Cheap Delaware Car Insurance

Compare the best rates from 9 car insurance companies in Delaware.

Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Delaware

Across the First State, there are 13,613 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in Delaware?
Rank Company Name Avg. Annual Premium
1 USAA $760
2 Travelers $1,073
3 Nationwide $1,267
4 Atlantic States $1,305
5 Cal Casualty $1,319
6 Titan $1,358
7 GEICO $1,518
8 Donegal Mutual $1,528
9 National Grange Mutual $1,548
10 MetLife $1,710
11 Progressive $1,799
12 State Farm $1,927
13 Encompass $2,009
14 Allstate $2,863
15 Sentry $3,662
16 Liberty Mutual $6,343

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Delaware

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Delaware drivers without a recent at-fault accident save 35% on their car insurance, on average — above the national average of 32%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor $ Savings % Savings
No Traffic Tickets $378 18.44%
No Accidents $910 35.27%
Good Credit $1,556 48.23%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Delaware

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Delaware, one of the most expensive states for teen drivers, the typical teenager pays $6,683 per year — about $1,700 more than the national annual average.

Age Annual Rate with Parents Annual Rate Alone
16 $7,311 $8,357
17 $7,065 $7,094
18 $7,188 $6,232
19 $5,943 $4,276

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Delaware

If you have no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, or DUIs, you can save money on car insurance. As insurance companies use your driving record as a way to predict the level of risk you present, keeping your driving record clean will lead to lower premiums. It's especially important to avoid at-fault accidents, speeding tickets and DUI citations in Delaware, where insurance penalties are larger than in other states. In fact, a single speeding ticket could raise your car insurance rates by 18% in the Diamond State.

Rating Factor Annual Rate % Increase
At-Fault Accident $2,580 35.27%
DUI $2,944 43.27%
Speeding Violation $2,048 18.44%
Bad Credit $3,226 48.23%

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Delaware

In Delaware, state minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
Liability
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $10,000 per accident
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • $15,000 per person
  • $30,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Delaware (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury

Liability coverage is legally required in Delaware and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Delaware, the minimum is listed as 25/50/10 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $10,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

Personal Injury Protection provides coverage for medical costs that you and your passengers incur in an accident regardless of fault. PIP will cover medical expenses such as hospital bills, rehabilitation costs, and even work loss resulting from an accident. In Delaware, minimum PIP coverage is explained below:

  • $15,000 Personal Injury Protection per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person injured inside your vehicle, including the driver regardless of fault.
  • $30,000 Personal Injury Protection per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for injuries suffered inside your vehicle during an accident if more than one person is hurt, regardless of fault.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Delaware but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

Car Insurance FAQs

Are digital insurance cards accepted in Delaware?

Yes. If you happen to find yourself pulled over by a police officer in Delaware you won't have to rifle through your glovebox wondering if you remembered to replace that expired insurance card last month. Instead, you can provide proof of coverage with your smartphone.

Do I need uninsured motorist coverage in Delaware?

11% of motorists are uninsured in Delaware — below the national average of 13%. It's not a bad idea to purchase uninsured motorist coverage in Delaware to avoid costs if you get into an accident.

How much does car insurance cost in Delaware cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Millsboro, Delaware, and the most expensive in Wilmington, Delaware.

Rank City Avg. Annual Premium
1 Wilmington $2,292
2 Wilmington Manor $2,213
3 Brookside $2,164
4 New Castle $2,162
5 Edgemoor $2,141
6 Middletown $2,111
7 Newark $2,044
8 Bear $2,041
9 Claymont $2,028
10 Elsmere $2,008
11 Hockessin $1,961
12 Pike Creek $1,941
13 Smyrna $1,799
14 Dover $1,642
15 Highland Acres $1,640
16 Camden $1,639
17 Seaford $1,639
18 Milford $1,634
19 Harrington $1,627
20 Laurel $1,618
21 Georgetown $1,567
22 Millsboro $1,547

Recent Delaware Car Insurance Questions and Answers

When filling out quotes, do I have to disclose an accident that my friend had while driving my car?

A friend of mine got into an accident in my car while it was not insured. I’m currently looking for ...

OCT 04, 2017
Do I need insurance coverage for my new scooter?

I recently bought a Vespa and I’m still in the process of learning to ride it. It has a 150 ...

APR 13, 2017

Driving Laws

Delaware Texting and Driving Laws

  • Ban on hand-held cell phones
  • Ban on all cell phones for school bus drivers and Learner or Intermediate Licenses
  • Ban on text messaging for all drivers

Delaware DUI Laws

The Delaware lookback period is 10 years for a second offense. For third and subsequent offenses, the lookback period extends to consider all past DUI convictions.

All offenders are subject to longer license revocation periods based on their BAC reading at the time of arrest.

First-time DUI offenders in Delaware are subject to:

  • Up to six months in jail $500 to $1,500 in fines (double for minors)
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • License revocation for one to two years
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

Are Vehicle Inspections Really About Safety?
Are Vehicle Inspections Really About Safety?
Jul 18, 2016

The world of automotive regulations is quite complicated. For instance, each state makes and maintains its own regulations for auto...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...

What is PIP Insurance and Do You Really Need It?
What is PIP Insurance and Do You Really Need It?
Nov 16, 2015

Commonly called PIP for short, personal injury protection insurance protects you against—you guessed it—personal injury. If you get in an...

Texting and Driving and Car Insurance! Oh My!
Texting and Driving and Car Insurance! Oh My!
Nov 05, 2015

That texting and driving is dangerous isn’t news to anyone—the dangers of distracted driving are well documented, and texting is...

The 10 Most Car-Friendly Colleges in the U.S.
The 10 Most Car-Friendly Colleges in the U.S.
Aug 17, 2015

As we’ve detailed before, and as any driver already knows, car ownership is expensive. The annual cost to own and...

Delaware Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Delaware area, while also getting an insider view of the First State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destrination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2018

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2019

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.

Click here to learn more