Florida Car Insurance with a DUI

If you get a DUI in Florida, your auto insurance is likely going to get more expensive — it is just a question of how large your penalty will be. If you're convicted of a DUI violation, it's important to shop wisely and compare insurance rates to find the most affordable option for you.


How to find affordable car insurance in Florida after a DUI


Getting cheap car insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI often results in a larger rate increase than any single driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


The best and cheapest auto insurance with a DUI in Florida

If you have been convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in Florida, it is important to consider your insurance possibilities judiciously. Car insurance premiums after a DUI often vary substantially depending on the insurer. For example, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Florida, State Farm, offers annual premiums 46% better than the state mean insurance premium after a DUI. The next-cheapest option for auto insurance after a DUI in Florida is Progressive, while the most expensive company is Allstate, with prices 19% pricer than average.


CHEAP AUTO INSURANCE COMPANIES FOR DRIVERS AFTER A DUI
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,830
Progressive$3,613
GEICO$3,632

There’s no car insurance company in particular that offers affordable DUI car insurance. The recommended way to save money after a DUI citation is to assess your options.

Compare car insurance policies online or contact your insurance agent to shop the market and find a reasonable option.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.


How does a DUI affect car insurance in Florida?


In Florida, a DUI violation will boost your annual car insurance cost by an average of $1,085. That’s 1% less than the U.S. average premium increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN FLORIDA — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — without DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Florida$2,309$3,394+47%
National Average$1,548$2,556+65%

Find affordable car insurance after a DUI: compare rates now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Florida DUI laws

Florida considers drivers to be DUI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. This is stricter for commercial drivers, whose limit is a mere 0.04%. Drivers under 21 are considered DUI if their BAC reads 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Florida

The lookback period in Florida is five years for a second DUI offense and 10 years for subsequent offenses.

In all cases, fines are increased for BAC readings of 0.15% or higher or in instances where minors were being transported as passengers. Jail sentences will also be increased in such cases.

For the first DUI conviction in Florida, offenders will be subject to:

  • Fines of $500 to $1,000
  • Imprisonment for up to six months
  • License revocation for 180 days to one year
  • Installation and use of an interlock ignition device for up to six months
  • Mandatory 50 hours of community service, or additional $10 fine for each hour of assigned community service
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days (not concurrent with imprisonment)

Second-time DUI offenses in Florida result in:

  • Fines of $1,000 to $2,000
  • Imprisonment for up to nine months
  • License revocation for five years
  • Installation and use of an IID for up to two years
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days (not concurrent with imprisonment)

A third DUI offense in Florida leads to:

  • Fines of $2,000 to $5,000
  • Imprisonment for up to 12 months
  • License revocation for 10 years
  • Installation and use of an IID for up to two years
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days (not concurrent with imprisonment)

For the fourth or subsequent DUI convictions, penalties are:

  • Minimum fine of $2,000
  • Imprisonment for up to five years
  • Lifetime license revocation

Penalties are increased for DUI offenses leading to property damage, injury, or death.


DUI laws for underage drivers in Florida

Florida is a zero-tolerance state. Those under the drinking age of 21 found to have a BAC of 0.02% or higher are considered to be DUI.

Underage drivers with a BAC of 0.08% or higher are subject to the same penalties as DUI offenders over 21 years old.

If an underage driver's BAC is between 0.02% and 0.08%, they are not charged with a criminal DUI. However, they are subject to:

  • A six-month license suspension
  • Mandatory evaluation at an addictions facility or attendance in an alcohol education program (if under 18 years old)

Subsequent offenses will lead to a license suspension for one year.

Sources and references:

https://www.flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/education-courses/dui-and-iid/florida-dui-administrative-suspension-laws/

https://www.tampacriminalattorneys.com/criminal-defense-blog/2018/may/lookback-period-for-a-florida-dui/

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0300-0399/0316/Sections/0316.193.html

https://www.stateofflorida.com/dui-information.aspx

https://www.dmv.org/fl-florida/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.dmvflorida.org/florida-traffic-laws/florida-dui

http://www.dunhampa.com/criminal-defense/dui/under-21-dui/

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/resources/dui-and-dwi/dui-laws-state/florida-underage-dui.htm

Drunk Driving Statistics

Ross Martin
Ross Martin LinkedIn

As a licensed insurance agent, Ross is responsible for researching and writing about all matters related to insurance. He has a background in writing and education, as well as a master's degree from Royal Holloway, University of London. He has been quoted by CNET, iDriveSafely.com and Kin Insurance.