Louisiana Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you commit DUI in Louisiana, your auto insurance policy is going to get more expensive — it's just a question of by how much. Fortunately, Louisiana car insurance rates are relatively unaffected by a rap sheet of serious driving violations, compared to all other US states.


How will getting a DUI alter car insurance in Louisiana?

In Louisiana, a DUI offense will lift your annual car insurance cost by an average of $1,063. That’s 4% more than the U.S. mean rate increase after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN LOUISIANA — AVERAGE YEARLY PENALTY
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Louisiana$2,225.23$3,287.9847%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Getting car insurance in Louisiana after a DUI

Getting inexpensive car insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t an easy task. In fact, a DUI typically brings about a bigger rate increase than any other road violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Cheapest auto insurance after a DUI in Louisiana

If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in Louisiana, it’s important to examine each of your insurance choices thoroughly. Car insurance prices after a DUI often vary widely by company. For instance, the best cheap car insurance company after a DUI in Louisiana, Southern Farm Bureau, advertises annual rates 42% more affordable than the state mean insurance premium after a DUI. The second-cheapest company for car insurance after a DUI in Louisiana is Allstate, while the most expensive company is State Farm, at 52% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE COSTS WITH DUI IN LOUISIANA — BY INSURER
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
Southern Farm Bureau$1,915
Progressive$2,956
Allstate$3,189
GEICO$3,736
State Farm$4,997

There is no car insurance company in particular offering low-cost DUI car insurance. The best course of action to save money after a DUI violation is to assess your options.

Get rate info online or contact your insurance expert to weigh the choices and discover a relatively cheap plan.

Find out more about car insurance options with a DUI offense.


Compare rates and get coverage today!


Louisiana DUI laws

In Louisiana, DUI is also commonly referred to as DWI, or driving while impaired.

You are DWI in Louisiana when your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI when their BAC is 0.04% or higher. Those under the age of 21 are DWI in Louisiana if their BAC reads 0.02% or higher.


DWI penalties in Louisiana

The lookback period in Louisiana is 10 years. Repeated DWI offenses within this time period will result in harsher penalties and fines. First and second offenses are deemed misdemeanors. Subsequent offenses will be considered felonies.

Drivers whose BAC is 0.20% or higher are subject to enhanced fines and penalties as well.

A DWI leading to the death of another can result in the offender spending up to 30 years in prison, in addition to enhanced fines and penalties.

First-time DWI offenses in Louisiana lead to:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension for one year

A second DWI offense in Louisiana results in:

  • 48 hours to six months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension for two years
  • May be required to install and use an interlock ignition device for at least six months

Third-time DWI offenders in Louisiana are subject to:

  • Mandatory 30 days in jail
  • One to five years in prison
  • Up to $2000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension for three years
  • Vehicle forfeiture and seizure
  • Six weeks of inpatient and one year of outpatient substance abuse treatment
  • Possibility of home incarceration for the remainder of a sentence

A fourth DWI offense in Louisiana results in:

  • Mandatory 30 days in jail
  • Up to 30 years in prison
  • Up to five years of home incarceration
  • Up to $5,000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension for three years
  • Vehicle forfeiture and seizure
  • Six weeks of inpatient and one year of outpatient substance abuse treatment

Courts may also ask DWI offenders to undergo substance abuse treatment, attend driver improvement programs, or perform community service.


DWI rules for underage drinkers in Louisiana

Louisiana is a zero-tolerance state for DWI. Those under 21 years old with a BAC reading between 0.02% and less than 0.08% are guilty of an underage DWI in Louisiana. Those whose BAC is 0.08% or higher are subject to the same fines and penalties as an adult.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Be fined between $100 and $250
  • Receive a one-year license suspension
  • Must complete a driver improvement program and substance abuse program

Two or more underage DUI offenses lead to:

  • 10 days to three months in jail
  • Fines between $150 and $500
  • Receive a one-year license suspension

Sources and references:

http://web01.dps.louisiana.gov/DPSForms.nsf/8bad5589175b8981862575f20048ee65/5402fbe0178e092686257c1a005ff1cb/$FILE/Guide%202017.pdf

https://dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov/omv1.nsf/58c968bd569b099986256cdc000806eb/88579a76dd8d26ac862564b600470c37?OpenDocument

https://www.dmv.org/la-louisiana/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/louisiana.html

http://www.lafayetteowilawyer.com/louisianaowifirstoffense/louisianaunder21owi/

Don't forget to share!