Oklahoma Car Insurance with a DUI

If you happen to get a DUI in Oklahoma, your auto insurance is going to be more expensive — it's just a question of by how much.


How does a DUI affect car insurance rates in Oklahoma?


In Oklahoma, a DUI will increase your annual car insurance premium by an average value of $779. That is 41% less than the United States average rate hike after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN OKLAHOMA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Oklahoma$1,787$2,566+44%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Purchasing car insurance in Oklahoma after a DUI violation


Finding cheap car insurance after a DUI offense is far from straightforward. In fact, a DUI usually triggers a bigger rate increase than does any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Low-cost car insurance after a DUI in Oklahoma

If you've been convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Oklahoma, it’s crucial to consider your insurance options judiciously. Car insurance premiums after a DUI can vary widely by insurer. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Oklahoma, State Farm, offers annual rates 48% below the state average insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The second-cheapest choice for car insurance with a DUI in Oklahoma is Progressive, while the priciest firm is Liberty Mutual, with prices 121% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER DUI IN OKLAHOMA — BY INSURER
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,327
Progressive$1,829
GEICO$2,009
Farmers$2,256
Allstate$2,364
Oklahoma Farm Bureau$2,835
Shelter$2,965

There’s no car insurer, in particular, offering inexpensive DUI car insurance. The recommended way to limit your losses after a DUI citation is to shop around.

Compare auto insurance policies online or reach out to an insurance expert to assess your choices and find an affordable plan.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.


Oklahoma DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Oklahoma when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Oklahoma if there is any detectable alcohol or drugs in their system.

Drivers may also be considered driving while impaired, or DWI, if their BAC is 0.05% to below 0.08%.


DUI penalties in Oklahoma

There is a 10-year DUI lookback period in Oklahoma. Repeatedly violating DUI laws leads to stricter penalties and sentences.

In addition to the below penalties, DUI offenders in Oklahoma may be responsible for paying a:

  • $200 trauma care fee
  • $15 mental health fee
  • $25 license reinstatement fee
  • $75 processing fee
  • $175 limited driving privilege fee
  • $50 ignition interlock fee

and may also be subject to an alcohol and drug assessment.

Penalties are significantly increased for DUIs in which the offender has a BAC of 0.15% or higher or for DUIs that lead to injury.

First-time DUI offenses are misdemeanors in Oklahoma and lead to:

  • 10 days to one year in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • A 180-day license suspension

A second DUI offense in Oklahoma is a felony and results in:

  • One to seven years in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year

Three or more DUI offenses are also felonies in Oklahoma and subject offenders to:

  • One to 10 years in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for three years

DWI penalties in Oklahoma

Those whose BAC is 0.05% to under 0.08% are considered DWI in Oklahoma. Penalties for a DWI are:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • $100 to $500 in fines
  • License suspended for 30 days (first offense), six months (second offense), or one year (third offense)

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Oklahoma

Drivers under the age of 21 found to have any intoxicants in their system are considered underage DUI in Oklahoma.

In addition to the below penalties, underage DUI offenders will also have the same license suspension periods as offenders over 21.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Owe fines between $100 and $500
  • Be required to perform 20 hours of community service
  • Attend a treatment program

Penalties for a second underage DUI in Oklahoma are:

  • Possible requirement to pay fines between $100 and $1,000
  • Must perform at least 240 hours of community service
  • License cancelled for two years or until age 18, whichever is longer
  • Must use an ignition interlock device for at least 30 days
  • Possible requirement to attend a treatment program

A third underage DUI offense in Oklahoma results in:

  • Fines up to $2,000
  • At least 480 hours of community service
  • License cancelled for two years or until age 18, whichever is longer
  • Must use an IID for at least 30 days
  • Possible requirement to attend a treatment program

Sources and references:

https://www.ok.gov/dps/FAQs/DUI_FAQ.html

https://www.dmv.org/ok-oklahoma/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/oklahoma.html

2019 Drunk Driving Statistics

Compare rates now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Ava worked in the insurance industry as an agent for four-plus years. Currently providing insights and analysis as one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts, Ava has been featured in publications such as U.S. News & World Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.