Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Kristine Lee

Insurance Analyst

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty
  • 4+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent who joined The Zebra in 2019 as an in-house content researcher and writer. Before joining The Zebra, she was a…

Author profile picture

Ross Martin

Insurance Writer

  • 4+ years in the Insurance Industry

Ross joined The Zebra as a writer and researcher in 2019. He specializes in writing insurance content to help shoppers make informed decisions.

Ross h…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Nevada

If you're deemed at-fault in a car crash, filed a claim, or received a ticket for a serious violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk car insurance. Auto insurance for drivers with less-than-ideal records is typically expensive, but the increase in rates you face may depend on your insurance company, your driving history, and the state in which you reside.


What goes into car insurance prices for high-risk drivers in Nevada:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. Nevada driving laws


Auto insurance after an at-fault collision in Nevada

If you are found responsible for causing an auto collision, expect your car insurance costs to skyrocket. In Nevada, the mean insurance rate after an at-fault crash is $2,403, compared to the national mean of $2,012. A serious accident like an at-fault crash will stay on your insurance record for up to three years.


Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Nevada $2,403 $1,802 $601
National Average $2,012 $1,397 $615


The best insurance company following an at-fault accident in Nevada is USAA. USAA’s usual price increase after a crash is $869, providing rates 36 percent less expensive than the average among all insurance companies. If you've been at-fault in a collision in Nevada, avoid American Family and Allstate, which are on the pricier end of the spectrum.


Company Annual Rate With At-Fault Collision
USAA $1,534
GEICO $1,550
State Farm $2,405
American Family $2,590
Allstate $2,678


Start saving today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


What's the impact of a speeding ticket on car insurance in Nevada?


One of the violations that commonly earns drivers the "risky" tag is speeding. In Nevada, you can expect to see your premiums grow by $456 per year after a speeding ticket, up to an average annual rate of $2,258.


State With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Nevada $2,258 $1,802 $456
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330


The best way to find affordable auto insurance after a speeding citation is to shop around and compare all possible options. The most affordable car insurance after a speeding citation in Nevada is available via GEICO. GEICO’s average premium after a violation is $1,051 less than the state typical. If you're ticketed for speeding in Nevada, State Farm is worth avoiding.


Company Annual Premium After a Speeding Citation
GEICO $1,207
USAA $1,355
American Family $1,637
Allstate $2,180
State Farm $2,185


How does a distracted driving ticket impact car insurance premiums in Nevada?


If you're ticketed for distracted driving, your car insurance bill is going to get more expensive. In Nevada, auto insurance rates typically increase by -$33 each year. That's a -2% increase from the average annual premium in Nevada, and 119% less than the national average cost of car insurance with a ticket for distracted driving.


Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Nevada $1,769 $1,802 -$33
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173


The best way to find affordable auto insurance after a distracted driving citation is to compare different carriers. The most affordable insurer after a ticket for distracted driving in Nevada is GEICO, with a typical rate of only $835 per year, 53% lower than the average distracted driving insurance rate among top insurers.


Insurer Annual Rate With Distracted Driving
GEICO $835
USAA $1,355
American Family $1,508
Progressive $1,644
State Farm $1,650


How do racing violations affect car insurance in Nevada?


Racing is treated as an extremely serious violation. Auto insurance providers typically penalize racing tickets severely — in fact, Nevada car insurance rates increase by an average of $883 annually after a ticket for racing. That's a 49% increase on the typical annual car insurance premium in Nevada!


Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Per-Year Rate Increase
Nevada $2,685 $1,802 $883
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000


If you have been cited for racing, do your homework and seek out the cheapest rates. In Nevada, start your search with GEICO, with rates 28 percent cheaper than the state average after a racing citation.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With Racing
GEICO $1,927
USAA $2,338
Allstate $2,651
Progressive $2,662
State Farm $2,767


How does reckless driving in Nevada impact car insurance rates?


Among the most serious moving violations, reckless driving is a certain way to raise your insurance rates. Insurers raise rates by an average of $1,115 annually after a ticket for reckless driving. That's 62% greater than the average insurance rate in Nevada, and 13% less than the national average penalty for reckless driving.


Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Nevada $2,917 $1,802 $1,115
National Average $2,395 $1,397 $998


If you're ticketed for reckless driving, shop around to find the best premium. In Nevada, the most affordable insurer after reckless driving is USAA.


Insurer Annual Rate After Reckless Driving
USAA $1,893
GEICO $2,110
Allstate $2,651
Progressive $2,662
State Farm $2,767


If you're looking for car insurance as a high-risk driver, the best course of action is to shop around and compare policies from trusted insurers.


Ready to start saving?

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


Nevada driving laws

If you want to stay on the right side of the law while driving in Nevada, it helps to have a good sense of the state’s driving laws. We’ve spelled out some of Nevada's basic traffic laws and some of the consequences you could face for breaking them. 


Speeding in Nevada

When are you Speeding in Nevada?

Nevada asks that no drivers operate a vehicle “at a rate of speed greater than is reasonable or proper.” More specifically, the state imposes limits that it expects all drivers follow. While some cities or regions may impose slightly different limits, the following guidelines can give you a pretty good idea of what to expect. 

  • Maximum speed limit of 80 mph 
  • 15 mph limit in elementary school zones
  • 20 mph limit in middle school zones
  • 25 mph limit in high school zones

The state also requires drivers to slow down in the following situations:

  • Coming up on or crossing an intersection
  • Going around a curve
  • Cresting a hill
  • Driving on a highway that is winding or narrow
  • In the presence of special hazards such as pedestrians or bad weather conditions

Penalties for Speeding in Nevada

Speeding in Nevada carries a maximum fine of $1,000 and up to one year of prison, though each jurisdiction can charge differently depending on the circumstances. Demerit points are also added to your driving record in the following values:

  • 1-10 mph over the limit: 1 point
  • 11-20 mph over the limit: 2 points
  • 21-30 mph over the limit: 3 points
  • 31-40 mph over the limit: 4 points
  • 41 mph or more over the limit: 5 points
  • Too fast for road conditions: 2 points


Reckless Driving in Nevada

What is Reckless Driving in Nevada?

Reckless driving is defined by the state of Nevada as driving with “willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property.” There are a number of actions that this can include, but it generally comes down to operating your vehicle in an unsafe manner. 

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Nevada

If you are found guilty of reckless driving in Nevada, expect the following penalties:

First offense:

  • A fine between $250 to $1,000
  • Up to six months in jail

Second offense:

  • A fine between $1,000 and $1,500
  • Up to six months in jail

Third offense:

  • A fine between $1,500 and $2,000
  • Up to six months in jail

Additional penalties can be imposed as well, including a license suspension or impounding of the vehicle. More severe penalties are enacted if reckless driving occurs in a work or pedestrian safety zone or if the behavior results in serious injury or death. 


Distracted Driving in Nevada

What is Distracted Driving in Nevada?

Distracted driving includes a variety of poor driving behaviors. Eating, changing the radio, or even speaking with fellow passengers can take your mind off of the road. While it’s impossible to legislate against letting your mind wander, many states have taken action against one primary cause of many distracted driving accidents: texting and driving.

Texting while driving has become a huge problem in recent years. The state of Nevada imposes strict laws against texting and driving. In fact, the state goes a step further to prohibit speaking on a cell phone or using one to access the internet while driving. 

Penalties for Distracted Driving in Nevada

If you are caught violating Nevada’s distracted driving laws, expect the following penalties to apply. 

  • $50 fine for a first offense in seven years
  • $100 fine for a second offense, plus four demerit point added to your record
  • $250 fine for a third or subsequent offense, plus four demerit points

Keep in mind, court fees may be added to this. Also, fines double in construction zones. 


Racing in Nevada

How is Racing defined in Nevada?

Racing in Nevada — also known as a speed contest — is considered to be in the same category as reckless driving. Even if drivers are adhering to other traffic laws, the act of racing is still illegal on public roads in Nevada. 

Penalties for Racing in Nevada

Being considered a type of reckless driving, many of the penalties for racing in Nevada are quite similar to other reckless driving violations. If found to be racing, you can expect the following consequences:

First offense:

  • A fine between $250 to $1,000
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Between 50 and 99 hours of community service

Second offense:

  • A fine between $1,000 and $1,500
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Between 100 and 199 hours of community service

Third offense:

  • A fine between $1,500 and $2,000
  • Up to six months in jail
  • 200 hours of community service

More severe penalties such as the suspension of the driver’s license or the impounding of the vehicle can are possible as well. Furthermore, if a speed contest results in death or serious injury, the penalties can be much more severe. 


At-fault Accidents in Nevada

What is an At-fault Accident in Nevada?

Being involved in an accident is always stressful. However, Nevada has laws in place to minimize these stresses by requiring certain minimums of liability insurance. Liability coverage kicks in to pay bodily injury and property damages caused by the at-fault driver. All drivers in Nevada must have a certain level of bodily injury and property damage liability.

Nevada minimum auto insurance limits:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury per accident
  • $50,000 for total bodily injuries per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

While having the above limits will keep you street legal, it is highly recommended that you carry higher amounts of coverage to keep you protected. 

Penalties for At-fault Accidents in Nevada

If you are found at fault in an accident in Nevada, your liability coverage will cover any bodily injuries or property damage that you cause. You are, however, likely to see a rise in your premium. Depending on the nature of your accident (or the number of claims you file), it’s possible that your insurance company could cancel your policy. 

Driving without insurance in Nevada, however, is a much different story. The state has no grace period for lapsed coverage. This means that you can expect consequences for even a one day gap in coverage. If you are cited as being  without insurance, you can expect the following penalties:

  • Suspended driver’s license
  • SR-22 requirement
  • Registration suspension
  • Fines between $250 to $1,000 (depending on duration of coverage gap)
  • Registration reinstatement fee between $251 and $751 (depending on number of offenses)


DUI laws in Nevada

How does Nevada define DUI?

In Nevada, drinking laws are justifiably strict. If you are found to be operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more, you are guilty of driving under the influence. This limit is even lower for minors at .02% as well as for commercial drivers at .04%. 

Penalties for a DUI in Nevada

If you are found guilty of a DUI, you can expect harsh penalties, some of which you can see below:

First offense (misdemeanor):

  • Two days to six months in jail or community service from 48 to 96 hours
  • A fine between $400 to $1,000
  • Possible license revocation
  • Possible substance abuse treatment
  • An ignition interlock device may be required

A second offense within seven years (misdemeanor):

  • Ten days to six months in jail
  • A fine between $750 to $1,000 or an equivalent number of community service hours
  • An order to attend an alcohol abuse course
  • Ignition interlock device
  • License revoked for up to one year

A third offense within seven years (class B misdemeanor):

  • One to six years in prison
  • $2,000 to $5,000 fine
  • Ignition interlock device
  • License revoked for up to three years
  • Substance abuse treatment

Furthermore, should you refuse a breath, urine, or blood test by a police officer, you can expect your license to be revoked for at least one year. Also, more severe penalties can be applied if you have a BAC above .18% or your DUI results in the death or severe bodily injury of another (considered a felony). 


Sources and references:

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Nevada

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Nevada? Ask one of our licensed agents!

What are the laws in Nevada about storing a car?

Thanks for reaching out to The Zebra. There are a few things to think about with your situation.Liability laws: In Nevada, just like most states, if the vehicle is registered, you need to have insurance on the vehicle. You can have the state minimum liability coverage. If you were to cancel the ins…
Aug 16, 2018 Las Vegas, NV

How do I get a false claim on my record removed?

The best course of action would be to call that insurance company and request all paperwork associated with that claim. It should show as a zero dollar payout, which you could show to other companies to dispute the claim. If you want to fight it off your record, you'd need to look up your CLUE…
May 19, 2020 Sun Valley, NV

Can my sister insure a car I own?

The short answer is yes, your sister can insure your car, but she will need to make sure you are listed as a driver as well as an additional interest. An additional interest is someone who has a financial stake in the car, and since you own the car you are financially invested in it. If you need, T…
Oct 24, 2018 Las Vegas, NV

Do I need long-term rental car insurance?

Thanks for reaching out to The Zebra. Having insurance on any vehicle you drive is recommended (whether it's a rental or personal vehicle), and wanting to carry it for 75 days leaves you with two main options.Option#1 (likely the simplest) is to buy the insurance offered by the rental company,…
Jul 1, 2022 Las Vegas, NV

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.