Indiana Car Insurance with a DUI

If you happen to get a DUI in Indiana, your car insurance will get more expensive — it's just a matter of by how much.


How does a DUI impact car insurance rates in Indiana?


In Indiana, a DUI offense will raise your yearly auto insurance cost by an average of $470. That’s 134% less than the national average rate increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN INDIANA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
AreaAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Indiana$1,165$1,635+40%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

How to find auto insurance in Indiana after a DUI violation


Finding affordable auto insurance in the wake of a DUI conviction is anything but simple. In fact, a DUI generally triggers a more substantial rate hike than any other road violation — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Affordable car insurance after a DUI in Indiana

If you're convicted of a driving under the influence violation in Indiana, it’s crucial to mull over all your insurance choices carefully. Auto insurance rates after a DUI may fluctuate greatly by company. For instance, the most affordable car insurance company with a DUI in Indiana, Erie, offers annual prices 26% more affordable than the statewide mean insurance premium with a DUI. The next-cheapest company for auto insurance after a DUI in Indiana is State Farm, while the most expensive company is AAA, with rates 41% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN INDIANA — BY COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
Erie$1,211
State Farm$1,393
Progressive$1,413
American Family$1,447
Indiana Farm Bureau$1,662
Allstate$2,213

There’s no car insurance company in particular that offers low-cost DUI auto insurance. The best strategy to save in the wake of a DUI citation is to assess your options.

Compare car insurance policies online or contact an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a reasonable policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI infractions.


Indiana DUI laws

Indiana considers drivers to be DUI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Indiana with a BAC of just 0.04%. Additionally, those under the legal drinking age of 21 are DUI if their BAC reads a mere 0.02% or higher.

Drivers whose BAC reads 0.15% or higher are declared “habitual offenders,” even if it's their first DUI offense. This designation is also given to those who continue to receive DUI charges in lieu of the penalties.


DUI penalties in Indiana

Indiana does not have a typical lookback period. Courts consider a driver's five-year and ten-year conviction history when determining a sentence and penalties.

In Indiana, anyone found to have a BAC of 0.08% or higher will have their license suspended for a minimum of 30 days.

First-time DUI offenses in Indiana lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • A license suspension of up to two years
  • Possible attendance in a substance abuse education course
  • Possible requirement to attend a victim impact panel
  • Possible submission to urine testing
  • Towing and impound of the vehicle

A second DUI offense in Indiana results in:

  • Five days to three years in jail
  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • A suspended license for for 180 days to two years
  • Possible requirement to perform community service
  • Possible attendance in a substance abuse education course
  • Possible requirement to attend a victim impact panel
  • Possible submission to urine testing
  • Towing and impound of the vehicle

Third-time DUI offenders in Indiana are subject to:

  • 10 days to three years in jail
  • Up to $10,000 to in fines
  • A suspended license for one to 10 years
  • Possibly declared a habitual offender (and an increased jail time of one to eight years)
  • Possible requirement to perform community service
  • Possible attendance in a substance abuse education course
  • Possible requirement to attend a victim impact panel
  • Possible submission to urine testing
  • Towing and impound of the vehicle

Habitual offenders in Indiana are subject to enhanced penalties and jail time. Multiple DUI offenses that lead to injury or death may result in a permanent lifetime revocation of a driver's license.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Indiana

Drivers under 21 years old whose BAC reads between 0.02% and 0.08% are considered DUI in Indiana.

Penalties for an underage DUI in Indiana are:

  • Fines up to $500
  • Suspended license for up to one year

If an underage driver's BAC is 0.08% or higher, they are subject to the same penalties as a driver of legal drinking age.

Sources and references:

https://www.in.gov/cji/2385.htm

https://www.dmv.org/in-indiana/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/indiana.html

Find pricing information via The Zebra or contact an insurance agent to gauge your choices and find a reasonable plan.

Find cheap car insurance with a DUI today — compare rates!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Ava worked in the insurance industry as an agent for four-plus years. Currently providing insights and analysis as one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts, Ava has been featured in publications such as U.S. News & World Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.