Minnesota Car Insurance with a DUI

If you are convicted of DUI in Minnesota, your car insurance is going to get more expensive — it is just a question of how large your penalty will be.


How will being convicted of DUI impact auto insurance rates in Minnesota?


In Minnesota, a DUI offense can lift your annual car insurance premium by an average value of $749. That is 47% less than the national average premium increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN MINNESOTA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Minnesota$1,319$2,068+57%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Shopping for car insurance in Minnesota with a DUI violation


Finding reasonable car coverage after a DUI offense is not easy. In fact, a DUI typically leads to a larger rate increase than any other road violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Affordable car insurance after a DUI in Minnesota

If you have been found guilty of a DUI or DWI violation in Minnesota, it’s essential to consider your insurance options judiciously. Car insurance rates following a DUI can deviate greatly depending on the company. For example, the best cheap auto insurer with a DUI in Minnesota, State Farm, offers yearly rates 42% better than the state average insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in Minnesota is American Family, and the most expensive insurer is GEICO, with rates 57% pricer than average.


AUTO INSURANCE COSTS AFTER A DUI IN MINNESOTA — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,206
American Family$1,265
AAA$1,926
Progressive$2,083
Allstate$2,679

There’s no auto insurance company in particular offering inexpensive DUI auto insurance. The most effective way to limit your losses in the wake of a DUI violation is to shop policies.

Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact an insurance agent to assess your choices and discover a suitable option.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.

Considering new insurance after a DUI? Compare rates now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Minnesota DUI regulations

Minnesota commonly refers to the act of driving under the influence as driving while impaired, or DWI. You are DWI in Minnesota when your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Those below the legal drinking age of 21 are DWI in Minnesota if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DWI penalties in Minnesota

There is a lifetime DWI lookback period in Minnesota. This means that recurring DWI offenses will lead to enhanced penalties.

In Minnesota, the first three DWI offenses are considered misdemeanors. A fourth DWI is a felony, as are any DWI offenses leading to substantial bodily harm or death.

In addition, penalties are enhanced for anyone found to have any measurable BAC while transporting a child.

First-time DWI offenses in Minnesota lead to:

  • Up to 90 days in jail (or up to one year if BAC reads 0.16% or higher)
  • Up to $1,000 in fines (or $3,000 if BAC reads 0.16% or higher)
  • Up to a 90-day license suspension (or one year if BAC reads 0.16% or higher)
  • Possibility to install and use an ignition interlock device to maintain driving privileges (or for one year if BAC reads 0.16% or higher)

A second DWI offense in Minnesota results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $3,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year (or two years if BAC is 0.16% or higher)
  • License plates are impounded
  • Vehicle forfeited if BAC is 0.16% or higher

Third-time DWI offenders in Minnesota are subject to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $3,000 in fines
  • License cancellation
  • IID required for limited driving privileges
  • License plates impounded
  • Vehicle forfeiture

A fourth DWI offense in Minnesota within 10 years of a previous conviction results in:

  • Up to seven years in jail
  • Up to $14,000 in fines
  • License cancellation
  • IID required for limited driving privileges for four to six years
  • License plates impounded
  • Vehicle forfeiture
  • Must meet rehabilitation requirements

DWI penalties for young drivers in Minnesota

Minnesota is a zero-tolerance state for underage DWI. Drivers are considered DWI if they have any measurable BAC. DWI convictions stay on an underage driver's record for at least 15 years.

In addition, underage drinkers whose BAC is 0.08% or higher are subject to the same penalties as that of a DWI offender over 21 years old.

The first underage DWI offense in Minnesota is a misdemeanor, leading to:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension of up to 30 days

Second and subsequent underage DWI offenses under 0.08% BAC result in an increased license suspension period of 180 days.

Sources and references:

https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/educational-materials/Documents/impaired-dwi-consequences.pdf

https://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/pubs/DWIover.pdf

https://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/pubs/ss/ssdwirk.pdf

https://www.dmv.org/mn-minnesota/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/Minnesota.html

The Zebra

The Zebra is the nation's leading independent insurance comparison site. The Zebra compares more than 100 insurance companies and provides agent support and educational resources to ensure drivers are equipped to make the most informed decisions about their home and auto insurance.