.

Learn more about Mississippi's car insurance laws.

Speeding in Mississippi

When are you speeding in Mississippi?

It can be easy to find yourself creeping over the speed limit, especially if you aren’t familiar with the general speed laws in your state. Mississippi has basic rules it implores drivers to follow, including slowing down around curves, on narrow roads, and when approaching crossings, intersections, and hill crests. So how can you keep from collecting speeding tickets? Have a look at the general guidelines below.

Maximum speed limits in Mississippi:

  • 70 mph on interstate highways or on controlled-access highways with four or more lanes
  • 65 mph on all other highways

Cities and counties in Mississippi have the power to set speed laws for their areas, so it always pays to keep track of the posted limits.

Penalties for speeding in Mississippi

  • First conviction: Up to 10 days in jail and a fine of up to $100
  • Second conviction (within a year): Up to 20 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $200
  • Third or subsequent conviction (within a year of the first conviction): Up to six months and/or a fine of up to $500

First offenders who agree to attend four hours of a traffic violator’s course can have the offense wiped from their driving records.  


Reckless driving in Mississippi

What is reckless driving in Mississippi?

Reckless driving in Mississippi can encompass a variety of poor driving behaviors. The state defines it as driving a “vehicle in such a manner as to indicate either a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”

There is also a distinction between reckless driving and careless driving, which Mississippi defines as driving in “an imprudent manner, without due regard for...the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances.” This is generally considered a lesser offense than reckless driving.

Penalties for reckless driving in Mississippi

Driving recklessly in Mississippi is considered a misdemeanor. If you are found guilty of reckless driving in Mississippi, you can expect to receive penalties that include a fine of up to $100 of a first offense which climbs to upwards of $500 for subsequent offenses.

Careless driving carries a lesser penalty between $5 and $50.


Distracted driving in Mississippi

What is distracted driving in Mississippi?

Mississippi distracted driving laws are in place to curb the many preventable car accidents that occur due to distracted driving each year. There are many things that can distract drivers, including speaking to a passenger, eating, or even stray thoughts. While it is hard to legislate against these activities, lawmakers have taken steps to combat preventable accidents by banning texting while driving in Mississippi.

Penalties for distracted driving in Mississippi

If you are caught in violation of Mississippi texting and driving laws, you can expect the following penalties to apply:

  • A fine of $25 for a first offense
  • A fine of $100 for subsequent offenses


Racing in Mississippi

What is racing in Mississippi?

Mississippi defines racing as two or more vehicles moving “at accelerating speeds in a competitive attempt to outdistance each other.”

Penalties for racing in Mississippi

Racing in Mississippi is considered a misdemeanor, you can expect the following penalties if you are caught in a speed contest in the state.

  • A fine of up to $500
  • Up to six months in jail


At-fault accidents in Mississippi

What constitutes an at-fault accident in Mississippi?

Mississippi is considered an “at-fault” state, which means that the insurance policy of the driver found at fault is expected to pay for damages. The state requires every driver to carry at least certain minimums of liability insurance. This insurance pays for damages that you cause but does not cover your own injuries or property damage.

If you are pulled over, you will be expected to provide proof of the following minimum amounts in liability coverage:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury for one person
  • $50,000 for total bodily injury or death
  • $25,000 for property damage

Should damage from an accident that you caused exceed these amounts, you are expected to cover the remainder out of pocket.

Consequences of an at-fault accident in Mississippi

If you have the proper car insurance coverage in Mississippi, including collision coverage, you can expect it to work on your behalf should you be found at fault in an accident. Assuming damage doesn’t exceed your limits, the only monetary impact you may face is likely to be a rise in your car insurance premiums. Depending on the circumstances, it is possible for your insurance company to not renew your policy, though this isn’t common after one accident and you will always receive notice ahead of time.

However, driving without insurance in Mississippi is simply not an option. If you are caught in violation of Mississippi car insurance requirements, you can face penalties that include:

  • A fine of up to $500
  • Suspension of driving privileges for up to a year
  • Conviction of a misdemeanor

It should be noted, however, that the above penalties pale in comparison to what you will face if you are at fault in an accident and have no insurance. In that case, you are personally liable for all damages.


DUI in Mississippi

What is a DUI in Mississippi?

Mississippi DUI laws are clear. Any non-commercial driver aged 21 or over driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above .08 is considered legally drunk. The level is even lower for commercial drivers — .04 — and for drivers under 21, at .02 or higher.

Mississippi DUI penalties

The penalties for driving under the influence in Mississippi are quite steep. The consequences of driving under the influence are as follows.

First offense:

  • A fine between $250 and $1,000
  • Up to 48 hours imprisonment
  • Mandatory alcohol safety education program
  • Driver’s license suspension between 30 and 90 days
  • Ignition interlock device required for 90 days

Second offense (within five years):

  • A fine between $600 and $1,500
  • Community service between ten days and one year
  • Between five days and one year of imprisonment
  • In-depth diagnostic assessment and an alcohol treatment program
  • Driver’s license suspension up to one year
  • Impoundment of all registered vehicles (or ignition interlock if others in the household depend on the vehicles)
  • Ignition interlock device required for 90 days

Third offense (within five years):

  • A fine between $2,000 and $5,000
  • Between one and five years imprisonment
  • In-depth diagnostic assessment and alcohol treatment
  • Driver’s license suspension for two years
  • Registered vehicles will be seized and subject to forfeiture
  • Ignition interlock device required for three years after a period of license suspension

Fourth offense

  • Fine between $3,000 and $10,000
  • Between two and 10 years in prison
  • License suspension for five years

Of course, there are situations where these penalties can be even more severe, including child endangerment (transporting a child while impaired) and aggravated DUI, which is when the impaired is in an accident that caused injury or death to another person. Child endangerment is a further misdemeanor charge while an aggravated DUI can carry between five and 25 years in prison for every injury or death.


Sources and references:

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Mississippi

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Mississippi? Ask one of our licensed agents!

Will my auto insurance cover damage to a fifth-wheel camper, or should I use my RV insurance?

I'm so sorry to hear about your accident!  The best thing to do would be to contact your RV insurance claims department to see how they want to handle the claim. How this claim pays out will be dependent on the details of the accident. They can refer you to your auto insurance claims departmen…
Jul 21, 2022 Leakesville, MS

An excluded driver got into an not-at-fault accident with my vehicle

In this situation, it can depend. When a driver is excluded from a car insurance policy, this means they are not covered to drive your vehicle. Your insurance company is no longer responsible if the claim was caused by an excluded driver. The good news is, in most situations when a driver is rear-e…
Sep 16, 2018 Gulfport, MS

Should I file a claim for damage that I caused to someone's bumper?

I would recommend having the other driver get an estimate first. This way, you can decide if the repair costs are affordable enough to pay for the damage yourself. If the repair costs are not feasible for you to pay on your own then you would need to file a claim with your insurance company. And wh…
Feb 1, 2017 Jackson, MS

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.