Idaho Car Insurance with a DUI

If you are found guilty of DUI in Idaho, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a question of by how much. If you're convicted of a DUI violation, it's important to shop wisely and compare insurance rates to find the cheapest option.


Finding cheap car insurance in Idaho with a DUI: a guide


Getting inexpensive car insurance in the wake of a DUI conviction is not easy. In fact, a DUI usually leads to a bigger cost increase than any other driving transgression — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


The best cheap auto insurance after a DUI in Idaho

If you're convicted of a DWI or DUI offense in Idaho, it’s important to review each of your insurance choices with care. Car insurance premiums after a DUI can deviate greatly by insurer. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Idaho, State Farm, advertises annual rates 49% less than the statewide mean insurance premium after a DUI. The next-cheapest option for car insurance after a DUI in Idaho is Liberty Mutual, while the priciest company is Farm Bureau, at 60% more than average.


THE CHEAPEST CAR INSURANCE COMPANIES FOR DRIVERS WITH A DUI
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$849
Liberty Mutual$1,218
Progressive$1,376
Farmers$1,533
Allstate$2,319

There’s no auto insurer, in particular, offering inexpensive DUI car insurance. The best strategy to save on insurance after a violation is to compare policies carefully.

Compare car insurance quotes online or contact your insurance agent to survey the landscape and find an affordable DUI insurance policy.


How will getting a DUI change car insurance rates in Idaho?


In Idaho, a DUI offense will lift your annual auto insurance premium by an average of $495. That’s 122% less than the national average rate hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN IDAHO — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Idaho$1,164$1,659+43%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.

Find cheap car insurance after a DUI today by comparing quotes.

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Idaho DUI laws

Idaho considers a driver to be DUI when their blood alcohol concentration reads 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Idaho when their BAC measures 0.04% or higher. Drivers under 21 years old are considered DUI if their BAC reads 0.02%.


DUI penalties in Idaho

The lookback period in Idaho is 10 years. Repeated DUI offenses within this time period result in enhanced fines and penalties.

First and second DUI offenses are considered misdemeanors in Idaho. Third and subsequent DUI offenses are felonies, without regard for a violator's BAC level.

In all cases, penalties are enhanced if a DUI offender injures someone else. A violator's car may also be towed and impounded after being arrested.

Penalties for a first-time DUI offense in Idaho are:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • 90 to 180 day license suspension

A second DUI offense in Idaho results in:

  • 10 days (mandatory) to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Mandatory license suspension for one year after release
  • Inability to apply for a restricted driver's license (if offense is within five years of the first)
  • Required ignition interlock device

A third DUI offense in Idaho is considered a felony and results in:

  • 30 days to five years in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension of up to five years, with a one-year mandatory suspension following release
  • Inability to apply for a restricted driver's license
  • IID required

Penalties for DUI in Idaho with a BAC of 0.20% or higher

Idaho applies enhanced penalties to those whose blood alcohol concentration is 0.20% or higher at the time of a DUI offense. The first offense is a misdemeanor and the second within five years is considered a felony.

Penalties for first-time DUI offenders whose BAC reads 0.20% or higher are:

  • 10 days to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • One year mandatory license suspension after release
  • Inability to apply for a restricted driver's license

For a second DUI offense with a BAC of 0.20% or higher, penalties are:

  • Mandatory 30 days in county jail or up to five years in the state penitentiary
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • A license suspension of up to five years, with a one-year mandatory suspension following release
  • Inability to apply for a restricted driver's license
  • IID required

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Idaho

It is illegal in Idaho for those under 21 years old to drive if their BAC reads 0.02% or higher. Those whose BAC is 0.08% or higher are subject to the same penalties as those over age 21. Idaho also reserves the right to apply the over-21 laws to underage drivers and may suspend an underage DUI offender's license until they turn 21.

First-time underage DUI offenders in Idaho are:

  • Fined up to $1,000
  • Receive a license suspension for one year
  • Must attend an alcohol consultation

Second-time underage DUI offenders in Idaho are subject to:

  • Five to 30 days in jail
  • $500 to $2,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one to two years
  • IID required
  • Must attend an alcohol consultation

Three or more underage DUI offenses lead to:

  • 10 days to six months in jail
  • $1,000 to $2,000 in fines
  • License suspension for up to one year or until age 21, whichever is greater
  • IID required
  • Must attend an alcohol consultation

Sources and references:

https://www.isp.idaho.gov/isp/citizen/inc/documents/DUI-English.pdf

https://www.dmv.org/id-idaho/automotive-law/dui.php

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/idaho.php

http://www.tsrp-idaho.org/factbook_05.html

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/idaho.html

2019 Drunk Driving Statistics

Find affordable car insurance with a DUI today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
Ross Martin LinkedIn

As a licensed insurance agent, Ross is responsible for researching and writing about all matters related to auto and home insurance. He has a background in writing and education, as well as a master's degree from Royal Holloway, University of London. He has been quoted by CNET, iDriveSafely.com, and Kin Insurance.