West Virginia Car Insurance with a DUI

Need a new car insurance policy? Shop today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

If you get a DUI in West Virginia, your auto insurance is going to get pricier — it's a question of how much you'll end up paying.


How does a DUI change car insurance in West Virginia?


In West Virginia, a DUI violation will raise your annual car insurance premium by an average of $710. That’s 55% less than the nationwide average rate hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN WEST VIRGINIA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
AreaAvg. Annual Rate — without DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
West Virginia$1,536$2,246+46%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Shopping for car insurance coverage in West Virginia with a DUI violation


Getting affordable car insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI generally brings about a larger rate increase than any other driving transgression — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.


Low-cost car insurance with a DUI in West Virginia

If you have been found guilty of a driving under the influence offense in West Virginia, it’s key to weigh all your insurance options judiciously. Car insurance rates in the wake of a DUI may fluctuate widely depending on the company. For instance, the most affordable car insurer after a DUI in West Virginia, State Farm, offers annual rates 49% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI violation. The second-cheapest insurer for car insurance with a DUI in West Virginia is Erie, while the priciest company is Allstate, with premiums 28% pricer than average.


AUTO INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN WEST VIRGINIA — BY COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,154
Erie$1,536
Nationwide$2,265
Liberty Mutual$2,435
Progressive$2,711

There’s no car insurer in particular offering inexpensive DUI auto insurance. The easiest way to limit your losses post-DUI conviction is to look at multiple options.

Compare auto insurance policies online or contact an insurance professional to gauge the choices and find an affordable option.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.

Find car insurance today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

West Virginia DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in West Virginia when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Based on observation of potential impairment, drivers in West Virginia may also be considered DUI if their BAC is below 0.08% but above 0.05%.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in West Virginia if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in West Virginia

The DUI lookback period in West Virginia is 10 years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe subject offenders to harsher penalties.

Penalties are also enhanced for DUI offenders whose BAC is 0.15% or higher, for a DUI with a minor passenger, or for DUI leading to injury or death.

First-time DUI offenses in West Virginia lead to:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • $100 to $500 in fines
  • License revocation for 90 days
  • May require the installation and use of an interlock ignition device

A second DUI offense in West Virginia results in:

  • Six months to one year in jail
  • $1,000 to $3,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least one year
  • Requires the installation and use of an IID

Three or more DUI offenses in West Virginia are felonies. Penalties are:

  • Two to five years in jail
  • $3,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least one year
  • Requires the installation and use of an IID

In addition to the above penalties, courts may order DUI offenders in West Virginia to complete a substance abuse evaluation or DUI education program.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in West Virginia

West Virginia is a zero-tolerance state and does not permit those under the age of 21 to drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher.

Drivers under the age of 18 will have a license revoked for as long as the statute demands or until age 21, whichever period is longer.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Be fined $25 to $100
  • Receive a license revocation for up to 60 days
  • May require the installation and use of an IID

Two or more underage DUI offenses lead to:

  • 24 hours in jail
  • $100 to $500 in fines
  • Installation and use of an IID

Sources and references:

Impaired Driving Brochure

Alcohol and Drug Abuse

The Zebra

The Zebra is the nation's leading independent insurance comparison site. The Zebra compares more than 100 insurance companies and provides agent support and educational resources to ensure drivers are equipped to make the most informed decisions about their home and auto insurance.