Montana Car Insurance After a DUI

If you get a DUI in Montana, your car insurance will get more expensive — it's just a question of how large the penalty will be.


How will a DUI influence car insurance rates in Montana?


In Montana, a DUI will boost your annual car insurance cost by an average of $822. That’s 34% less than the U.S. mean rate hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN MONTANA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
AreaAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Montana$1,534$2,356+54%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Finding car insurance in Montana after a DUI violation


Finding inexpensive auto insurance in the wake of a DUI violation isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI often leads to a larger rate hike than any other driving infraction — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Montana

If you have been found guilty of a DUI or DWI violation in Montana, it’s key to assess available insurance choices carefully. Car insurance premiums after a DUI often vary substantially depending on the company. For instance, the best cheap car insurance company with a DUI in Montana, State Farm, advertises yearly prices 53% less than the state average insurance price with a DUI. The next-most affordable insurer for car insurance after a DUI in Montana is Liberty Mutual, while the most expensive firm is GEICO, with premiums 42% more than average.


CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS WITH DUI IN MONTANA — BY INSURER
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,109
Liberty Mutual$1,504
QBE$2,166
Progressive$2,537
Farmers$2,600
Allstate$3,048

There’s no car insurance company in particular offering cheap DUI auto insurance. The best way to save in the wake of a DUI conviction is to compare policies.

Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact an insurance agent to gauge the choices and find the best option.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.

Save on car insurance after a DUI by comparing rates!

or
Location pin icon
No junk mail. No phone number. Free quotes.

Montana DUI laws

You are DUI in Montana when your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Montana when their BAC is 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under age 21 are DUI in Montana when their BAC is 0.02% or higher.

Montana may also consider you to be DUI if there is “sufficient evidence” that you are driving while impaired, even if your BAC is below 0.08%.


DUI penalties in Montana

There is a lookback period of ten years for a second DUI offense in Montana. There is no limited lookback period for subsequent offenses. Penalties are enhanced for repeated DUI offenses, driving with a suspended or revoked license, or for transporting passengers under 16 years old.

DUI with a BAC of 0.16% or higher is an “aggravated DUI” and results in harsher penalties.

First-time DUI offenses in Montana lead to:

  • 24 hours to six months in jail
  • $600 to $1,000 in fines
  • 6-month license suspension
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device
  • Must fulfill the A-C-T requirements, including assessment, a chemical dependency course, and treatment
  • 10 points added to driving record

A second DUI offense in Montana results in:

  • Seven days to one year in jail
  • $1,200 to $2,000 in fines
  • One-year license suspension
  • Must use an IID
  • Must fulfill the A-C-T requirements
  • Must participate in a 24/7 sobriety program
  • 10 points added to driving record

Third-time DUI offenders in Montana are subject to:

  • 30 days to one year in jail
  • $2,500 to $5,000 in fines
  • One-year license suspension
  • Must use an IID
  • Must fulfill the A-C-T requirements
  • Must participate in a 24/7 sobriety program
  • 10 points added to driving record

After receiving 30 points on their driving record, a driver will be declared a habitual traffic offender and may have their license revoked in Montana.


Underage DUI penalties in Montana

In addition to the penalties below, DUI offenders under 18 years old will have their vehicles impounded for up to 60 days. They will also not be required to serve jail time.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Be fined $100 to $500
  • Receive a 90-day license suspension
  • Must attend a chemical dependency education course

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • Up to 10 days in jail
  • $200 to $500 in fines
  • License suspension for six months
  • Must attend a chemical dependency education course

A third underage DUI offense in Montana results in:

  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • $300 to $500 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Must attend a chemical dependency education course

Sources and references:

https://www.mdt.mt.gov/visionzero/docs/dui_penalties.pdf

https://www.dmv.org/mt-montana/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/montana.html

Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Based in Austin, TX, Ava has been in the insurance industry as a licensed agent for 4-plus years. Ava is currently one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts and has been featured in publications such as US News Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.