Missouri Car Insurance Laws
|Minimum Liability Coverage: 25/50/25||Uninsured Motorist Coverage|
|$25,000 bodily injury per person||$25,000 bodily injury per person|
|$50,000 bodily injury per accident||$50,000 bodily injury per accident|
|$25,000 property damage per accident|
Liability coverage in Missouri
Liability insurance covers those who are injured or who suffer damages in an accident caused by you. Liability insurance always pays the other driver. It never pays for your injuries or damage to your vehicle.
Bodily injury liability pays for medical expenses while property damage liability pays for the replacement of personal property damaged or destroyed in the accident.
What are Missouri's state-mandated car insurance limits?
Let’s start with the term limit. A state’s coverage limit — be it liability or otherwise — is the lowest coverage amount that you can carry in order to drive legally. These limits can most often be increased for a relatively small added premium.
The state of Missouri requires every driver to maintain a minimum amount of liability insurance in the amounts above (25/50/25). This is known as a split limit as it involves three separate limits. Liability limits are split on the basis of per person, per accident, and property damage.
Per person is the amount that will cover any single person that you injure in a car accident. This will cover multiple people up to the “per accident” limit.
Per accident is the total amount of bodily injuries caused by you that your insurance company will cover for any one accident. If you injure multiple people in an accident, this is the total amount that your insurance company will pay, though never paying over the “per person” limit for any one person.
Property damage per accident refers to the dollar amount that your insurer will cover for damage you caused to another’s property.
Why is uninsured motorist coverage important in Missouri?
Unfortunately, not everyone on the road carries insurance coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage steps in when you’ve been in an accident with such a driver. Should another driver not have insurance that can cover your medical bills, your uninsured coverage would go toward paying the expenses for any injuries you sustained in the accident. Missouri requires this coverage to prevent you from suffering a financial loss in the event you are in an accident with an uninsured driver.
Penalties for driving without proof of insurance in Missouri
Drivers who operate a motor vehicle without the proper auto insurance coverage can face steep penalties, including the loss of their driving privileges. Penalties for failure to show proof of insurance in Missouri are as follows:
- Four points will be added to your driving record
- Monitoring by the Missouri Department of Revenue to ensure you obtain coverage
- Suspension of driver's license
Of course, these penalties apply if you're pulled over while driving without insurance. If you were to cause an accident without car insurance, you would be on the line for any and all damages to the other driver.
Optional car insurance coverage in Missouri
Missouri law only requires you to carry the coverages listed above (liability and uninsured), though there are many other ways of protecting you and your investment. The following coverages can be a good idea to add to your insurance policy to add even more protection.
- Collision: Should you be in a collision with another driver or object (other than animals), this coverage will step in to repair your vehicle. This coverage, along with comprehensive, can sometimes be required if you are financing the vehicle.
- Comprehensive: When added alongside collision, this is typically referred to as “full coverage.” Like collision coverage, comprehensive insurance protects your vehicle in the event of non-collision damages. This can include perils such as hitting an animal, theft, and damages resulting from weather, such as floods or fallen trees.
- Roadside assistance: This can be a handy coverage should your car break down. It will typically cover the price of a tow to a nearby garage as well as some other perks.
- Medical payments: This covers medical costs for you and your passengers up to a specified amount.
Why adhering to Missouri's car insurance requirements is important
No one thinks they’ll cause a collision. However, all it takes is one distraction while behind the wheel to find yourself in such a situation. For this reason, insurance laws are in place in almost every state requiring at least a minimum amount of insurance coverage. In order to be properly protected in the event of an accident, it’s always worth expanding your coverage limits. Comparing car insurance quotes is a great way to find the right insurance policy at an affordable price.
Ready to save?
- Car Insurance with a DUI in Missouri
- Average Cost of Auto Insurance in Missouri
- Independence, MO Car Insurance
- Car Insurance for High-Risk Missouri Drivers
- Temporary Car Insurance in Missouri
- Car Insurance in Kansas City, MO
- Car Insurance in St. Louis, MO
- Car Insurance in Springfield, MO
- Car Insurance in Columbia, MO
About The Zebra
The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.
- The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
- The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
- The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
- The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.