Cheap New Mexico Car Insurance

Compare the best rates from 10 car insurance companies in New Mexico.

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in New Mexico

Across the Land of Enchantment, there are 142,940 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in New Mexico?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1USAA$670
2Allied$939
3Safeco$994
4Farm Bureau Mutual$1,190
5Farmers$1,289
6Dairyland$1,320
7State Farm$1,323
8The Hartford$1,339
9Central Mutual$1,341
10Progressive$1,520
11Travelers$1,553
12Cal Casualty$1,607
13GEICO$1,608
14MetLife$1,610
15Encompass$1,677
16Allstate$2,361
17Liberty Mutual$2,504
18Sentry$3,145

Compare car insurance rates!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in New Mexico

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. New Mexico drivers without a recent moving violation can save 15% on their car insurance premiums, on average — compared to the national average of 17%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$24715.78%
No Accidents$65533.19%
Good Credit$87940.01%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in New Mexico

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In New Mexico, the typical teen driver pays $4,996 per year, which aligns closely with the national average for all teen drivers.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$5,147$6,861
17$4,920$6,028
18$4,636$5,093
19$4,144$3,144

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in New Mexico

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably pay less for car insurance. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 34% after a DUI, 33% after an at-fault accident, and 15% after a speeding ticket in New Mexico. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies after DUI violations and at-fault accidents in New Mexico align with nationwide averages, but drivers enjoy lower-than-average rate hikes after speeding tickets. If you have a clean driving record, be sure to check for good-driving discounts from your insurer.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$1,97233.19%
DUI$2,01734.68%
Speeding Violation$1,56415.78%
Bad Credit$2,19640.01%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in New Mexico?

Each car insurer emphasizes its low premiums. But as with any product or service, the cheapest car insurance isn't always the best choice. Considering the financial stakes, it's worth doing your homework to find an auto policy that will cover your car completely after an incident. Hunt for the best value, instead of settling for the cheapest auto insurance you can find.

Compare major auto insurance companies' financial strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better predict the quality of service you'll receive. Claims satisfaction — assigned by J.D. Power — is rated on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Superior" to "Poor" — assesses an insurer's financial strength and ability to meet its contractual and policy obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allstate3Superior
Cal CasualtyNot RatedExcellent
Central MutualNot RatedExcellent
EncompassNot RatedSuperior
Farmers3Excellent
GEICO3Superior
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
MetLife3Superior
Progressive3Superior
Safeco3Excellent
SentryNot RatedSuperior
State Farm3Superior
The Hartford4Excellent
Travelers3Superior
USAA5Superior

 

Find a policy now!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

What is the Best Car Insurance Coverage in New Mexico?

The minimum required insurance level in New Mexico is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $10,000 Property Damage per accident.

For the legal minimum coverage level in New Mexico, expect to pay an average of $609 each year. This average cost is cheaper than the U.S. average by 7%. If you opt for better coverage, you can purchase a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against damages caused by car collisions, theft, vandalism, or weather incidents. Better auto insurance comes at a cost: in New Mexico, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible runs $1,188, 95% more than liability-only coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 119% more than you might for a liability-only policy.

Compare usual premiums for basic, better, and best coverage levels below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
New Mexico$609.20$1,188.40$1,333.94
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in New Mexico

In New Mexico, the state minimum coverage requirement is liability with limits of:
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $10,000 per accident
Optional coverage in New Mexico (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage

Liability coverage is legally required in New Mexico and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In New Mexico, the minimum is listed as 25/50/10 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $10,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in New Mexico but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

New Mexico Car Insurance FAQs

Is New Mexico a no-fault state for car insurance?

No. New Mexico is an at-fault state, meaning all drivers are responsible for any damage they cause.

Do you need car liability insurance in New Mexico?

Yes. Car insurance is a legal requirement in New Mexico if you have a vehicle registered and parked on public streets.

What car insurance is needed in New Mexico?

You need to maintain at least the state's minimum requirements of 25/50/10 coverage. If you have a loan or lease on the vehicle, you may need to purchase additional coverage.

How much does car insurance cost in New Mexico cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Alamogordo, New Mexico, and the most expensive in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Albuquerque$1,567
2Espanola$1,431
3Hobbs$1,429
4Rio Rancho$1,429
5Lovington$1,417
6Carlsbad$1,389
7Santa Fe$1,382
8Roswell$1,365
9South Valley$1,363
10Las Vegas$1,358
11Artesia$1,344
12Chaparral$1,304
13North Valley$1,303
14Los Alamos$1,296
15Los Lunas$1,276
16Sunland Park$1,274
17Gallup$1,257
18Anthony$1,253
19Portales$1,249
20Farmington$1,222
21Las Cruces$1,220
22Silver City$1,214
23Deming$1,176
24Clovis$1,157
25Alamogordo$1,147

Recent New Mexico Car Insurance Questions and Answers


Driving Laws

New Mexico Texting and Driving Laws

  1. Ban on hand-held cell phones in State vehicles
  2. Ban on all cell phones for drivers with Permit or Provisional Licenses
  3. Ban on text messaging for all drivers

New Mexico DUI Laws

There is a 10-year lookback period in New Mexico. Multiple DWI offenses in this timeframe result in longer and harsher penalties.

The first three DWI offenses in New Mexico are misdemeanors. Any DWI offenses after the third are considered felonies.

In addition, it is possible to commit an “aggravated DWI” in New Mexico. If a driver’s BAC is 0.16% or higher, additional mandatory jail time will be added to their sentence.

First-time DWI offenses in New Mexico lead to:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • License revocation for six months to one year
  • Must install and use an ignition interlock device for one year
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in DWI school
  • Mandatory 24 hours of community service
  • Possibility of a discretionary $300 fine
  • Possible requirement to submit to treatment

How Do Tickets Impact New Mexico Auto Insurance Rates?

If you get a ticket, your car insurance rates will probably rise. By how much depends on the severity of the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance risks and regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

Below is a snapshot of average car insurance rates in New Mexico after a few common violations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$2,23966%$887
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$2,05452%$703
DUI$2,05452%$703
Racing$1,96645%$615
Reckless Driving$2,02850%$676
Driving with a Suspended License$1,92943%$578
At-Fault Accident$1,92743%$575
Driving with an Open Container$1,59818%$246
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$1,71727%$365
Passing a School Bus$1,71227%$361
Improper Passing$1,68425%$332
Following Too Closely$1,68425%$332
Speeding$1,61519%$263
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$1,68425%$332
Illegal Turn$1,68525%$334
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$1,68425%$332
Failure to Yield$1,68425%$332
Speeding in a School Zone$1,64922%$297
Driving Too Slowly$1,64822%$296
Distracted Driving$1,66323%$312
Driving with Expired Registration$1,4709%$119
Failure to Show Documents$1,4709%$119
Not-at-Fault Accident$1,4809%$128
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$1,4709%$119
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$1,4709%$119
Driving Without Lights$1,4406%$88

New Mexico Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the New Mexico area, while also getting an insider view of the Land of Enchantment.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.

Chevron left icon
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
Jul 28, 2017

Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...

Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Jun 09, 2017

  Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...

Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
May 19, 2017

You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...

Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Apr 03, 2017

A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...

Driverless Car Laws by State
Driverless Car Laws by State
Mar 16, 2017

While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...

How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
Mar 12, 2017

  With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...

What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Jan 27, 2017

If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...

The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
Dec 20, 2016

The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...

How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
Dec 13, 2016

Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...

What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
Nov 08, 2016

If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...

Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Nov 02, 2016

We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...

Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Sep 23, 2016

In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...

Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Aug 22, 2016

Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...

Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Aug 02, 2016

Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...

Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Aug 02, 2016

Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...

Chevron right icon