Auto insurance requirements in New Hampshire
Unlike most other states, New Hampshire does not force its drivers to carry car insurance. However, drivers remain liable for any and all damage they cause in an at-fault collision. Failure to maintain auto insurance puts you at great risk, as you could be responsible for many thousands of dollars in damages and injury payments.
Those who do choose to carry auto insurance in New Hampshire must meet certain minimums (see below for details).
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage||Medical Payments|
Though New Hampshire doesn’t require you to buy an auto insurance policy, a lenderorleasingcompany certainly could. Many will require physical damage coverage to protect your vehicle against collisions or other damage. This is sometimes referred to as full coverage.
Liability coverage in New Hampshire
Liability coveragein New Hampshire goes toward paying for bodily injuries and property damage that you cause in an at-fault accident. This coverage also helps pay for the injured party’s lost wages and pain and suffering as well. Just remember that your own liability coverage never pays for your injuries or damages to your own property.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in New Hampshire
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: This is a form of coverage that helps to pay for your injuries if you are harmed by an uninsured — or underinsured — driver.
What are state-mandated car insurance limits in the Granite State?
The maximum amount that an insurance company will reimburse for a claim is known as an insurance limit. Liability coverage limits are determined by individual states. You’ll typically find this limit split into three categories:bodily injury per person,bodily injury per accident, andproperty damage. In New Hampshire, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person is the maximum amount an insurer will pay for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident is the maximum dollar amount that will be paid for all injuries that you cause in an accident in which more than one person is hurt.
- $25,000 in property damage per accident is the total dollar amount that will be paid for damage that you cause in an accident.
Do New Hampshire’s required minimums provide ample coverage?
Quite simply, no. The state does not require any insurance, which puts both you and others at risk. If you do decide to purchase insurance, the minimum limits of liability required are just about on par with most other states. However, this does not mean that it is enough. If you are responsible for injuring another person, their medical bills could very quickly exceed your bodily injury liability limits, leaving you on the hook for any remaining balance.
Furthermore, New Hampshire requires no coverage for your own vehicle, meaning you could also be left without a vehicle. If you want to be fully protected, it might be a good idea to add extra coverage or increase your current limits.
New Hampshire’s penalties for driving without proof of insurance
New Hampshire is the only state that does not have mandated car insurance requirements. This means that you will not face a penalty simply for being stopped while uninsured. However, if you are in an accident, you could certainly face small fines. More importantly, if you are at-fault in the accident, you are still responsible for all damages or injuries that you cause, which is likely to far exceed the annual costs of car insurance.
Optional car insurance coverage in New Hampshire
New Hampshire car insurance carriers offer a number of coverage options that could be wise to look into. Here is a list of some of the more common options available:
- Comprehensive: This is a physical damage coverage that pays for damages to your vehicle caused by non-collision circumstances such astheftand damage related to weatherevents.
- Collision: This is another popular physical damage coverage that pays for damages that result from a collision with another vehicle or object.
- Loan/lease payoff: Commonly known as gap coverage, this coverage can pay the difference between what you owe on a loan and what your car’sactual cash value. This can help in the event that you owe more than your car is actually worth.
- Rental car reimbursement: If your car is unable to be driven, this coverage will help pay for a rental car until yours can be fixed.
- Roadside assistance: Roadside assistance coverage can help when you suffer breakdowns or find yourself with flat tires, dead batteries, or in need of a tow.
Why adhering to New Hampshire car insurance requirements is important
Carrying car insurance in New Hampshire is mandatory. Not only is it a legal requirement, but it’s crucial for protecting yourself and your assets. Adding more robust coverage or increasing your current limits is highly recommended for keeping you protected. However, if you’re worried about a rise in your premiums, it may be time to shop for cheaper coverage. The Zebra is a great place to start, giving you the opportunity to see side-by-side insurance quotes from the nation’s top carriers. Enter your ZIP below to get started.
Compare rates today for free.