Illinois Car Insurance with a DUI

If you receive a DUI or DWI in Illinois, your auto insurance rates are bound to rise: it's just a question of how much extra you'll pay. However, by shopping carefully and comparing rates, you can mitigate the costs of car insurance after a driving under the influence citation.


How to find cheap car insurance in Illinois after a DUI


Getting reasonable car insurance after a DUI violation is far from simple. In fact, a DUI generally results in a greater rate increase than any other driving violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.


The best car insurance after a DUI in Illinois

If you’re found guilty of a DUI or DWI violation in Illinois, it’s important to weigh available insurance choices with care. Car insurance prices after a DUI can fluctuate substantially by insurer. For instance, the best cheap car insurance company with a DUI in Illinois, State Farm, advertises annual premiums 17% less than the state mean insurance premium after a DUI violation. The next-most affordable choice for car insurance after a DUI in Illinois is Country, while the most expensive insurer is Allstate, with rates 49% above average.


THE CHEAPEST CAR INSURANCE COMPANIES FOR DRIVERS WITH A DUI
InsurerAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,626
Country$1,665
GEICO$1,810
Progressive$1,909
Farmers$2,178
American Family$2,368

There’s no auto insurer in particular that sells low-cost DUI auto insurance. The best course of action to save money post-DUI citation is to assess your options.

Compare car insurance quotes online or contact an insurance expert to gauge your choices and find the cheapest policy.


How does a DUI change car insurance rates in Illinois?


In Illinois, a DUI will raise your yearly car insurance cost by an average of $665. That is 65% less than the national mean rate hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN ILLINOIS — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
AreaAvg. Annual Rate — without DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Illinois$1,303$1,968+51%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.

Compare rates and find a great deal on car insurance today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Illinois DUI laws

Illinois considers a driver DUI when their blood alcohol concentration reads 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter limit of 0.04% or higher. Those under 21 years old are not permitted to have any measurable BAC.

Illinois may also consider drivers with a BAC of 0.05% to be DUI if they display other signs of impairment and unsafe driving.


DUI penalties in Illinois

In Illinois, the first two DUI convictions are considered misdemeanors. Third and subsequent DUIs are felony offenses. A DUI may also be deemed a felony if it's committed while transporting passengers for-hire, if the violator does not have a license or insurance, or if the incident leads to injury or death.

Penalties are also increased for violators whose BAC is 0.16% or higher or if transporting a child under 16 years old.

There is a lifetime lookback period in Illinois, so subsequent DUI offenses are much more severe.

First-time DUI offenses in Illinois lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,500 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Possible requirement to perform community service
  • Attendance in a drug and alcohol program
  • Vehicle registration revocation

A second DUI offense in Illinois results in:

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,500 in fines
  • License revocation for a minimum of five years
  • Possible requirement to perform 240 hours of community service
  • Attendance in a drug and alcohol program
  • Vehicle registration revocation

Third-time DUI offenders in Illinois are subject to:

  • 18 to 30 months of mandatory periodic imprisonment and up to seven years in jail
  • Up to $25,000 in fines
  • License revocation for a minimum of 10 years
  • Attendance in a drug and alcohol program
  • Vehicle registration revocation

Aggravated DUI in Illinois

A DUI that leads to an accident in which someone is dealt “great bodily harm” or permanently disfigured is a class four felony. Penalties for an aggravated DUI in Illinois are:

  • 10 days to 12 years in jail
  • Up to $25,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Possible requirement to perform 480 hours of community service

DUI penalties for young drivers in Illinois

Illinois is a zero-tolerance state. Those under 21 years old are considered DUI if driving with any readable BAC. As with those over 21, the first two DUI convictions are considered misdemeanors in Illinois. Third and subsequent offenses are felonies.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Be jailed for up to one year
  • Pay fines of up to $2,500
  • Receive a license revocation for a minimum of two years
  • May be required to attend an alcohol education program

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,500 in fines
  • Five-year license revocation
  • Possible requirement to perform 240 hours of community service
  • May be required to attend an alcohol education program

A third underage DUI offense in Illinois results in:

  • 18 to 30 months of mandatory periodic and up to seven years in jail
  • Up to $25,000 in fines
  • Ten-year license revocation

Sources and references:

https://www.isp.state.il.us/traffic/drnkdriving.cfm

https://www.dmv.org/il-illinois/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/publications/pdf_publications/dsd_a118.pdf

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/illinois.html

Ross Martin LinkedIn

As a licensed insurance agent, Ross is responsible for researching and writing about all matters related to insurance. He has a background in writing and education, as well as a master's degree from Royal Holloway, University of London. He has been quoted by CNET, iDriveSafely.com and Kin Insurance.