Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Kristine Lee

Insurance Analyst

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty
  • 4+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent who joined The Zebra in 2019 as an in-house content researcher and writer. Before joining The Zebra, she was a…

Author profile picture

Renata Balasco

Senior Content Strategist

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty

Renata joined The Zebra in 2020 as a Customer Experience Agent. Since 2021, she has worked as licensed insurance professional and content strategist.…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Minnesota

If you have been involved in an at-fault accident, filed a claim, or received a citation for a serious violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Car insurance coverage for high-risk drivers is usually expensive, but the price increases you receive depends on your auto insurance company, your driving history, and the state in which you live.

What goes into car insurance rates for high-risk drivers in Minnesota? — table of contents:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. Minnesota driving laws


Car insurance after an at-fault collision in Minnesota

If you’re deemed accountable for an auto accident, you can expect your car insurance costs to rise. In Minnesota, the average insurance rate following an at-fault crash is $1,835 compared to the nationwide average of $2,012. A serious incident like an at-fault crash could remain on your insurance record for up to three years!

Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Minnesota $1,835 $1,258 $577
National Average $2,012 $1,397 $615


The best car insurance company after an at-fault accident in Minnesota is State Farm. State Farm’s typical price increase after a crash is $586, leading to a total cost 32% less expensive than the average among all companies. If you’ve caused an accident in Minnesota, avoid Illinois Farmers and Allstate, which are on the pricier end of the spectrum.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With an At-Fault Collision
State Farm $1,249
Owners Insurance Company $1,440
North Star Mutual $2,075
Illinois Farmers $2,145
Allstate $2,154


Find the cheapest auto insurance in Minnesota!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


Does a speeding ticket in Minnesota result in higher car insurance rates?

One of the common violations that earn drivers the "risky" tag is speeding. In Minnesota, you can expect to see your rates rise by $286 per year after a speeding citation, to an average per-year price of $1,544.

Location With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Minnesota $1,544 $1,258 $286
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330


The foolproof way to get affordable insurance after a speeding ticket is to shop around and compare the options. The cheapest car insurance after a speeding citation in Minnesota is available through Western National. Western National’s average rate after a citation is $722 less than the state average. If you have been ticketed for speeding in Minnesota, Allstate probably won't be the cheapest option.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With a Speeding Citation
Western National $822
State Farm $1,158
American Family $1,170
Owners Insurance Company $1,454
Allstate $1,732


How does a distracted driving ticket impact car insurance rates in Minnesota?

A distracted driving citation means one side effect will be increased car insurance rates. In Minnesota, auto insurance rates typically increase by $22 per year. That's a 2% increase from the typical annual rate in Minnesota, and 87% less than the national average cost of car insurance after a ticket for distracted driving.

Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Minnesota $1,280 $1,258 $22
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173


The best way to find affordable auto insurance after a distracted driving ticket is to shop a variety of options. The cheapest car insurance company following a distracted driving ticket in Minnesota is Western National, offering a typical rate of only $822 per year, 36% less than the average distracted driving insurance rate from all insurers.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With Distracted Driving
Western National $822
State Farm $1,068
Owners Insurance Company $1,159
American Family $1,170
Progressive $1,279


How does being cited for racing impact car insurance rates in Minnesota?

Racing is a very serious offense. Auto insurance providers typically penalize racing tickets with major rate hikes — in fact, Minnesota car insurance premiums increase by an average of $368 annually after a ticket for racing. That is a 29% increase from the usual annual car insurance rate in Minnesota!

Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Minnesota $1,626 $1,258 $368
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000

If you've been cited for racing, do your homework and shop around for the best rates. In Minnesota, start your search by checking out State Farm, offering premiums 29% less than the state average after a racing violation.

Insurance Company Annual Rate After Racing
State Farm $1,158
American Family $1,266
Owners Insurance Company $1,454
Allstate $1,732
North Star Mutual $1,762


Will a reckless driving ticket raise my auto insurance rates in Minnesota?

As one of the most serious driving violations, reckless driving is a surefire way to raise your insurance rates. Insurance companies increase premiums by an average of $752 annually following a reckless driving citation. That amounts to 60% higher than the average car insurance rate in Minnesota, and 16% less than the U.S. average price increase for reckless driving.

Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Minnesota $2,010 $1,258 $752
National Average $2,395 $1,397 $998

If you're ticketed for reckless driving, compare insurance companies to find the cheapest premium. In Minnesota, the most budget-friendly underwriter with a reckless driving ticket is State Farm.

Insurer Annual Rate With Reckless Driving
State Farm $1,158
American Family $1,792
Owners Insurance Company $2,081
Progressive $2,266
Allstate $2,270

If you're looking for car insurance as a high-risk driver, the best course of action is to do plenty of research and find the best possible policy.


Compare quotes side-by-side and get insured today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


Minnesota driving laws

Minnesota driving laws exist to keep the roads safe for both drivers and pedestrians. To ensure that you stay on the right side of the law, check out our overview of the basic rules of the road in Minnesota.

Learn more about Minnesota's car insurance laws.


Speeding in Minnesota

When are you speeding in Minnesota?

Many drivers often find themselves creeping past the speed limit, whether intentional or not. The state of Minnesota asks that motorists drive at speeds that are reasonable and prudent. Sticking to these general guidelines can help you avoid speeding tickets in Minnesota.

General Minnesota speed limits:

  • 70 mph on interstate highways outside urban area limits
  • 65 mph on non-interstate freeways and highways and interstates within urban area limits
  • 55 mph on other highways
  • 35 mph in a rural residential district
  • 30 mph in an urban district
  • 25 mph on residential roadways
  • 10 mph in alleys

Penalties for speeding in Minnesota

In Minnesota, speeding is considered a petty misdemeanor. If you are caught speeding in Minnesota, you can expect a fine of up to $300. Should you break Minnesota speeding laws three times within one year, it is considered a misdemeanor and the punishments are increased. You could face up to 90 days in prison or a fine of up to $1,000.


Reckless driving in Minnesota

What is reckless driving in Minnesota?

Reckless driving often encompasses many different types of poor driving behavior. The state of Minnesota defines reckless driving as “consciously disregarding a substantial and unjustifiable risk that...may result in harm to another or another’s property.” Minnesota also has a classification for “careless driving,” which it defines as “driving or stopping a motor vehicle in a way that endangers the lives and safety of people or property.”

Penalties for reckless driving in Minnesota

Reckless and careless driving in Minnesota results in similar punishments. They are both considered a misdemeanor and carry the following punishments:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Fine of up to $1,000

Should you be found guilty of reckless, or careless, driving in Minnesota that results in death or injury, you could face a gross misdemeanor, which has the following penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Fine of up to $3,000


DUI in Minnesota

What is a DUI/DWI in Minnesota?

Drinking and driving in Minnesota cause many serious accidents every year. Laws are quite clear on the issue, and anyone caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher considered impaired. However, it should be noted that drivers can still be arrested even if they have a BAC that is lower.

Penalties for a DUI/DWI in Minnesota

Because of the seriousness of the offense, consequences are understandably harsh. If caught driving while impaired in Minnesota, you can face the following penalties:

  • Loss of license between 30 days and one year
  • A fine of $1,000
  • Up to 90 days in jail

The penalties become even harsher if you are convicted of two or more DWIs within a 10-year period. A second offense carries the following penalties:

  • License revoked for one year
  • License plate impoundment
  • Mandatory sentence of at least 30 days, and up to one year, in jail
  • A fine of $3,000


Distracted driving in Minnesota

What is distracted driving in Minnesota?

Distracted driving leads to countless accidents each year. Some of them have serious consequences; nearly all of them are preventable. When your mind is somewhere other than on the road in front of you, your reaction times decrease dramatically.

The three primary types of driver distraction are:

  • Visual: Looking away from the road
  • Physical: Hands off the wheel
  • Cognitive: Not focused on the road (“lost in thought”)

Distractions can include come from almost anything, from the obvious like using a phone or grooming to the less obvious like talking with a passenger or simply thinking about what’s for dinner.

While some of these actions would be impossible to legislate against, Minnesota does impose certain restrictions that are meant to temper distracted driving. The following behaviors are illegal in Minnesota:

  • Using a wireless device for text messaging, e-mailing, or accessing the internet while driving or stopped in traffic
  • Wearing headphones or earphones in both ears simultaneously to listen to a radio or other sound-producing device
  • Drivers under 18 who hold an instruction permit or provisional license are barred from using a cell phone altogether, even if it’s hands-free

Penalties for distracted driving in Minnesota

If you are found in violation of Minnesota distracted driving laws, you can expect the following consequences to apply.

  • First offense: $50
  • Second (or subsequent) offense: $275

Furthermore, if you are distracted while driving and cause an accident, you could face even steeper punishments on par with reckless driving charges.  


Racing in Minnesota

What is racing in Minnesota?

Minnesota racing laws are clear. It is defined as a “willful comparison or contest” of speed that is still illegal “whether the speed is greater than the speed limit” or not. It falls under the category of reckless driving and follows similar penalties.

Penalties for racing in Minnesota

Being charged with racing could lead you to be tried in court for a misdemeanor. You could face the following penalties:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Fine of up to $1,000

If you are racing in Minnesota and cause an accident that results in injury or death, you could be charged with a gross misdemeanor, which carries even stiffer penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Fine of up to $3,000

At-fault accident laws in Minnesota

What is an at-fault accident in Minnesota?

Minnesota is a “no-fault” state. As such, the insurance requirements for Minnesota drivers are slightly different than many other states. There are certain minimums imposed for all drivers in the state that include bodily injury liability, property damage liability, and uninsured and underinsured coverage.  

Because it’s a no-fault state, Minnesota also requires personal injury protection, sometimes known as PIP. Regardless of who is at fault in the accident, this is the first coverage that you will go through. If the limits of PIP coverage are reached, then the at-fault driver’s liability insurance kicks in.

Here are the minimum car insurance requirements in Minnesota:

  • Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident
  • Property Damage: $10,000
  • Personal Injury Protection: $40,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Each requires $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident

Penalties for at-fault accidents in Minnesota

The penalty for driving without insurance in Minnesota is quite steep. If you cannot provide proof of insurance when asked, you can expect the following penalties:

  • A fine between $200 and $1,000
  • Up to 90 days in jail

Of course, should you be in an accident without carrying insurance, you can expect all losses to come out of pocket, potentially even those of the other driver, which can make the fines above seem downright cheap by comparison.


Sources and references:

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Minnesota

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Minnesota? Ask one of our licensed agents!

Is there an age limit for a good student discount?

There is no way to say for sure outside of asking your specific insurance company. Most insurance providers that offer good student discounts have stipulations that may make you ineligible due to your age or the fact that you aren't covered on your parent's policy. Your best would be to c…
Apr 19, 2017 Minneapolis, MN

Does it cost more to insure a turbo engine vehicle than a non-engine car?

Most insurance companies will charge more for a turbo engine if the VIN identifies it as such — since it has more power and speed, the risk of a claim is going to increase. The same goes for luxury or modified vehicles. Some companies may even refuse to quote it depending on the make and model. If …
Nov 18, 2019 Minneapolis, MN

Can I sell my used car to someone with no insurance?

He can purchase the vehicle from you without insurance, but technically the car has to be insured before can legally drive it on public roads. If not, he could be ticketed for driving uninsured. Once ownership changes hands via the title of the vehicle then you can't be held responsible for an…
Jul 8, 2017 Silver Bay, MN

Why is it so difficult to find insurance after a lapse in coverage?

Thank you for reaching out to The Zebra! I'm sorry to hear that you're having difficulty finding insurance after experiencing such a devastating event like losing your home. Auto insurance companies rate heavily on whether or not you have prior insurance or not. Any lapse in coverage (eve…
Dec 26, 2023 New Prague, MN

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.