New Jersey Car Insurance with a DUI

If you get a DUI in New Jersey, your car insurance is going to become pricier — it's only a question of how large the penalty will be.


How does a DUI affect auto insurance in New Jersey?


In New Jersey, a DUI conviction will increase your yearly auto insurance cost by an average of $1,181. That’s 7% more than the national average rate hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN NEW JERSEY — AVERAGE YEARLY PENALTY
AreaAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
New Jersey$1,592$2,773+74%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Shopping for car insurance in New Jersey after a DUI


Finding reasonable car insurance after a DUI conviction is far from simple. In fact, a DUI generally brings about a larger rate increase than does any other driving infraction — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. New Jersey is an exceedingly bad state in which to be convicted of a DUI: its car insurance penalties are some of the US' most severe.


Best car insurance with a DUI in New Jersey

If you’re convicted of a driving under the influence violation in New Jersey, it’s critical to assess your insurance options thoroughly. Auto insurance rates following a DUI can vary substantially by company. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company after a DUI in New Jersey, New Jersey Manufacturers, offers yearly rates 44% less than the statewide mean insurance price with a DUI violation. The next-most affordable choice for auto insurance after a DUI in New Jersey is Progressive, while the most expensive company is State Farm, at 144% pricer than average.


AUTO INSURANCE COSTS WITH DUI IN NEW JERSEY — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — with DUI
New Jersey Manufacturers$1,554
Progressive$1,962
GEICO$2,297
Travelers$2,481
Allstate$2,584
Palisades$3,048

There’s no car insurance company in particular that provides cheap DUI auto insurance. The most effective way to save after a DUI conviction is to compare policies.

Compare auto insurance policies online or contact an insurance agent to weigh the choices and find a cost-effective DUI insurance policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI violations.

Need insurance after a DUI? Find the policy for you today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

DUI penalties in New Jersey

New Jersey has a ten-year lookback period for DUI. Multiple offenses within this time period result in harsher penalties and fines.

In addition to penalties corresponding to the number of previous DUI convictions, any DUI offense in New Jersey includes the following surcharges:

  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund
  • $100 Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee
  • $100 Intoxicated Driving Program fee
  • $50 Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee
  • $75 Safe and Secure Community Program fee
  • $1,000 per year automobile insurance surcharge ($1,500 for a third DUI offense)

A first-time DUI offense with a BAC of at least 0.08% but less than 0.10% leads to:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • $250 to $400 in fines
  • License suspension for three months
  • 12 hours over two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

A first-time DUI offense in New Jersey with a BAC of at least 0.10% subjects an offender to:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • $300 to $500 in fines
  • License suspension for seven months to one year
  • 12 hours over two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

A second DUI offense in New Jersey results in:

  • 48 consecutive hours to 90 days in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for two years
  • 48 consecutive hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • IID installation and use for one to three years

Third-time DUI offenders in New Jersey are subject to:

  • 180 days in jail
  • $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • Admission to an inpatient alcoholism treatment program
  • Fee paid to an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, sentenced by the court
  • IID installation and use for one to three years

A DUI offense with a BAC of 0.15% or higher requires the use of an IID during the entire length of a license suspension and for six months to a year after license reinstatement.

Committing a DUI offense while transporting a child 17 years old or younger is an additional disorderly persons offense. The right to drive a vehicle will be forfeit for six months and the offender must perform at least five days of community service.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in New Jersey

Drivers under the age of 21 who commit a DUI in New Jersey:

  • Lose driving privileges for 30 to 90 days
  • Must perform 15 to 30 days of community service work
  • Must participate in an alcohol and traffic safety education program

Sources and references:

https://www.nj.gov/lps/hts/downloads/dui-bro-eng.pdf

https://www.state.nj.us/lps/dcj/agguide/dwi2005-penaltytable.pdf

Ross Martin LinkedIn

As a licensed insurance agent, Ross is responsible for researching and writing about all matters related to auto and home insurance. He has a background in writing and education, as well as a master's degree from Royal Holloway, University of London. He has been quoted by CNET, iDriveSafely.com, and Kin Insurance.