Cheap Maine Car Insurance

Compare the best rates from 3 car insurance companies in Maine.

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Maine

Across the Pine Tree State, there are 46,750 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in Maine?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1Travelers$618
2USAA$635
3Countryway Insurance$706
4Vermont Mutual$707
5Patriot$724
6The Hartford$735
7MetLife$786
8Concord$848
9OneBeacon$850
10MMG Insurance$905
11Progressive$948
12State Farm$962
13Peerless$1,002
14Liberty Mutual$1,114
15GEICO$1,217
16Allstate$1,292
17Bristol West$1,685
18Sentry$1,982
19Hanover$2,110
20Dairyland$2,988

Compare rates today!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Maine

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Maine drivers without a recent at-fault accident typically save 31% on their car insurance premiums, which approaches the national average of 32%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$22819.72%
No Accidents$43331.82%
Good Credit$73444.20%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Maine

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. Maine is a relatively affordable state for teen drivers: the typical teen driver pays $3,528 per year — about $1,400 less than the national average for teens, but still far more than the Maine driver average across all age groups.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$3,405$4,701
17$3,255$4,323
18$3,257$3,999
19$2,862$2,423

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Maine

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. On the other hand, a poor driving record will raise your rates: car insurance premiums typically increase by 34% after a DUI, 31% after an at-fault accident, and 19% after a speeding ticket in Maine. The post-incident penalties assessed by car insurance companies in Maine roughly align with national averages. If your driving record is citation-free, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$1,35931.82%
DUI$1,41434.43%
Speeding Violation$1,15519.72%
Bad Credit$1,66144.20%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in Maine?

Every auto insurer advertises its low prices. But as with any product, the cheapest car insurance option isn't always the best choice. Considering the financial stakes, it's worthwhile to do the homework to discover the policy that will cover your car adequately in the event of an incident. Hunt for a great value, rather than settling for the cheapest car insurance in your state.

Review top auto insurers' financial strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service you can expect. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and running from "Poor" to "Superior" — assesses an insurer's financial strength and ability to satisfy its policy and contractual obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allstate3Superior
Bristol WestNot RatedExcellent
ConcordNot RatedExcellent
Countryway InsuranceNot RatedGood
GEICO3Superior
Hanover3Excellent
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
MetLife3Superior
Progressive3Superior
SentryNot RatedSuperior
State Farm3Superior
The Hartford4Excellent
Travelers3Superior
USAA5Superior
Vermont MutualNot RatedSuperior

 

Find a policy today!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

What is the Best Car Insurance Coverage in Maine?

The minimum required insurance level in Maine is $50,000 Bodily Injury per person, $100,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident.

For the minimum allowed coverage in Maine, you could owe a mean of $405 yearly. This is cheaper than the national average by 38%. If you opt for a higher level of car insurance coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against the costs of car-versus-car wrecks, theft and vandalism, or weather conditions. It's worth noting that better car insurance comes with a cost: in Maine, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $837, 107% more than liability-only car insurance. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 133% more than you would for basic coverage.

Compare average rates for basic, better, and best policy options in the below table.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
Maine$404.99$836.73$943.08
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Maine

In Maine, the state minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
Liability
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $100,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $25,000 per accident
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $100,000 per accident
Medical Payments
  • $2,000 per person
Optional coverage in Maine (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance

Liability coverage is legally required in Maine and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Maine, the minimum is listed as 50/100/25 and explained below:

  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $100,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $25,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage is legally required in Maine and pays for injury and lost wages that you or your passengers may suffer in the event that you are hit by an uninsured/underinsured driver who is at fault. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into two categories. In Maine, the minimum is listed as 50/100 and explained below:

  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person injured in your vehicle by an uninsured/underinsured driver.
  • $100,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries in your vehicle by an uninsured/underinsured driver if more than one person is hurt.

Medical Payments provides coverage for injuries that you and your passengers incur in an accident regardless of fault. In Main, a minimum Medical Payments coverage amount of $2,000 per person is required.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Maine but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

Car Insurance FAQs

Do you need car insurance in Maine?

Yes — you need car insurance in Maine in order to legally drive and park your vehicle on public roads.

Does Maine have no-fault car insurance?

Maine is not a no-fault state so this coverage is not available.

What type of car insurance does Maine require?

At a minimum, you need bodily injury (limits of $50,000/$100,000), property damage ($25,000), Medical Payments ($2,000), and uninsured motorist coverage. If you have a loan or lease on your vehicle, you will need additional coverage.

How much does car insurance cost in Maine cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Presque Isle, Maine, and the most expensive in Ellsworth, Maine.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Ellsworth$966
2Lewiston$924
3Waterville$924
4Auburn$918
5Skowhegan$908
6Orono$900
7Portland$897
8Belfast$894
9Bangor$894
10Old Town$890
11Augusta$889
12Sanford$888
13Bath$886
14Rockland$885
15Brewer$880
16Gorham$864
17Brunswick$856
18Westbrook$853
19South Portland$850
20Old Orchard Beach$841
21Saco$837
22Biddeford$835
23Winslow$830
24Caribou$828
25Presque Isle$827

Recent Maine Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Can my insured relative drive my new, uninsured car off the lot?

I’m a minor who will be buying a car in NH and will be having it driven home to ME. ...

AUG 07, 2019
|
CONCORD, NH
Failure to submit a breathalyzer’s impact on car insurance rates?

I was in a car accident due to a deer in the road I went off the road and hit ...

AUG 18, 2018
|
BANGOR, ME
Do I have to repair damage less than $1000

Car stopped for red light & truck bumps into my rear bumper do I have to report to insurance to ...

JUN 27, 2018
|
SOUTH PORTLAND, MA
Which state would I need to get insurance in if my daughter will be attending graduate school out-of-state and the car is in my name?

I recently purchased a 2012 Chevy Impala with a bank loan (she did not qualify for a car loan even ...

AUG 27, 2017
|
LITCHFIELD, ME

Driving Laws

Maine Texting and Driving Laws

  • Ban on all cell phones for drivers <18 years
  • Ban on text messaging for all drivers

Maine DUI Laws

The lookback period in Maine is 10 years except in the case of offenders convicted of a felony OUI. Those with a felony OUI on their record are subject to a lifetime lookback period and can expect harsher penalties for any subsequent OUIs.

In Maine, first and second OUI offenses are class D misdemeanors. Third and subsequent OUIs are deemed class C felonies.

First-time OUI offenses in Maine lead to:

  • $500 to $2,000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension of 150 days
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device
  • One-year conditional license

Maine Speeding Laws

Maine asks drivers to maintain a “careful and prudent speed” for the driving conditions present. Unless otherwise posted, a driver is speeding in Maine if they exceed the following:

  • 15 miles per hour in school zones
  • 25 mph in business or residential zones
  • 45 mph on all other public ways unless otherwise posted

Reckless Driving in Maine

Reckless driving in Maine is a Class E crime. Penalties depend on the specific scenario, but typically include:

  • Up to six months imprisonment
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • License suspension from 30 to 180 days

What Constitutes Distracted Driving in Maine?

One of the biggest problems surrounding distracted driving includes the use of mobile devices while driving. While some states outlaw the use of them entirely while driving, Maine allows their usage so long as it is not to text while driving.

How Are At-Fault Accidents Handled in Maine?

Maine is a fault-based state. If you are deemed responsible for causing an accident, it's up to your car insurance company — or you, if you are uninsured — to assume responsibility for injuries, property damage, lost income, or any other issues that may arise.

Maine requires certain minimum liability coverage for all drivers:

  • $50,000 to cover bodily injury or death of one person
  • $100,000 to cover bodily injury or death liability
  • $25,000 to cover property damage per accident

How Do Tickets Impact Maine Car Insurance Premiums?

If you get a ticket, your car insurance rates will probably rise. How much your rates rise depends on the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

Below is a look at average auto insurance rates in Maine after a few common violations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$1,41958%$523
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$1,31547%$419
DUI$1,31547%$419
Racing$1,41958%$523
Reckless Driving$1,37153%$475
Driving with a Suspended License$1,29244%$396
At-Fault Accident$1,32948%$433
Driving with an Open Container$1,16430%$267
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$1,20034%$304
Passing a School Bus$1,16230%$266
Improper Passing$1,09923%$202
Following Too Closely$1,09923%$202
Speeding$1,11424%$218
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$1,09923%$202
Illegal Turn$1,09923%$202
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$1,09923%$202
Failure to Yield$1,09923%$202
Speeding in a School Zone$1,09522%$199
Driving Too Slowly$1,09522%$199
Distracted Driving$1,15429%$258
Driving with Expired Registration$98710%$91
Failure to Show Documents$98710%$91
Not-at-Fault Accident$9617%$65
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$8960%$0
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$8960%$0
Driving Without Lights$8960%$0

Maine Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Maine area, while also getting an insider view of the Pine Tree State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destrination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.

Chevron left icon
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
Jul 28, 2017

Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...

Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Jun 09, 2017

  Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...

Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
May 19, 2017

You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...

Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Apr 03, 2017

A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...

Driverless Car Laws by State
Driverless Car Laws by State
Mar 16, 2017

While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...

How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
Mar 12, 2017

  With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...

What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Jan 27, 2017

If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...

The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
Dec 20, 2016

The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...

How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
Dec 13, 2016

Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...

What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
Nov 08, 2016

If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...

Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Nov 02, 2016

We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...

Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Sep 23, 2016

In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...

Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Aug 22, 2016

Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...

Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Aug 02, 2016

Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...

Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Aug 02, 2016

Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...

Chevron right icon