New Mexico Car Insurance with a DUI

If you get a DUI in New Mexico, your car insurance will get more expensive — it's just a matter of how much you'll end up paying.


How will a DUI affect auto insurance in New Mexico?


In New Mexico, a DUI violation will raise your annual car insurance premium by an average value of $741. That’s 48% less than the national average rate increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN NEW MEXICO — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
New Mexico$1,334$2,075+56%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Purchasing auto insurance in New Mexico after a DUI conviction


Finding cheap car insurance after a DUI offense is anything but easy. In fact, a DUI generally leads to a more substantial cost increase than does any other driving violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.


Best car insurance after a DUI in New Mexico

If you have been convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in New Mexico, it is important to review each of your insurance options carefully. Car insurance costs with a DUI may vary substantially by company. For example, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in New Mexico, State Farm, advertises yearly rates 47% less than the statewide mean insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The second-most affordable option for car insurance with a DUI in New Mexico is Progressive, while the most expensive insurer is GEICO, at 37% above average.


CAR INSURANCE COSTS WITH DUI IN NEW MEXICO — BY INSURER
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,110
Progressive$1,847
USAA$1,913
Farmers$2,382
Allstate$2,752

There is no auto insurance company in particular offering cheap DUI car insurance. The easiest way to save money post-DUI citation is to compare policies.

Compare car insurance quotes online or contact your insurance expert to gauge the choices and find a reasonable policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.

Need a new policy? Compare rates today!

or
Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

New Mexico DWI laws

Driving under the influence is commonly referred to as driving while intoxicated, or DWI, in New Mexico. Drivers are DWI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI in New Mexico if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DWI if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DWI penalties in New Mexico

There is a 10-year lookback period in New Mexico. Multiple DWI offenses in this timeframe result in longer and harsher penalties.

The first three DWI offenses in New Mexico are misdemeanors. Any DWI offenses after the third are considered felonies.

In addition, it is possible to commit an “aggravated DWI” in New Mexico. If a driver's BAC is 0.16% or higher, additional mandatory jail time will be added to their sentence.

First-time DWI offenses in New Mexico lead to:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • License revocation for six months to one year
  • Must install and use an ignition interlock device for one year
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in DWI school
  • Mandatory 24 hours of community service
  • Possibility of a discretionary $300 fine
  • Possible requirement to submit to treatment

A second DWI offense in New Mexico results in:

  • 96 hours to 364 days in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • License revocation for two years
  • Must install and use an IID for two years
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in DWI school
  • Mandatory 48 hours of community service
  • Possible requirement to submit to treatment

Third-time DWI offenders in New Mexico are subject to:

  • Up to 364 days in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for three years
  • Must install and use an IID for three years
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in DWI school
  • Possibility of a discretionary $300 fine
  • Possible requirement to submit to treatment

A fourth DWI offense in New Mexico is a felony and results in:

  • Six to 18 months in prison
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • Lifetime license revocation
  • Must install and use an IID on a lifetime basis
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in DWI school
  • Possibility of a discretionary $300 fine
  • Possible requirement to submit to treatment

Subsequent DWI offenses are felony convictions and include longer prison terms.


DWI penalties for young drivers in New Mexico

The above penalties are applicable to underage drivers in New Mexico, though license revocation periods may be extended for those under the age of 21.

Sources and references:

http://www.endwi.com/laws-penalties/

http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/dwi-information.aspx

Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Based in Austin, TX, Ava has been in the insurance industry as a licensed agent for 4-plus years. Ava is currently one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts and has been featured in publications such as US News Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.