Kentucky Car Insurance with a DUI

If you receive a DUI in Kentucky, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's a question of how large the penalty will be.


How will a DUI affect car insurance in Kentucky?


In Kentucky, a DUI will increase your annual car insurance premium by an average of $1,284. That’s 14% more than the national average rate jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN KENTUCKY — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Kentucky$2,208$3,493+58%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Finding auto insurance coverage in Kentucky after a DUI conviction


Finding affordable auto coverage after a DUI offense isn’t straightforward. In fact, a DUI often results in a larger premium increase than any other road violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.


Best car insurance after a DUI in Kentucky

If you're convicted of a DWI or DUI offense in Kentucky, it’s critical to consider all your insurance options with care. Car insurance prices after a DUI may fluctuate substantially by company. For example, the best cheap auto insurer with a DUI in Kentucky, State Farm, advertises annual rates 57% less than the state average insurance price after a DUI conviction. The next-cheapest insurer for car insurance after a DUI in Kentucky is Liberty Mutual, while the priciest company is Shelter, at 142% more than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN KENTUCKY — BY COMPANY
InsurerAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,517
Liberty Mutual$2,723
Kentucky Farm Bureau$2,887
Progressive$2,896
GEICO$2,901
Allstate$4,258

There is no car insurance company in particular that sells low-cost DUI auto insurance. The best strategy to limit your losses in the wake of a DUI conviction is to look at multiple options.

Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact an insurance agent to gauge the choices and find the best option.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI infractions.

Save on DUI car insurance today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Kentucky DUI rules

Kentucky considers a driver to be under the influence when their blood alcohol concentration reads 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI if their BAC measures 0.04% or higher. As a zero-tolerance state, those under 21 years old are DUI if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Kentucky

Kentucky's lookback period was recently increased to ten years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe lead to stricter penalties.

Additionally, a DUI is considered "aggravated" and penalties are enhanced when:

  • Children under 12 years old are passengers driven by someone who is DUI
  • A car is driving more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit
  • A car is driven in the wrong direction
  • The driver's BAC reads 0.15% or higher
  • Serious injury or death results from DUI

First-time DUI offenses in Kentucky lead to:

  • Two to 30 days in jail
  • $200 to $500 in fines
  • A license suspension for 30 to 120 days
  • 90 days of attendance in an alcohol or substance abuse program

A second DUI offense in Kentucky results in:

  • Seven days to six months in jail
  • $350 to $500 in fines
  • 12 to 18 months license suspension
  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • License plates are forfeited to the court
  • Possible requirement of an ignition interlock device after completion of the suspension period

Third-time DUI offenders in Kentucky are subject to:

  • 30 days to one year in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 to in fines
  • License suspension for two to three years
  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • License plates are forfeited to the court
  • Possible requirement of an ignition interlock device after completion of the suspension period

For four or more DUI offenses in Kentucky, penalties are:

  • One to five years in prison
  • $1,000 to $10,000 in fines
  • License revocation for five years
  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • License plates are forfeited to the court
  • Possible requirement of an ignition interlock device after completion of the suspension period

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Kentucky

In Kentucky, underage DUI offenders with BACs of 0.02% to less than 0.08% are subject to:

  • Fines of $100 to $500
  • License revocation of 30 days to six months
  • Possible requirement to perform 20 hours of community service
  • Possible requirement to attend an alcohol education or treatment program for up to 90 days

Drivers under 18 years old and charged with a DUI offense will have their license revoked until they turn 18 or for as long as an adult DUI offender would, whichever period is longest.

Violators of underage DUI laws whose BAC is 0.08% or higher are subject to the same penalties and fines as adults.

Sources and references:

https://drive.ky.gov/driver-licensing/Pages/DUI-Laws.aspx

https://www.dmv.org/ky-kentucky/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/kentucky.html

https://www.kentucky.com/news/politics-government/article175893996.html

https://www.danvillekylaw.com/blog/2017/10/what-parents-need-to-know-about-kentucky-underage-dui-laws.shtml

Ross Martin LinkedIn

As a licensed insurance agent, Ross is responsible for researching and writing about all matters related to auto and home insurance. He has a background in writing and education, as well as a master's degree from Royal Holloway, University of London. He has been quoted by CNET, iDriveSafely.com, and Kin Insurance.