Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Ava Lynch

Insurance Analyst

  • 7+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Ava joined The Zebra as a writer and licensed insurance agent in 2016. She now works as a senior insurance contributor, providing insights and data a…

Author profile picture

Renata Balasco

Senior Content Strategist

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty

Renata joined The Zebra in 2020 as a Customer Experience Agent. Since 2021, she has worked as licensed insurance professional and content strategist.…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Alaska

If you have been involved in an at-fault accident, filed a claim, or received a citation for a major violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Car insurance for high-risk drivers is typically costly, but the degree of price increase you face may depend on your insurer, your driving record, and the area in which you reside.

What comprises car insurance prices for high-risk drivers in Alaska:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. View Alaska driving laws

Car insurance after an at-fault accident in Alaska


If you’re deemed responsible for an auto collision, expect your car insurance rates to skyrocket. In Alaska, the average insurance premium following an at-fault accident is $1,744, versus the nationwide average of $2,012. A major accident like an at-fault crash can stay on your driving record for up to three years!

Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Alaska $1,744 $1,152 $592
National Average $2,012 $1,397 $615

The most affordable insurance company following an at-fault crash in Alaska is USAA. USAA’s typical price increase after a crash is $659, leading to a premium 38 percent less expensive than the average among all car insurance companies. If you caused an accident in Alaska, steer clear of Allstate and Progressive, on the pricier end of the spectrum.

Company Annual Rate After an At-Fault Accident
USAA $1,085
State Farm $1,312
GEICO $1,941
Allstate $2,130
Progressive $2,612

Save on your car insurance policy today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Does getting a speeding ticket in Alaska lead to more expensive car insurance?


One of the ways drivers earn the "high-risk" designation is speeding. In Alaska, car insurance premiums rise by $230 per year after a speeding citation, to an average per-year rate of $1,382.

State With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Alaska $1,382 $1,152 $230
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330

The foolproof way to get affordable auto insurance after getting a ticket for speeding is to shop thoroughly and compare the available options. The cheapest auto insurance after a speeding citation in Alaska is available via USAA. USAA’s average premium after a violation is $461 less than the state average. If you're caught speeding in Alaska, Progressive is worth avoiding.

Company Annual Premium With a Speeding Violation
USAA $921
GEICO $968
State Farm $1,191
Allstate $1,715
Progressive $2,150

How does a ticket for distracted driving impact car insurance rates in Alaska?


If you're ticketed for distracted driving, expect to pay a premium for your auto insurance. In Alaska, car insurance prices typically increase by $225 annually. That's a 20% jump from the average annual rate in Alaska, and 30% more than the U.S. average cost of auto insurance after a distracted driving offense.

Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Alaska $1,377 $1,152 $225
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173

The easiest way to find cheap car insurance following a distracted driving citation is to explore your options. The cheapest company after a distracted driving ticket in Alaska is USAA, with a typical rate of just $785 per year, 43% less than the average distracted driving insurance premium by all insurers.

Insurance Company Annual Rate With Distracted Driving
USAA $785
GEICO $968
State Farm $1,191
Allstate $1,623
Progressive $2,157

How does a ticket for racing impact Alaska car insurance rates?


Racing is considered an extraordinarily serious offense. Auto insurance carriers usually penalize racing tickets severely — in fact, Alaska auto insurance premiums go up by $549 annually after a citation for racing. That's a 48% increase from the typical yearly auto insurance rate in Alaska!

Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Alaska $1,701 $1,152 $549
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000

If you have been ticketed for a racing offense, do your homework and find the best rates. In Alaska, start your search by checking out GEICO, which offers prices 43 percent less than the state average for drivers found guilty of racing.

Insurance Company Annual Rate With Racing
GEICO $968
USAA $1,399
State Farm $1,502
Allstate $2,034
Progressive $2,462

How does a citation for reckless driving impact Alaska car insurance rates?


Among the most serious moving violations, reckless driving is a surefire way to end up paying more for auto insurance. Insurers raise prices by an average of $550 per year following a reckless driving ticket. That comes out to 48% more than the typical car insurance rate in Alaska, and 33% less than the U.S. average penalty for reckless driving.

Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Alaska $1,702 $1,152 $550
National Average $2,395 $1,397 $998

If you're pulled over for reckless driving, you should shop around to find the most affordable rate. In Alaska, the cheapest insurer after reckless driving is USAA.

Insurance Company Annual Rate After Reckless Driving
USAA $1,114
State Farm $1,502
GEICO $1,868
Allstate $2,034
Progressive $2,462

If you're looking for auto insurance as a high-risk driver, the best thing to do is to do your research and find a policy that fits you.


Ready to start saving?

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


Alaska Driving Laws

Traffic laws in Alaska define and penalize drivers for speeding, reckless driving, distracted driving, racing, and at-fault accidents. Obeying traffic laws helps to maintain safe roads and can help you avoid harsh fines — or even jail time.


Speeding in Alaska

When Are You Speeding In Alaska?

Alaska requires drivers to drive at a speed that is reasonable and prudent for the traffic, road conditions, and weather. Unless road hazards exist, you are speeding in Alaska if your speeds exceed:

  • 15 miles per hour in an alley
  • 20 miles per hour in a business district
  • 25 miles per hour in a residential district
  • Or 55 miles per hour on any other roadway

Municipalities and other jurisdictions in Alaska may alter the speed limit, so it is important to pay attention to posted signs.

Some stretches of highway in Alaska may have posted minimum speed limits. In such areas, drivers must maintain a minimum speed limit of 55 miles per hour if posted signs indicate such a requirement.

Penalties for Speeding In Alaska

The maximum penalty for speeding in Alaska is set at $300 (doubled to $600 in a work zone). In addition, violators will receive two to 10 points added to their driver’s license.

Receiving 12 points in one year or 18 points within two years will lead to a suspended license for up to one year.

Violators may also be required to attend a driver improvement course after accumulating six points in one year or nine points within two years.


Reckless Driving in Alaska

What Is Reckless Driving in Alaska?

You may be guilty of reckless driving in Alaska if you are:

  • Weaving between lanes
  • Passing on curves or double yellow lines
  • Driving on the center line
  • Driving with your windows down in cold weather
  • Making wide or high-speed turns
  • Impeding traffic by driving too slowly
  • Tailgating

In other words, if a driver poses a risk to another person or their property, they may be deemed guilty of reckless driving in Alaska.

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Alaska

Reckless driving in Alaska is a misdemeanor. The fine for reckless driving is $1, 000 and/or up to one year in jail.

In addition, violators will receive two to 10 points added to their driver’s license, potentially leading to a suspended license or the requirement to attend a driver improvement course.


Distracted Driving in Alaska

What is Distracted Driving in Alaska?

Like in most states, Alaskan drivers are expected to keep their attention on the road. To that end, Alaska has prohibited the installation and use of TVs, monitors, and other screens from being in full view of a driver while a vehicle is in motion.

In addition, drivers are not able to send or read any text communication on a handheld device, including emails, texts, or instant messages.

Drivers are not guilty of distracted driving in Alaska if they are using the voice functions of their cell phone or are using a GPS or navigation device.

Read here for more on texting and driving statistics.

Penalties for Distracted Driving in Alaska

Distracted driving in Alaska is considered a misdemeanor. If, however, distracted driving leads to injury or death, a violator may be charged with a felony.

Distracted driving is considered a primary offense. If a law enforcement officer witnesses a driver violating only this law, he or she can pull the driver over and cite him or her for the offense.

For a standard violation of distracted driving in Alaska, the maximum fine is $500.

A distracted driving charge leading to injury is a class C felony and results in penalties of:

  • Up to $50, 000 in fines
  • Up to five years in jail

Distracted driving resulting in serious injury is a class B felony and leads to:

  • Up to $100, 000 in fines
  • Up to 10 years in jail

In Alaska, distracted driving that results in death is a class A felony and leads to:

  • Up to $250, 000 in fines
  • Up to 20 years in jail

In addition, each distracted driving conviction adds two points to a violator’s driver’s license.


Racing in Alaska

What is Racing in Alaska?

Racing in Alaska is defined as a contest between one or more vehicles to determine which can achieve greater speed or acceleration over a given distance, even if the act itself does not violate any speed limits.

Penalties for Racing in Alaska

The penalty for racing in Alaska is a fine of $300 and the accumulation of two to 10 points to an offender’s driver’s license.


At-fault Accidents in Alaska

What is An At-fault Accident in Alaska?

Alaska is considered a “fault” state. The person found to be at fault for causing an accident is held liable for any damages or injuries experienced by other parties.

After an accident in which injuries or damages are estimated to exceed $2, 000, drivers must immediately contact the local police department or Alaska State Troopers.

In addition, if damages exceed $500 or the accident resulted in bodily injury, drivers must submit a certificate of insurance to the Alaska DMV within 15 days of the accident.

Drivers in Alaska must carry minimum liability insurance coverage:

  • $50, 000 for bodily injury or death
  • $100, 000 for total bodily injury or death
  • $25, 000 for property damage

Penalties for At-fault Accidents in Alaska

An at-fault accident in Alaska in which a driver is uninsured or fails to provide proof of insurance to the DMV within 15 days will result in a license suspension for 90 days for a first offense or one year for a second offense. In some cases, being at-fault for an accident in Alaska can see your license suspended for up to three years.

Failure to provide proof of insurance will also result in a mandatory $500 fine.


Sources and references:

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Alaska

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Alaska? Ask one of our licensed agents!

Why do I have to pay a deductible if I was hit by an uninsured driver?

Unfortunately, recovering the cost of your deductible, if the other driver is uninsured, is up to you. I would definitely recommend asking to speak with a supervisor at your insurance company to see if you have any other options available, but you may have to pay the deductible simply to start the …
Apr 21, 2017 Palmer, AK

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.