Cheap Rhode Island Car Insurance

Compare rates from the best car insurance companies in Rhode Island.

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Rhode Island

Across the Ocean State, there are 13,520 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in Rhode Island?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1USAA$712
2State Farm$1,117
3Travelers$1,234
4Amica$1,482
5Progressive$1,514
6Quincy Mutual$1,611
7Peerless$1,750
8National Grange Mutual$2,073
9GEICO$2,468
10MetLife$2,529
11Nationwide$2,680
12Encompass$2,928
13Cal Casualty$2,997
14Liberty Mutual$3,013
15Allstate$3,089

Compare auto insurance prices today!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Rhode Island

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Rhode Island drivers without a recent at-fault accident typically save 31% on their car insurance premiums — nearly matching the 32% US average. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$47419.90%
No Accidents$88731.71%
Good Credit$1,66346.54%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Rhode Island

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Rhode Island, the typical teen driver pays $6,348 per year — approximately $1,400 more than the national average for teens, and more than three times as much as the average driver in Rhode Island.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$5,666$9,694
17$5,304$8,304
18$5,257$7,296
19$4,632$4,638

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Rhode Island

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 45% after a DUI, 31% after an at-fault accident, and 19% after a speeding ticket in Rhode Island. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in Rhode Island are slightly higher than nationwide averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$2,79731.71%
DUI$3,49545.36%
Speeding Violation$2,38419.90%
Bad Credit$3,57346.54%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in Rhode Island?

Every auto insurer highlights its cheap rates. But as with any product, the cheapest option is not always the best idea. Considering the financial stakes, it's worth doing the research to zero in on an insurance policy that will cover your car completely after an incident. Be on the lookout for a great value, rather than settling for the cheapest auto insurance you find.

Compare top insurance companies' fiscal strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service they'll provide. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Poor" to "Superior" — evaluates an insurer's financial stability and ability to meet its policy and contractual obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allstate3Superior
Amica4Superior
Cal CasualtyNot RatedExcellent
EncompassNot RatedSuperior
GEICO3Superior
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
MetLife3Superior
National Grange MutualNot RatedExcellent
Nationwide4Superior
Peerless3Excellent
Progressive3Superior
Quincy MutualNot RatedSuperior
State Farm3Superior
Travelers3Superior
USAA5Superior

 

Find the perfect policy for you!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

What is the Best Auto Insurance Coverage in Rhode Island?

The minimum required insurance in Rhode Island is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident.

For the legal minimum coverage in Rhode Island, you can expect to owe an average of $1,110 yearly. These rates are pricier than the nationwide mean by 69%. If you want better auto insurance coverage, you can select a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, protecting against damages caused by vehicular collisions, auto theft, or weather incidents. It's worth noting that better insurance coverage has a cost: in Rhode Island, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,833, 65% more than liability-only coverage. For comprehensive coverage with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 83% more than you would for liability-only insurance.

Examine average premiums for liability-only and comprehensive policy options below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
Rhode Island$1,110.43$1,833.46$2,027.42
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, the state minimum coverage requirement is liability with limits of:
  • Bodily Injury Liability $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Liability $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Rhode Island (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage

Liability coverage is legally required in Rhode Island and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Rhode Island, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $25,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Rhode Island but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

 

Rhode Island Car Insurance FAQs

Are digital insurance cards accepted in Rhode Island?

Yes. If you happen to find yourself pulled over by a police officer in Rhode Island you won't have to rifle through your glovebox wondering if you remembered to replace that expired insurance card last month. Instead, you can provide proof of coverage with your smartphone.

Do I need car insurance in Rhode Island?

Yes. You are required by law to carry auto insurance coverage in Rhode Island. 

Why is Rhode Island car insurance so expensive?

On average, Rhode Island auto insurance rates are 69% more expensive than the national average. This has to do with population density, claims history, the number of uninsured motorists, and individual rating factors that lead to premium increases.

How much does car insurance cost in Rhode Island cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Newport East, Rhode Island, and the most expensive in Providence, Rhode Island.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Providence$2,884
2Cranston$2,650
3Central Falls$2,561
4Pawtucket$2,487
5East Providence$2,346
6Warwick$2,175
7Greenville$2,174
8Harmony$2,076
9Chepachet$2,013
10Woonsocket$1,997
11Pascoag$1,959
12Harrisville$1,931
13Kingston$1,841
14Bradford$1,764
15Ashaway$1,753
16Hope Valley$1,750
17Tiverton$1,728
18Valley Falls$1,724
19Melville$1,632
20Cumberland Hill$1,627
21Newport$1,599
22Narragansett Pier$1,490
23Wakefield-Peacedale$1,484
24Westerly$1,463
25Newport East$1,349

Recent Rhode Island Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Should I file a claim if my car was side-swiped?

My car was side-swiped at 3:00 a.m. I was unable to get the license plate number of the other vehicle. ...

JUN 13, 2019
|
EXETER, RI
My tree damaged a neighbor’s swing set?

The limb of a tree in my yard fell into my neighbor’s yard damaging their swing set. Who should contact ...

SEP 26, 2018
|
PROVIDENCE, RI
Which insurance companies insure foreign licenses?

I’m staying in Rhode Island with a waiver visa and an international driving license. My friend will lend me his ...

JUL 26, 2018
|
NEWPORT, RI
I was in a zip car and got into a not-at-fault accident

My car rental was hit by a hit and run driver while parked. I got the plate he is insured ...

MAY 02, 2018
|
PROVIDENCE, RI

Driving Laws

Rhode Island Texting and Driving Laws

  1. Ban on hand-held cell phones
  2. Ban on text messaging for all drivers

Rhode Island DUI Laws

The lookback period for DUI in Rhode Island is five years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe may lead to harsher penalties and fines. Additionally, penalties are enhanced for a DUI leading to injury or death or in which a child under 13 years old was being transported.

First-time DUI offenses in Rhode Island in which the violator’s BAC was at least 0.08% but less than 0.10% lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $100 to $300 in fines
  • License suspension for 30 to 180 days
  • 10 to 60 hours of community service

How Do Tickets Impact Rhode Island Car Insurance Rates?

If you receive a ticket, your car insurance premiums may rise. By how much depends on the type of violation, your car insurance company's pricing standards, and differences in local insurance risks and regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

Below is a look at average car insurance rates in Rhode Island after some common violations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$4,10595%$1,995
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$3,97088%$1,860
DUI$3,97088%$1,860
Racing$3,89485%$1,784
Reckless Driving$3,76478%$1,653
Driving with a Suspended License$3,65173%$1,540
At-Fault Accident$2,66726%$557
Driving with an Open Container$3,39661%$1,285
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$2,84335%$732
Passing a School Bus$2,64625%$536
Improper Passing$2,64625%$536
Following Too Closely$2,50419%$393
Speeding$2,60023%$490
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$2,57322%$463
Illegal Turn$2,57322%$463
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$2,64625%$536
Failure to Yield$2,57322%$463
Speeding in a School Zone$2,54020%$430
Driving Too Slowly$2,54020%$430
Distracted Driving$2,50419%$393
Driving with Expired Registration$2,36012%$250
Failure to Show Documents$2,46017%$349
Not-at-Fault Accident$2,1391%$28
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$2,1190%$9
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$2,1391%$28
Driving Without Lights$2,1391%$28

Rhode Island Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Rhode Island area, while also getting an insider view of the Ocean State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destrination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.

Chevron left icon
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
Jul 28, 2017

Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...

Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Jun 09, 2017

  Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...

Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
May 19, 2017

You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...

Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Apr 03, 2017

A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...

Driverless Car Laws by State
Driverless Car Laws by State
Mar 16, 2017

While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...

How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
Mar 12, 2017

  With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...

What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Jan 27, 2017

If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...

The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
Dec 20, 2016

The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...

How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
Dec 13, 2016

Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...

What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
Nov 08, 2016

If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...

Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Nov 02, 2016

We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...

Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Sep 23, 2016

In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...

Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Aug 22, 2016

Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...

Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Aug 02, 2016

Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...

Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Aug 02, 2016

Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...

Chevron right icon