Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Ava Lynch

Insurance Analyst

  • 7+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Ava joined The Zebra as a writer and licensed insurance agent in 2016. She now works as a senior insurance contributor, providing insights and data a…

Author profile picture

Kristine Lee

Insurance Analyst

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty
  • 4+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent who joined The Zebra in 2019 as an in-house content researcher and writer. Before joining The Zebra, she was a…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Missouri

If you have caused a car accident, filed an at-fault claim, or been given a citation for a serious moving violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Car insurance for drivers with bad records is typically expensive, but the price increases you face is dependent on your car insurance company, your driving history, and the state in which you reside.


What goes into car insurance prices for high-risk drivers in Missouri:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. Missouri driving laws


Car insurance after an at-fault accident in Missouri

If you are deemed responsible for an auto collision, you should expect your auto insurance rates to skyrocket. In Missouri, the mean insurance rate after an at-fault crash is $1,865, versus the national average of $2,012. A serious incident such as an at-fault collision will stay on your insurance record for as long as three years.


Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Missouri $1,865 $1,335 $530
National Average $2,012 $1,397 $615


The best auto insurance company following an at-fault accident in Missouri is Farm Bureau Town & Country. The company's average rate increase after a crash is $789, leading to a total price 42 percent less expensive than the average among all insurance companies. If you've been at-fault in an accident in Missouri, steer clear of State Farm and American Family, on the pricier end of the spectrum.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With an At-Fault Crash
Farm Bureau $1,076
GEICO $1,338
Allied $1,554
State Farm $1,555
American Family $1,760


What's the impact of a speeding ticket on car insurance in Missouri?

Among the violations that may earn drivers the "high-risk" designation is speeding. In Missouri, insurance costs go up by $312 per year after a speeding ticket, to an average yearly price of $1,647.


Location With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Missouri $1,647 $1,335 $312
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330


The best way to get affordable car insurance after getting a speeding ticket is to shop around and weigh your options. The cheapest auto insurance after a speeding citation in Missouri is available through GEICO. GEICO’s average premium after a citation is $708 less than the state typical. If you're caught speeding in Missouri, State Farm probably won't be your cheapest option.


Insurer Annual Premium After a Speeding Citation
GEICO $939
Farm Bureau $1,038
American Family $1,235
Allied $1,237
State Farm $1,433


How does a distracted driving ticket impact car insurance prices in Missouri?

If you receive a citation for distracted driving, expect your car insurance rates to rise. In Missouri, car insurance rates typically increase by $131 per year. That's a 10% increase from the average annual rate in Missouri, and 24% less than the national average cost of auto insurance after a distracted driving offense.


Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Missouri $1,466 $1,335 $131
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173


The best way to get cheap auto insurance after a distracted driving infraction is to compare different carriers. The most affordable car insurance company after being cited for distracted driving in Missouri is GEICO, with a typical rate of just $939 per year, 36% lower than the average distracted driving insurance premium among top insurers.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With Distracted Driving
GEICO $939
Farm Bureau $1,000
American Family $1,043
State Farm $1,139
Allied $1,237


Racing infractions and car insurance in Missouri

Racing is treated as an extremely serious infraction. Auto insurance carriers commonly penalize racing citations severely — in fact, Missouri auto insurance premiums increase by $752 per year following a citation for racing. That represents a 56% increase from the average annual car insurance premium in the Show-Me State.


Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Missouri $2,087 $1,335 $752
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000


If you've been pulled over for racing, do your due diligence and find the most affordable rates. In Missouri, look into rates from Farm Bureau Town & Country Insurance Company, with rates 41 percent cheaper than the state average after a racing citation.


Company Annual Rate With Racing
Farm Bureau $1,229
GEICO $1,640
State Farm $1,749
American Family $1,771
Progressive $2,029


Does a citation for reckless driving in Missouri raise car insurance rates?

As one of the most serious driving violations, reckless driving is a surefire way to end up paying more for car insurance. Auto insurance companies increase premiums by an average of $522 annually after a ticket for reckless driving. That's 39% more than the average car insurance rate in Missouri and 45% less than the national average price increase for a reckless driving violation.


Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Missouri $1,857 $1,335 $522
National Average $2,395 $1,397 $998


If you're looking for car insurance after a reckless driving ticket, compare a variety of companies to get the cheapest price. In Missouri, the most affordable car insurance company after reckless driving is Farm Bureau.


Company Annual Rate After Reckless Driving
Farm Bureau $1,038
GEICO $1,640
State Farm $1,749
American Family $1,771
Progressive $1,820


If you are seeking auto insurance as a high-risk driver, the best course of action is to shop around and find a policy that fits you.


Missouri driving laws

Missouri driving laws are in place to keep the roads safe. If you are a driver in Missouri, it pays to abide by these laws, as they protect you and help you avoid any potential legal penalties. Below you’ll find a rundown of some basic driving laws in Missouri.

Looking for info on insurance laws in Missouri? Check out our guide to MO insurance regulations.


Speeding in Missouri

When are you speeding in Missouri?

It can be easy to find yourself creeping up over the speed limit from time to time. Missouri's speeding laws are put in place to make sure that the roads stay safe for drivers and pedestrians alike. While local authorities can adapt speeding laws to better suit their particular areas, keeping these general guidelines in mind is a good place to start.

  • 70 mph on rural interstates and freeways
  • 65 mph on rural expressways
  • 60 mph on interstate highways, expressways, and freeways in urban areas
  • 60 mph on other roads, except state two-lane roads that are "lettered" and not located in an urban area
  • 55 mph on state two-lane roads that are "lettered"

Urban areas often have a much lower speed limit, so keep track of posted limits while driving in towns or other residential areas.


Penalties for speeding in Missouri

Missouri speeding violations are categorized in the following manner:

  • Five mph or less over the speed limit is considered an infraction.
  • 20 mph or more over the speed limit is considered a Class B misdemeanor
  • Violation of a basic speed rule resulting in an accident is considered a Class A misdemeanor
  • Driving at less than 40 mph on interstate highways is a class C misdemeanor
  • All other speed violations are considered Class C misdemeanors.

If you are found guilty of violating these laws, expect the following penalties to be applied:

  • Infraction – A fine of no more than $200.
  • Class A misdemeanor – No more than one year in prison and/or no more than $1,000 in fines.
  • Class B misdemeanor – No more than six months in prison and/or no more than $500 in fines.
  • Class C misdemeanor – Not more than 15 days in prison and/or not more than $300 in fines.
  • Unclassified Traffic Regulation Misdemeanor – No more than one year in prison and/or no less than $5 or more than $500 in fines.

Reckless driving in Missouri

What is reckless driving in Missouri?

Reckless driving can encompass a variety of different behaviors, including speeding more than 20 miles per hour over the posted limit. The state asks drivers to operate their vehicles in a “careful and prudent manner.” Any behavior that falls outside of this may be considered reckless.


Penalties for reckless driving in Missouri

If you are found guilty of reckless driving in Missouri, you can expect to be charged with a Class B misdemeanor with the following penalties:

  • Up to six months in prison
  • A fine of up to $500

However, if an accident occurs, that becomes a Class A misdemeanor, carrying the steeper penalties:

  • Up to one year in prison
  • A fine of up to $1,000


Distracted driving in Missouri

What is distracted driving in Missouri?

Many people struggle with distractions while driving. Everything from your phone to a song on the radio can take your attention away from the road. Typically distractions come in the following categories:

  • Physical: Taking your hands off the wheel, whether to change the radio station or reach for a coffee, can lead to a decrease in control.
  • Mental: Even thinking about what you might have for dinner could distract you long enough to cause an accident.
  • Visual: It can be tempting to watch what’s going on outside of your vehicle, but any action that takes your mind off the road can be dangerous.

Missouri is one of only three states which has not fully outlawed texting and driving, though there is a law in place banning drivers under the age of 21 from the practice.  


Penalties for distracted driving in Missouri

If a driver under the age of 21 is caught operating a vehicle while texting, they could face the following penalties:

  • A fine of $200
  • Two points added to the driver's record (which could eventually lead to a suspended license)


Racing in Missouri

What is racing in Missouri?

Illegal street racing is typically defined as two or more vehicles engaging in a speed contest in a public space. By nature, racing increases the chances of accidents and makes the streets less safe. The state of Missouri gives individual cities and towns the right to set ordinances that prohibit racing.


Penalties for racing in Missouri

If you are found guilty of racing in Missouri, you can expect the following penalties to apply:

  • Up to one year in prison
  • A fine of up to $1,000


At-fault accidents in Missouri

What is an at-fault accident in Missouri?

Missouri is considered an at-fault state, meaning that it is the responsibility of the at-fault driver (through their insurance) to cover losses. The at-fault driver’s insurance will cover damages up to the policy limits.

Liability insurance is required in Missouri. This coverage applies to harm caused to others by the policyholder. It covers medical expenses, property damage, and personal injury. Missouri requires all drivers to carry minimum liability in the following amounts:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 in total bodily injury coverage
  • $10,000 in property damage coverage

The above coverages are on a per accident basis and only apply to parties harmed by an accident that you cause. These can be increased to provide more protection. Keep in mind that your liability coverage never pays out for your injuries or property damage.

Penalties for at-fault accidents in Missouri

If you are at fault in an accident and have proper insurance coverage, you can expect your policy to kick in and take care of damages up to the policy’s limits. This can result in an increase in your annual premium. If you file claims often, you may find your insurance company more likely not to renew your policy or, in some extreme cases, they may drop you altogether.

Not only is driving without insurance unsafe, but it’s also illegal. If you are caught driving without proper coverage, you could face the following consequences:

  • Four points added to driving record
  • An “order of supervision” could be ordered to ensure the driver seeks coverage
  • Suspension of license

If the suspension occurs, you can expect to lose your license for the following durations:

  • 1st suspension: 0 days with a $20 reinstatement fee
  • 2nd suspension: 90 days with a $200 reinstatement fee
  • 3rd (or subsequent) suspension: one year with a $400 reinstatement fee

While the above penalties may seem steep, they pale in comparison to what you might face if you are at-fault in an accident and don’t have insurance. In that case, you would be personally liable for all damages.


DWI in Missouri

What is a DWI in Missouri?

In Missouri, DWI stands for “driving while intoxicated.” This most often refers to driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs that could inhibit your ability to operate a motor vehicle. Missouri has two sections of law governing DWI laws.

  • Criminal Law: This section of the law pertains to any tickets issued in relation to the alcohol offense. Points are assessed and added to your driving record, which could lead to a suspension of your license.
  • Administrative Law: This law specifically focuses on suspension or revocation of your license if you are found to be driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that is over the legal limit, which is .08% (the level is .02% for minors).

Penalties for a DWI in Missouri

First offense:

  • 90-day license suspension
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Possibility of ignition interlock device requirement

Second offense:

  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Ignition interlock device installed for six months

Third (or subsequent) offense:

  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • Up to four years in jail
  • Ignition interlock device installed for six months

If you are found guilty of multiple DWI infractions, you could have your license revoked. No matter how long it has been between offenses, a second offense automatically results in a one-year revocation. Two offenses within a five-year period could lead to a five-year denial of your license. Third or subsequent offenses can lead to a denial of your license for ten years.  



  • https://www.drivinglaws.org/resources/traffic-tickets/speed-violations/missouri-speeding-laws.htm
  • https://www.yourmechanic.com/article/missouri-speed-limits-laws-and-fines-by-valerie-mellema
  • http://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx
  • https://insurance.mo.gov/moeyesontheroad/
  • https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/missouri-car-insurance-requirements.html
  • https://dor.mo.gov
  • https://dui.drivinglaws.org/missouri.php
  • https://www.nwmissourinews.com/news/article_54338e60-ddcd-11e6-8da3-17b829c1ca6f.html

Compare rates today and save.

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Missouri

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Missouri? Ask one of our licensed agents!

Does car insurance cover trailers?

Great question! It would depend on the coverage on your policy, but the liability portion of your policy normally extends to cover injury or damage that was caused to someone else by your trailer. If your auto policy also includes comprehensive and collision (full) coverage then your trailer may al…
Jun 29, 2016 Independence, MO

If my girlfriend is moving in with me, should we get separate renters insurance policies?

Here is a good article on sharing renters insurance with a roommate. In my personal opinion, sharing a policy with any person who isn't a spouse is not a good idea. The amount of coverage on the policy is split in half and any claim made by the other party will also be attached to your insuran…
Apr 20, 2017 Lee's Summit, MO

Do I need personal or commercial auto insurance to tow my flatbed trailer and hauling machinery?

Even though your vehicle is used for personal use, your vehicle itself is made for business use. If you want it insured then you will need to get commercial insurance, especially if your son-in-law has an equipment company. 
Dec 22, 2020 Bolivar, MO

Can I add coverage after I've had an accident?

Unfortunately you cannot add collision coverage after an accident and then use that coverage for the accident; your coverage only becomes applicable for accidents that occur after you add the coverage - not before. The date of the accident is what they look at, not when you file the claim. At this …
Dec 23, 2017 Lee's Summit, Missouri

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.