Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Ross Martin

Insurance Writer

  • 4+ years in the Insurance Industry

Ross joined The Zebra as a writer and researcher in 2019. He specializes in writing insurance content to help shoppers make informed decisions.

Ross h…

Author profile picture

Kristine Lee

Insurance Analyst

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty
  • 4+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent who joined The Zebra in 2019 as an in-house content researcher and writer. Before joining The Zebra, she was a…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Kentucky

If you caused a crash, filed an at-fault claim, or been handed a ticket for a serious violation, you might be a candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Car insurance for drivers with less-than-ideal records is usually costly, but the increase in rates you receive depends on your company, your driving history, and the state in which you live.

What goes into car insurance rates for high-risk drivers in Kentucky:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. View Kentucky driving laws


What impact does an at-fault accident have on auto insurance in Kentucky?

If you're found responsible for an auto accident, you should expect your car insurance rates to go up. In Kentucky, the mean insurance rate following an at-fault crash is $3,291, versus the U.S. average of $2,012. A serious accident such as an at-fault collision will stay on your insurance record for up to three years.

Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Kentucky $3,291 $2,050 $1,241
National Average $2,012 $1,397 $615

The cheapest insurance company following an at-fault collision in Kentucky is Kentucky Farm Bureau. Kentucky Farm Bureau’s usual rate increase after a crash is $1,880, leading to a premium 57 percent less expensive than the average among all car insurance companies. If you've been at-fault in a collision in Kentucky, avoid Safe Auto and SAFECO, which typically charge more.

Insurance Company Annual Premium After an At-Fault Accident
Kentucky Farm Bureau $1,411
GEICO $2,244
State Farm $2,469
Safe Auto $2,867
SAFECO $3,923


Make an informed decision: compare insurance rates today.

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


By how much does a speeding ticket raise car insurance rates in Kentucky?

Among the common violations that leads to a "bad driver" classification is speeding. In Kentucky, average car insurance rates rise by $464 per year after a speeding ticket, up to an average per-year price of $2,514.



Location With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Kentucky $2,514 $2,050 $464
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330



The foolproof way to find affordable insurance after getting a ticket for speeding is to shop around and weigh the available options. The cheapest car insurance after a speeding ticket in Kentucky is available via Kentucky Farm Bureau. Kentucky Farm Bureau’s average premium after a citation is $1,365 less than the state average. If you are caught speeding in Kentucky, Shelter is worth avoiding.




Insurer Annual Premium After a Speeding Citation
Kentucky Farm Bureau $1,149
GEICO $1,615
Safe Auto $2,738
Progressive $2,901
Shelter $3,445



How does a distracted driving ticket affect car insurance rates in Kentucky?

If you receive a citation for distracted driving, your car insurance bill is going to get more expensive. In Kentucky, auto insurance rates typically go up by $371 each year. That's an 18% increase from the usual annual premium in Kentucky and 115% more than the nationwide average cost of auto insurance after a distracted driving offense.

Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Kentucky $2,421 $2,050 $371
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173

The best way to get affordable auto insurance following a distracted driving ticket is to compare carriers. The cheapest car insurance company following a ticket for distracted driving in Kentucky is GEICO, with an average rate of just $965 per year, 60% less than the average distracted driving insurance premium from all insurers.



Insurance Company Annual Rate After Distracted Driving
GEICO $965
Kentucky Farm Bureau $1,149
State Farm $1,720
Safe Auto $2,304
Progressive $2,532



How does a ticket for racing impact car insurance in Kentucky?

Racing is an extraordinarily serious infraction. Insurance companies frequently penalize racing tickets with major rate hikes — in fact, Kentucky auto insurance rates rise by $1,377 annually after a ticket for racing. That represents a 67% increase on the average yearly car insurance rate in Kentucky!

Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Kentucky $3,427 $2,050 $1,377
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000

If you've been ticketed for a racing offense, do your homework and shop around for the best rates. In Kentucky, grab a quote from GEICO, which offers prices 36 percent cheaper than the state average for drivers found guilty of racing.



Insurance Company Annual Rate After Racing
GEICO $2,187
Kentucky Farm Bureau $2,719
Safe Auto $2,867
State Farm
Progressive $3,186



How reckless driving affects car insurance rates in Kentucky

Among the most serious driving violations, reckless driving is a surefire way to pay more for auto insurance. Insurance companies increase rates by $1,072 per year after a reckless driving citation. That's 52% higher than the typical auto insurance rate in Kentucky and 27% less than the U.S. average penalty for reckless driving.

Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Kentucky $3,123 $2,050 $1,072
National Average $2,395 $1,397 $998

If you're dealing with a reckless driving conviction, you should shop around to find the most affordable price. In Kentucky, the cheapest carrier after a reckless driving offense is GEICO.

Insurance Company Annual Rate With Reckless Driving
GEICO $2,492
Kentucky Farm Bureau $2,719
Safe Auto $2,867
State Farm $2,872
Progressive $3,186

If you're looking for auto insurance as a high-risk driver, the best option is to shop around and compare rates.


Find the right policy in a few minutes.

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Kentucky Driving Laws


While the state might be famous for its high-speed horse races, Kentucky wants its roads to be free of any theatrics. Kentucky driving laws are in place to ensure that drivers and pedestrians remain safe while using the road. Below you can get a sense of the basic laws so that you can be on the correct side of the law the next time you find yourself driving in Kentucky.


Speeding in Kentucky

When Are You Speeding in Kentucky?

Speeding laws in Kentucky are put in place to help keep both motorists and pedestrians safe. While individual cities or areas can adapt speeding laws specific to their region, these general speed limits typically hold true as a basic guideline:

  • 70 miles per hour on certain interstate highways and parkways
  • 65 mph on interstate highways and divided highways with four or more lanes
  • 55 mph on all other state highways
  • 35 mph in business or residential areas
  • 15 mph on off-street parking facilities

Penalties for Speeding in Kentucky

Typical fines for speeding in Kentucky fall between $60 and $100, but the penalties increase the higher over the limit that you drive. You can also expect your fine to climb to $200 if your speeding results in an accident. It’s important to note that speeding fines double in construction or school zones as well.

Kentucky uses a point system to encourage good driving behavior. The more points you have on your driving record, the more likely you can be to possibly lose your driving privileges. If you reach 12 points within a two-year period, you will likely face a hearing and a suspension of your license.

  • Three points for a speeding violation between 11 and 15 mph over the limit
  • Six points for going 16 to 25 mph over the limit

If caught driving faster than 26 miles per hour over the speed limit, you could face a hearing and possible suspension of your license. Possible license suspension escalates with each subsequent offense.

  • 1st offense: Up to 90 days
  • 2nd offense: At least one year
  • 3rd and subsequent offenses: At least two years


Reckless Driving in Kentucky

What is Reckless Driving in Kentucky?

Reckless driving in Kentucky can encompass a variety of inappropriate driving behaviors. Kentucky asks for drivers to operate their vehicle with “regard for the safety and convenience of pedestrians and other vehicles upon the highway.”

If you have been charged with a DUI in Kentucky, you may be wondering if that falls under the realm of reckless driving. Technically, a DUI charge in Kentucky is classified separately than reckless driving. However, while this is not the case in all states, it is sometimes possible to plea down to the lesser charge of reckless driving. This is sometimes called the “wet reckless,” and is typically only allowed in cases where the blood alcohol level isn’t excessive or when the driver has not refused a breathalyzer.

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Kentucky

Fines for reckless driving in Kentucky begin at $20, typically topping out at around $100. Drivers can also expect their license to be revoked if they are convicted of three counts of reckless driving within a 12-month period. Penalties can also increase depending on the severity of the offense. Reckless driving automatically adds four points to your driving record and will almost certainly result in higher insurance costs.


Kentucky DUI Laws

What are Kentucky DUI Laws

DUI laws in Kentucky are understandably strict. The law refers to both DUI and DWI, which are known as “driving under the influence” and “driving while intoxicated” respectably. The two terms are used interchangeably and are in place to prevent drivers from taking the wheel while under the influence of alcohol or other substances which could impair your ability to drive.

If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content level of more than .08%. If you are convicted of a DUI in Kentucky, you can expect steep penalties.

Penalties for Breaking Kentucky DUI Laws

The consequences of being convicted of a DUI in Kentucky include the following:

1st Offense:

  • 48 hours to 30 days in jail
  • A fine of $200 to $500
  • 90-day alcohol or substance abuse program
  • 30- to 120-day suspension of license

2nd Offense (within a 10-year period):

  • Seven days to six months in jail
  • A fine of $350 to $500
  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • 12- to 18-month license suspension

3rd Offense (within a 10-year period):

  • 30 days to 12 months in jail
  • A fine of $500 to $1,000
  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • 24- to 36-month license suspension


Distracted Driving in Kentucky

What is Distracted Driving in Kentucky?

It’s easy to find yourself distracted while driving. A million things are vying for your attention at any given time, be it a song on the radio, fellow passengers, or even a stray thought that takes your mind off the road.

Common distractions drivers face include the following:

  • Visual: Taking your eyes off the road in front of you
  • Manual: Any action that takes your hands off the wheel
  • Cognitive: Taking your mind off the road

It would be hard to legislate against these types of actions, but Kentucky distracted driving laws do prohibit texting and driving. Texting and driving in Kentucky is a major problem that results in many preventable accidents. If you are under the age of 18, you are not allowed to even speak on the phone while driving.

Penalties for Distracted Driving in Kentucky

If you are guilty of distracted driving in Kentucky, you can expect the following penalties:

  • First offense: $25 fine (plus court costs)
  • Three points added to your license per violation
  • Second or subsequent offense: $50 fine (plus court costs)
  • Drivers under 18 must wait 180 days before they can apply for a regular license


Racing in Kentucky

What is Racing in Kentucky?

Though it’s known as the land of horse racing, don’t be tempted to engage in street racing in Kentucky. The law is clear and the fines are steep. Kentucky law explicitly states that “motor vehicle racing, drag racing, or any other form of competition involving motor vehicles” is strictly prohibited.

Penalties for Racing in Kentucky

If you are in violation of Kentucky racing laws, you are looking at the following consequences:

  • A fine of at least $60 and up to $200
  • Imprisonment for up to 30 days  
  • Possible suspension of your license for up to 90 days

Should your racing violation result in injury or death of another driver or a pedestrian, you can potentially face a much more serious charge.


At-fault Accidents in Kentucky

What is an At-fault Accident in Kentucky?

Kentucky is what is known as a “choice no-fault” state. Typically with no-fault car insurance, each driver goes through their own policy to be compensated after an accident regardless of who is at fault, but since Kentucky’s “choice no-fault” policy means that drivers can choose to opt out of the no-fault car insurance system. This allows you to sue (or be sued) for damages after an accident.

If you choose to reject this no-fault system, you may pursue the at-fault party for a liability claim or personal injury lawsuit. However, if you are found at fault, you too may be sued by the other driver. Also, should you choose to opt out, you are also no longer entitled to mandatory first-party personal injury protection (PIP) benefits.

The state of Kentucky mandates that you carry insurance coverage if you own a vehicle in the state. Drivers must have minimum liability coverage according to the following limits:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury damages sustained by any one person
  • $50,000 for all bodily injury damages
  • $25,000 for all property damage

However, it should be noted that an alternative policy with a single limit of $60,000 can be substituted.

Penalties for At-fault Accidents in Kentucky

If you are caught driving without insurance you can expect the consequences to be quite severe.

  • Fine of $500 to $1000
  • Up to $90 days in jail


Sources and references:

  • https://drive.ky.gov/driver-licensing/pages/Kentucky-Driver-Point-System.aspx
  • https://drive.ky.gov/Motor-Vehicle-Licensing/Pages/Mandatory-Insurance.aspx
  • https://lawreader.com/?p=18720#k394
  • https://www.drivinglaws.org/resources/kentucky-reckless-driving-laws-penalties.htm
  • https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=6406
  • https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=46292
  • https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=39749
  • https://transportation.ky.gov/HighwaySafety/Documents/Distracted.pdf
  • https://drive.ky.gov/driver-licensing/Pages/DUI-Laws.aspx
  • https://wfpl.org/kentuckys-laws-against-texting-while-driving-prove-difficult-enforce/
  • https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/kentucky-no-fault-car-insurance.html

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Kentucky

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Kentucky? Ask one of our licensed agents!

If my daughter caused less than $1,000 in damage to another car, should we still file a claim or pay out of pocket?

I would agree with your assumption. In Kentucky, an at-fault accident impacts rates by an average of $917 per year in 2016. Since the accident will impact her rate for 3 years, that's quite a bit more than the cost of the repair. I would recommend paying for the other driver's damage out …
May 2, 2017 Lexington, KY

What is O&L coverage and why do I have it?

O and L stands for Ordinance and Law. Though your agent said that it wouldn't cover code upgrades, perhaps he meant that if a code went into law, your insurance isn't going to accept claims to upgrade the home and bring it up to code — unless your home suffers a loss. What this coverage d…
Jan 21, 2020 Franklin, KY

Can someone with power of attorney make changes to a car insurance policy?

Thank you for reaching out to The Zebra. These are excellent questions!Because you have power of attorney, you are legally allowed to make decisions on behalf of your husband. If you contact his insurance company and provide a copy of the power of attorney you should be able to make any changes, li…
Jun 1, 2023 Louisville, KY

Why is car insurance so expensive in Kentucky?

Kentucky is much more expensive due to their insurance laws. Indiana only requires you carry liability insurance. KY has a law that requires you to carry Personal Injury Protection. This covers medical costs regardless of fault in an accident. You may hear people call it "no-fault" Insura…
Apr 9, 2018 Summersville, KY

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.