Nevada Car Insurance with a DUI

If you are found guilty of DUI in Nevada, your auto insurance is going to get pricier — it's a question of by how much.


How does a DUI affect car insurance rates in Nevada?


In Nevada, a DUI will raise your annual car insurance premium by an average value of $903. That’s 22% less than the national average premium hike after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN NEVADA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Nevada$1,974$2,877+46%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Finding car insurance in Nevada with a DUI


Purchasing affordable car insurance in the wake of a DUI conviction isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI typically triggers a larger rate hike than does any single road violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.


Cheap car insurance after a DUI in Nevada

If you have been found guilty of a driving under the influence violation in Nevada, it’s critical to weigh each of your insurance possibilities carefully. Car insurance rates after a DUI can vary widely by company. For example, the cheapest car insurance company after a DUI in Nevada, State Farm, advertises annual prices 48% more affordable than the state average insurance price with a DUI. The next-most affordable company for car insurance after a DUI in Nevada is GEICO, while the most expensive company is CSAA, with rates 54% more than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN NEVADA — BY PROVIDER
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,506
GEICO$2,184
Progressive$2,751
Farmers$3,244
Allstate$3,274

There is no auto insurance company in particular offering affordable DUI auto insurance. The recommended way to limit your losses after a DUI violation is to compare policies.

Compare car insurance quotes online or contact an insurance expert to weigh your choices and discover a relatively cheap policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI infractions.

Compare car insurance and find cheap rates today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

DUI laws in Nevada

Nevada considers drivers DUI when their blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Nevada when their BAC measures 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under the legal drinking age of 21 are DUI when their BAC is 0.02% or higher.

Even if your BAC is under the legal limit, you may still be considered DUI in Nevada if there is alcohol detected in your system.


DUI penalties in Nevada

The DUI lookback period in Nevada is seven years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe subject you to harsher penalties.

Aggravating circumstances, such as DUI while transporting a minor, a BAC of 0.18% or higher, or DUI that causes injury or death, may also lead to enhanced penalties.

First-time DUI offenses in Nevada lead to:

  • Two days to six months in jail
  • 96 hours of community service in lieu of jail
  • $400 to $1,000 in fines
  • 90-day license revocation
  • Mandatory attendance in driving school
  • Possible requirement to complete a substance abuse treatment program
  • May be required to use an ignition interlock device for three to six months

A second DUI offense in Nevada results in:

  • 10 days to six months in jail or house arrest
  • $750 to $1,000 in fines
  • 100 to 200 hours of community service, possibly in lieu of fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Possible suspension of vehicle registration
  • Possible requirement to attend substance abuse treatment program or undergo clinical supervision for up to one year
  • May be required to use an IID for three to six months

Third-time DUI offenders in Nevada are subject to:

  • One to six years in jail
  • $2,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for three years
  • Possible suspension of vehicle registration
  • Mandatory installation and use of an IID for one to three years

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Nevada

Underage DUI offenders in Nevada are subject to the same penalties as drivers over 21 years old. In addition, underage DUI violators must undergo an alcohol addiction evaluation at their own expense.

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/nv-nevada/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/nevada.html

Kristine Lee LinkedIn

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent and one of The Zebra’s in-house content strategists. With a background in copywriting, she covers the ins and outs of the home and car insurance industries. She has contributed to numerous publications focused on the nuances of insurance, including Automoblog, USInsuranceAgents.com, and BestCompany.com.