Auto insurance requirements in Delaware
Driversin Delaware must carry car insurance coverage in order to be legal. Proof of insurance must also be carried, which must be shown at the request of law enforcement insurance. Have a look at Delaware’s required car insurance minimums below.
|Personal Injury Protection (PIP)|
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage in Delaware
PIP covers medical costs you or your passengers sustain in an accident. PIP will cover medical expenses such as hospital bills, rehabilitation costs, and even work loss resulting from an accident. One of the important things about this coverage is that you can use it regardless of who is at fault.
PIP will way up to $15,000 in medical expenses for any one person injured in your vehicle. The per accident limit is $30,000, meaning that PIP will only cover up to $30,000 total regardless of the number of passengers injured.
Delaware PIP coverage also includes up to $5,000 in funeral expenses.
Liability insurance coverage in Delaware
Liability coverage is legally required in Delaware. It pays for injury or lost wages incurred by another driver or their passengers in an accident that you cause. It also covers damage to the other driver’s vehicle. Each state determines the coverage limits, which are normally split into three categories: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage.
What are Delaware's state-mandated car insurance limits?
In short, the “limit” is the bare minimum amount of car insurance that you can carry in a state and still be considered legal. It is also the maximum amount that your car insurance company will pay out in a claim.The following numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Delaware, though keep in mind that higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.
In Delaware, the minimum liability coverage is 25/50/10 and explained below:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person is the upper limit of what your insurer will pay for a single person injured by you in a car accident.
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident refers to the maximum amount that your insurer will pay for all injuries that you cause in an accident when more than one person is harmed.
- $10,000 in property damage per accident is the maximum dollar amount an insurer will pay for property damage caused by you in an accident.
Minimum PIP limits are as follows:
- $15,000 in personal injury protection per person refers to the limit that your insurer will pay for a single person injured inside your vehicle, including the driver.
- $30,000 in personal injury protection per accident is the total amount your insurer will pay out for all injuries sustained inside your vehicle in an accident in which more than one person is hurt.
Do Delaware’s required minimums provide enough coverage?
Delaware’s minimum insurance requirements are about average for states in the United States. However, that does not mean that it provides all the coverage that you need. This is especially true with liability coverage. Bodily injury limits can be reached quickly with even moderate injuries, particularly if multiple people are involved. The $10,000 in property damage can also leave you exposed to risk, as that is barely a third of what it costs to purchase a new vehicle in the US.
For these reasons, it’s a good idea to increase your insurance limits in order to further protect yourself from risk. This can usually be done with a relatively small increase in your premium.
Delaware’s penalties for driving without proof of insurance
Car insurance is legally required by Delaware. Driving without insurance in Delaware can lead to:
- At least $1,500 in fines
- License suspension for six months
Each subsequent offense of driving while uninsured within three years of a prior offense in Delaware results in:
- At least $3,000 in fines
- License suspension for six months
Optional car insurance coverage in Delaware
Delaware requires both liability and PIP coverage for all drivers. However, there are a number of other options available that can extend your coverage.
- Comprehensive: Comprehensive insurance covers your vehicle against non-collision perils such as weather damage, theft, and hitting an animal.
- Collision: If you are involved in a collision with another driver or object (aside from animals), this coverage pays for physical damages to your vehicle.
- Loan/Lease Payoff: Often referred to as gap coverage, loan/lease payoff can be very helpful to those who total a vehicle they are financing. This coverage factors in your vehicle’s depreciation and covers the difference in the actual cash value and what you still owe on the loan.
- Rental Car Reimbursement: Many companies offer some form of reimbursement for rental cars should your own vehicle be rendered undrivable. Limits vary by company.
- Roadside Assistance: Most insurance companies provide an option for roadside assistance, which steps in to help cover common roadside issues such as towing, tire changes, and even lodging in some cases.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: Unfortunately, there are still drivers who get behind the wheel without carrying enough coverage insurance — or any at all. These coverages help in the event that an uninsured — or underinsured — driver causes an accident and is unable to pay your medical expenses.
Why adhering to Delaware’s car insurance requirements is important
On top of being a legal requirement, carrying the right amount of car insurance in Delaware can keep you and your assets protected from unnecessary risk. Most insurance experts would suggest adding coverage beyond these legal requirements to better protect your vehicle and to possiblyincrease your coverage for certain medical expenses. If you are concerned about how much these coverages will add to your overall total, it might be time to shop for a new policy.
The Zebra can help you compare quotes from a number of top insurance companies to find the right policy at the right price.