Auto insurance requirements in Oklahoma
Oklahoma requires all drivers to carry car insurance. These laws are put in place to protect both you and other drivers. Oklahoma law also states that proof of coverage must be kept with you at all times while driving and shown to law enforcement officials at their request. So that you can stay on the right side of Oklahoma law, we’ve put together a page that details car insurance requirements and optional coverages.
Liability coverage in Oklahoma
Liability insurance covers bodily injury and property damage that you cause to others in an accident in which you are at fault. It also goes toward paying for pain and suffering, funeral expenses, and lost wages suffered by those you harm. Keep in mind that liability coverage never pays for your injuries or damages to your own property. Liability insurance is required in Oklahoma, with the limits discussed below.
What are Oklahoma's state-mandated car insurance limits?
Limits are the maximum amount that an insurance company will pay in the event of a claim. Most states require a certain amount of coverage in order to legally drive, which is also usually referred to as the limit of liability. In Oklahoma, liability limits are written out with three numbers: 25/50/25. These numbers represent bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage. These coverage types are broken down further below:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person is how much that your insurer will pay for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident the total amount your insurer will pay for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
- $25,000 in property damage per accident is the maximum amount your insurer will pay for damage that you cause in an accident.
Do Oklahoma’s required minimums provide enough coverage?
Oklahoma’s required liability insurance is on par with most other states in the country. However, that doesn’t mean that it’s enough. If you cause an accident that causes serious injuries, your per person and per accident limits could be exhausted quickly by costly medical expenses. Your property damage limit is also not even high enough to cover the average cost of a new vehicle in the United States.
What’s more, if you only carry liability, you have no coverage for your own vehicle. This leaves you at risk. Most insurance experts would suggest raising your liability limits to at least 50/100/50 or higher, especially if you have significant assets that you want to protect. Adding physical damage coverage also adds a layer of protection for your own vehicle.
Oklahoma’s penalties for driving without proof of insurance
The state of Oklahoma requires liability insurance for all drivers. If you are found to be driving without the proper coverage, you can expect the following penalties:
- Fine of up to $250
- Up to 30 days in prison
- License plate seizure
To regain your driving privileges, drivers will need to obtain insurance and pay a $125 administrative fee.
Optional car insurance coverage in Oklahoma
While Oklahoma law only requires liability coverage, most insurance companies in the state offer a wide array of coverages that can keep you and your assets protected. Here are some of the more popular options:
- Comprehensive: Physical damage coverage that protects your vehicle from non-collision damages including theft, weather damage, and even hitting an animal.
- Collision: Another form of physical damage coverage that protects your vehicle from damage relating to colliding with another vehicle or stationary object.
- Loan/Lease Payoff: Sometimes referred to as gap coverage, this coverage is very handy for those who are financing a vehicle that has been totaled. It factors in your vehicle’s depreciation to cover the difference in the actual cash value and what you still owe on the loan.
- Medical Payments: Medical payments coverage — or Med Pay — is an optional coverage that goes toward covering the medical or funeral expenses of you and those in your vehicle at the time of an accident. This coverage pays regardless of fault.
- Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car is rendered undrivable, this coverage steps in to provide you with a rental until your car is fixed. Limits vary by company.
- Roadside Assistance: Though each insurance company will offer slightly different coverage options, this coverage typically helps in the event that your car breaks down. Typical uses of this coverage are for battery jumps, towing, and fixing flat tires.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: Unfortunately, quite a few motorists still have no insurance — or at least not enough. This coverage can help in the event that an uninsured — or underinsured — driver causes an accident and is unable to pay your medical expenses.
Why adhering to Oklahoma’s car insurance requirements is important
Keeping the required levels of insurance coverage in Oklahoma is not only the law, but it’s a great way to keep you and your assets protected. What’s more, most insurance experts suggest having higher liability limits than most states impose. If you’re worried about the cost of adding such coverage, you might want to consider shopping for a new policy. The Zebra can help you compare quotes and find a new policy that fits into your price range.
Is Oklahoma an at-fault state for car insurance?
No, Oklahoma is not an at-fault state for auto insurance.
Visit our guide to no-fault insurance to view a list of at-fault states.
Ready to start saving?