Auto insurance requirements in Wyoming
Drivers in Wyoming are required to carry car insurance. This is for both your protection and that of other motorists. Furthermore, you must carry proof of insurance while you are behind the wheel. We’ve put together this resource to give you a better idea of required and elective car insurance coverage options in Wyoming.
|Minimum Liability Coverage: 25/50/20|
Liability coverage in Wyoming
Liability coverage is legally required in Wyoming. This coverage pays for bodily injury and property damage that you cause in an at-fault accident. This coverage also covers lost wages and pain and suffering as well. Please note that your liability coverage never pays for your injuries or damage to your own property.
What are state-mandated car insurance limits?
An insurance limit is the ceiling for what your insurance company will pay in a covered accident. Liability coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage. In Wyoming, the liability minimum is listed as 25/50/20 and explained below:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person is the maximum dollar amount paid for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident is the total dollar amount paid for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
- $20,000 in property damage per accident is the total amount paid for damage that you cause in an accident.
These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Wyoming, though higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.
Do Wyoming's required minimums provide enough coverage?
Wyoming’s liability limits are on par with most of the country, but this doesn’t mean that carrying this minimum amount provides sufficient cover. Most will find that this lower limit leaves them underinsured. Bear in mind that even moderate injuries that you cause to another driver or pedestrian can easily exhaust your bodily injury limits. The same goes for damages that you cause, as $20,000 isn’t even enough to cover the cost of the average new vehicle in the United States.
Most insurance experts recommend increasing your limits to the highest amount that you can comfortably afford. This is especially true if you have significant assets (like a house). Most insurance companies allow you to raise your limits for a small increase in your premium. It’s also wise to look into other coverage options that can better protect you and your vehicle.
Wyoming’s penalties for driving without proof of insurance
Driving without insurance in Wyoming is against the law. If you are found to be driving uninsured in Wyoming, you can expect the following penalties:
|Second or subsequent offense|
Optional car insurance coverage in Wyoming
Wyoming law only requires that drivers carry liability coverage. However, most car insurance companies offer a variety of coverage types that can further protect you and your vehicle. Below are some of the more popular optional coverages.
- Comprehensive: Comprehensive coverage is a form of physical damage insurance that protects your vehicle against non-collision damages (though it does cover collisions with animals).
- Collision: Collision insurance covers your vehicle in situations where you collide with another car or fixed object.
- Gap coverage: If you are leasing or financing your vehicle, gap coverage could be a smart option. Because automobiles depreciate in value so quickly, this coverage pays the difference in the actual cash value of your vehicle and what you still owe on the loan. It’s a great way of protecting yourself from owing more than your vehicle is worth.
- Rental car reimbursement: If your car is undrivable because of a covered incident, this coverage goes toward paying for a rental car until your vehicle can be fixed.
- Roadside assistance: If your car breaks down on the highway, this coverage covers costs related to towing, battery charges, or a number of other expenses.
- Uninsured motorist coverage: Unfortunately, not all Wyoming drivers follow the state’s insurance requirement laws. Should you be injured at the hand of an uninsured driver, this coverage can protect you from an uninsured motorist who is not able to cover your expenses.
- Medical Payments (Med Pay): This coverage goes toward covering injuries sustained by you and anyone in your vehicle at the time of an accident. Med Pay applies no matter who is at fault.
Why adhering to Wyoming’s car insurance requirements is important
Not only is carrying the right insurance coverage important for protecting you, but it’s also the law. If you are worried about the added costs of increasing your coverage, it might be time to look around for a new policy. The Zebra can help by allowing you to compare insurance quotes side-by-side from the nation’s top insurers. This gives you the chance to find an affordable policy that fits your individual needs.
Compare car insurance quotes side-by-side!