Maryland Car Insurance with a DUI

If you are convicted of DUI in Maryland, your auto insurance is going to be more expensive — it's only a question of by how much.


How does being convicted of DUI alter car insurance in Maryland?


In Maryland, a DUI conviction will raise your annual car insurance rate by an average of $648. That’s 70% less than the national average premium increase following a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN MARYLAND — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Maryland$1,415$2,063+46%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

How to find car insurance coverage in Maryland with a DUI conviction


Finding cheap auto insurance in the wake of a DUI offense is far from straightforward. In fact, a DUI often leads to a more substantial rate increase than any other driving infraction — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Maryland

If you are convicted of a driving under the influence violation in Maryland, it’s important to consider each of your insurance options carefully. Auto insurance rates following a DUI often vary substantially by insurer. For example, the cheapest auto insurance company with a DUI in Maryland, Erie, offers annual premiums 27% more affordable than the state average insurance premium after a DUI violation. The second-most affordable insurer for car insurance with a DUI in Maryland is State Farm, while the most expensive company is Nationwide, at 44% above average.


CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER A DUI IN MARYLAND — BY COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
Erie$1,512
State Farm$1,688
GEICO$1,693
USAA$2,273
Allstate$2,385
Progressive$2,464

There’s no car insurer in particular offering inexpensive DUI car insurance. The best way to save money post-DUI citation is to assess multiple insurers.

Compare car insurance quotes online or contact an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a cost-effective DUI insurance policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI violations.

Compare rates and find insurance today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

DUI laws in Maryland

Maryland has two designations for those suspected of drinking and driving: driving under the influence, or DUI, and driving while impaired, or DWI.

Both offenses are serious and relate more to the blood alcohol concentration of a driver than the danger they pose to themselves and others.

In Maryland, you are considered DUI if your BAC is 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher. Those under the legal drinking age of 21 are DUI if their BAC measures 0.02% or higher.

You are DWI in Maryland if your BAC is 0.07% or higher. Those most often charged with a DWI are charged based on their performance on a field sobriety test. Additionally, officer observations of impairment play a role in charging a driver with a DWI.


Maryland DUI penalties

The lookback period in Maryland is five years. Multiple DUI offenses lead to enhanced penalties. Penalties are also increased for transporting a minor at the time of DUI or for a BAC of 0.15% or higher.

First-time DUI offenses in Maryland lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • License revocation for up to six months
  • 12 points added to driving record
  • May be required to use an ignition interlock device

A second DUI offense in Maryland results in:

  • Five days to two years in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • License revoked for up to one year
  • 12 points added to driving record
  • Must participate in the Ignition Interlock Program
  • May be required to attend an alcohol abuse assessment and program

DWI penalties in Maryland

As with DUI penalties, multiple DWI offenses in Maryland within five years lead to additional penalties. Penalties are also increased for transporting a minor when charged with a DWI.

First-time DUI offenses in Maryland lead to:

  • Up to two months in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • Six-month license suspension
  • Eight points added to driving record

A second DUI offense in Maryland results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • License suspended for nine to 12 months
  • Eight points added to driving record

DUI rules for underage drinkers in Maryland

Drivers under the legal drinking age of 21 and charged with a DUI in Maryland may pay a fine of $500 for the first offense or $1,000 for any subsequent DUI offenses.

In addition, underage DUI violators must participate in the Ignition Interlock Program or their license will be suspended.

Sources and references:

http://www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/impaired/maryland-impaired-driving-laws.htm

https://www.dmv.org/md-maryland/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/maryland.html

https://wtop.com/maryland/2016/09/new-drunk-driving-law-goes-into-effect-in-maryland-oct-1/slide/1/

https://www.responsibility.org/uncategorized/dui-reform-remains-an-elusive-goal-in-maryland/

Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Ava worked in the insurance industry as an agent for four-plus years. Currently providing insights and analysis as one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts, Ava has been featured in publications such as U.S. News & World Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.