Does a ticket for driving without registration affect your insurance?
Why you can trust The Zebra
The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more about how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference our data methodology, or view a list of our partners.
Every US state requires you to register your vehicle in order to park or drive on public roads. Failure to do so may result in a ticket and associated fees. On average, being ticketed for driving with an expired registration will increase your six-month insurance premium by $131. Additionally, you could face hundreds of dollars of legal and ticket fees for failing to register your vehicle.
Let’s break down options for cheap car insurance with an expired registration.
After you re-register your vehicle, the violation may continue to affect your auto insurance premiums. While the impact may vary, most insurance companies will include a surcharge for as long as three to five years after any violation or claim. Using a methodology outlined here, we learned that the cheapest insurance provider after driving with an expired registration is USAA.
|6-month premium w/no violation||6-month premium w/ expired registration|
|Allstate - $945||$955|
|Farmers - $797||$850|
|GEICO - $657||$700|
|Liberty Mutual - $797||$1,032|
|Nationwide - $675||$1,042|
|Progressive - $788||$970|
|USAA - $498||$525|
Liberty Mutual and Nationwide assessed considerable premium increases after a registration violation. Use our data as a jumping-off point. It is based on a generalized profile and not necessarily reflective of your specific driving profile. Enter your ZIP code below to see a personalized quote based on your driving history, location, and other factors.
This depends on the duration for which your registration was expired. If it only lapsed for a few days, you might be able to contest the ticket and get it dismissed. Otherwise, you might have a more difficult time. In this case, your best bet is to contact your state’s DMV.
This varies depending on each state’s laws and the duration of the registration lapse. Below are estimated penalties from five states in the US.
|Florida||Up to $100|
|Ohio||Up to $250|
Your best bet for car insurance with an expired registration is to contact your state’s DMV and begin the process for being reinstated. It's unlikely a car insurance company will cover you if your registration is currently expired. The process will vary by your state but usually includes:
The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.
The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
The Zebra’s insurance content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.