How long do I have to file a property damage claim in North Carolina?
I was rear-ended by another driver and the police were called. The other driver admitted to me, a witness, and police he might have dozed off. The witness told police I was in my lane not bothering anyone. I called my insurance company's independent agent, but was only able to reach his secretary. She told me to wait for the other insurance company to contact me, but it's been 3 weeks and I haven't heard anything from them. How much time do I have to get this done in North Carolina?
The statute in North Carolina for filing a property damage claim is technically 3 years. However, I would recommend taking care of the claim as quickly as possible to avoid any issues with the other driver's insurance company. The longer you wait, the more difficult it can be for the insurance company to assess the damage. I would recommend calling them sooner rather than later.