Ohio Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you commit DUI in Ohio, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a question of by how much. Fortunately, Ohio car insurance premiums are not influenced substantially by your history of serious driving violations, when measured against all American states.


Need car insurance after a DUI? Find a policy today!


How will a DUI affect car insurance costs in Ohio?

In Ohio, a DUI will raise your annual car insurance premium by an average of $568. That’s 79% less than the national average rate jump after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN OHIO — MEAN ANNUAL PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Ohio $1,037.17 $1,605.59 54%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

How to find auto insurance in Ohio after a DUI violation

Purchasing affordable auto insurance with a DUI offense is anything but straightforward. In fact, a DUI typically brings about a greater cost increase than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Cheapest auto insurance after a DUI in Ohio

If you're convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Ohio, it’s essential to mull over your insurance choices carefully. Car insurance rates with a DUI may vary greatly depending on the company. For instance, the cheapest car insurer after a DUI in Ohio, Erie, provides annual rates 35% below the state average insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The next-cheapest insurer for car insurance after a DUI in Ohio is Progressive, while the most expensive firm is Nationwide, with premiums 52% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN OHIO — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Erie $1,048
Progressive $1,206
Farmers $1,401
GEICO $1,523
Grange Mutual $1,650
Allstate $1,895
Cincinnati $1,959
Nationwide $2,442

There’s no car insurer in particular offering cheap DUI car insurance. The recommended way to save after a DUI conviction is to compare policies.

Find prices through The Zebra or contact an insurance expert to assess the choices and discover a cost-effective policy.

Read more about auto insurance after a DUI violation.


Ohio OVI and DUI laws

Ohio refers to driving under the influence or while impaired as operating a vehicle under the influence, or OVI. Drivers are OVI in Ohio when their blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher.

Commercial drivers are OVI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher. Drivers under the age of 21 are operating a vehicle after underage consumption, or OVAUC, when their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


Penalties for OVI in Ohio

The OVI lookback period in Ohio is 10 years. Repeated offenses within a decade subject offenders to harsher penalties. In addition, penalties are enhanced for any OVI in which the driver's BAC is 0.17% or higher.

Each OVI offense results in six points added to the offender's driving record.

The first three OVI offenses are misdemeanors. Four or more OVI offenses in Ohio are classed as felonies.

First-time OVI offenses in Ohio lead to:

  • Three days to six months in jail
  • $375 to $1,075 in fines
  • License suspension for 90 days (administrative) and one to three years (criminal)
  • May be able to apply for an ignition interlock device
  • May be able to attend a treatment program

A second OVI offense in Ohio results in:

  • 10 days to six months in jail
  • $525 to $1,625 in fines
  • License suspension for one year (administrative) and one to seven years (criminal)
  • Restricted license plates
  • May be able to apply for an IID
  • Mandatory alcohol and drug assessment and treatment

Third-time OVI offenders in Ohio are subject to:

  • 30 days to one year in jail
  • $850 to $2,750 in fines
  • License suspension for 180 days (administrative) or two to 12 years (criminal)
  • Restricted license plates
  • IID required for alcohol offense
  • Mandatory attendance in an alcohol and drug addiction program
  • Vehicle forfeiture if registered to violator

A fourth or fifth OVI offense within 10 years results in:

  • 60 days to one year in jail or 60 days and up to an additional six to 30 months in prison
  • $1,350 to $10,500 in fines
  • License suspension for three years (administrative) and three years to life (criminal)
  • Restricted license plates
  • IID required for alcohol offense
  • Mandatory attendance in an alcohol and drug addiction program
  • Vehicle forfeiture if registered to violator

Five or more OVI convictions within 20 years will have violators declared habitual offenders in Ohio. Habitual offenders are listed on the Habitual OVI Registry. Their name, birthday, address, and convictions are available to the public until the habitual offender has less than has five eligible convictions.


OVAUC penalties for underage drinkers in Ohio

Those under the age of 21 with a BAC over 0.02% are guilty of an OVAUC in Ohio.

The first OVAUC offense leads to:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to $250 in fines
  • License suspension for 90 days to two years
  • A restricted license and/or IID may be required
  • May be able to attend a treatment program

Two or more OVAUC offenses within one year of a prior offense result in:

  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • License suspension for one to five years
  • May be able to attend a treatment program

Sources and references:

https://www.ghmc.org/sites/default/files/pdfs/ovichart.pdf

https://www.dmv.org/oh-ohio/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/ohio.html

Compare rates today!

Don't forget to share!