New Hampshire Car Insurance with a DUI

If you get a DUI in New Hampshire, your auto insurance will grow more expensive — it's only a matter of how large your penalty will be.


How does being convicted of DUI alter auto insurance premiums in New Hampshire?


In New Hampshire, a DUI can increase your yearly auto insurance cost by an average value of $785. That’s 40% less than the U.S. average rate hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN NEW HAMPSHIRE — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
New Hampshire$1,037$1,822+76%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

How to find auto insurance in New Hampshire with a DUI violation


Finding cheap car coverage soon after a DUI conviction isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI typically leads to a larger rate increase than does any other road violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident. New Hampshire is an extremely bad state in which to be convicted of a DUI: its car insurance penalties are among the nation's most severe.


Best auto insurance after a DUI in New Hampshire

If you've been convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in New Hampshire, it’s key to consider your insurance possibilities thoughtfully. Car insurance rates following a DUI may deviate widely depending on the company. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company after a DUI in New Hampshire, Concord Group Insurance, offers yearly rates 29% below the statewide mean insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The second-cheapest option for car insurance with a DUI in New Hampshire is GEICO, while the priciest firm is Amica, at 111% above average.


AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER DUI IN NEW HAMPSHIRE — BY COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
Concord Group Insurance$1,288
GEICO$1,352
State Farm$1,367
Progressive$1,418
Liberty Mutual$1,612
Allstate$2,278

There is no auto insurance company in particular that offers cheap DUI auto insurance. The most effective course of action to save money after a DUI violation is to shop around.

Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact an insurance professional to gauge your choices and find a cost-effective plan.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI violations.

Need insurance after a DUI? Compare rates now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

New Hampshire DUI laws

Driving under the influence is commonly referred to as driving while intoxicated, or DWI, in New Hampshire. Drivers are DWI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI in New Hampshire if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DWI if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DWI penalties in New Hampshire

The DWI lookback period in New Hampshire is 10 years. Multiple DWI offenses within a decade enhance any penalties.

First-time DWI offenses in New Hampshire lead to:

  • At least $500 in fines
  • License revocation for 90 days to two years
  • May be required to install and use an ignition interlock device
  • Must attend an impaired driver intervention program

A second DWI offense in New Hampshire results in:

  • At least five to thirty days in jail
  • At least $750 in fines
  • License revocation for 90 days to two years
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked
  • Required to install and use an IID
  • Must attend an impaired driver intervention program

Third-time DWI offenders in New Hampshire are subject to:

  • At least 180 days in jail
  • At least $750 in fines
  • Indefinite license revocation
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked
  • Required to install and use an IID
  • 28 days in a treatment program

Aggravated DWI penalties in New Hampshire

An aggravated DWI in New Hampshire is any DWI offense where the driver is found to have a BAC over 0.08% (or 0.02% if underage) and:

  • Has been driving at least 30 miles per hour over the speed limit
  • Attempted to evade police
  • Transported a passenger under 16 years old
  • Caused an accident
  • Has a BAC of 0.16% or higher

Penalties for an aggravated DWI that has not led to an accident are:

  • Up to one year in prison
  • At least $750 in fines
  • License revocation for 18 months to two years
  • Seven days in an intervention center or program
  • Possibility of continued testing or treatment

The penalties for an aggravated DWI in New Hampshire that cause an accident are:

  • Up to seven years in prison
  • At least $1,000 in fines
  • License revocation for 18 months to two years
  • Seven days in an intervention center or program

DWI penalties for underage drinkers in New Hampshire

There are no specific laws for an underage DWI in New Hampshire. Instead, those under 21 years old are subject to the same penalties as an adult DWI offender. However, in all cases, an underage DWI violator will have a mandatory license revocation of at least one year and may need to install and use an IID for one year or until the age of 21, whichever is longer.

Sources and references:

https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/financial-responsibility/suspension/index.htm

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xxi/265-a/265-a-mrg.htm

https://www.dmv.org/nh-new-hampshire/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/new-hampshire.html

Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Ava worked in the insurance industry as an agent for four-plus years. Currently providing insights and analysis as one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts, Ava has been featured in publications such as U.S. News & World Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.