Texas Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are found guilty of DUI in Texas, your auto insurance is going to get pricier — it's only a matter of by how much. Fortunately, Texas car insurance costs are comparatively unaffected by your DUI history, compared against all US states.


Need affordable insurance after a DUI? Shop today!


How does being convicted of DUI alter car insurance in Texas?

In Texas, a DUI conviction will boost your yearly auto insurance cost by an average of $666. That’s 53% less than the national average rate increase after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN TEXAS — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Texas $1,809.62 $2,475.73 36%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Finding car insurance in Texas with a DUI violation

Finding inexpensive car coverage after a DUI conviction isn’t straightforward. In fact, a DUI typically leads to a greater cost increase than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. Texas is a somewhat benign place in which to perpetrate a DUI: its insurance rate raises are some of the nation's lowest.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Texas

If you've been convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Texas, it’s important to assess your insurance choices with care. Car insurance rates in the wake of a DUI can vary substantially by company. For example, the cheapest car insurance company after a DUI in Texas, Texas Farm Bureau, provides yearly rates 38% less than the state mean insurance premium with a DUI. The next-most affordable choice for auto insurance after a DUI in Texas is USAA, while the most expensive firm is Home State, with prices 131% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE PRICES WITH DUI IN TEXAS — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Texas Farm Bureau $1,524
USAA $1,833
State Farm $2,179
GEICO $2,367
Progressive $2,735
Allstate $3,267
Home State $5,718

There’s no car insurance company in particular that offers low-cost DUI car insurance. The best course of action to save in the wake of a DUI citation is to shop around.

Get quotes online or contact an insurance expert to weigh your choices and find a suitable policy.

Read more about auto insurance with a DUI conviction.


Find DUI car insurance today!


DWI penalties in Texas

There is no maximum DWI lookback period in Texas. Instead, all prior DWI convictions are taken into account when an impaired driver is sentenced for a DWI offense.

Penalties are enhanced when charged with DWI if a passenger under 15 years old is present.

First-time DWI offenses in Texas lead to:

  • Three to 180 days in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year
  • Possible requirement to attend a DWI Education Program
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

A second DWI offense in Texas results in:

  • One month to one year in jail
  • Up to $4,000 in fines
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • Annual fee of $1,000 to $2,000 for three years to retain license
  • Possible requirement to attend a DWI Intervention Program
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID

Third-time DWI offenders in Texas are subject to:

  • Two to 10 years in prison
  • $10,000 in fines
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • Annual fee of $1,000 to $2,000 for three years to retain license
  • Possible requirement to attend a DWI Intervention Program
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID

DWI penalties for underage drinkers in Texas

Anyone under the age of 21 is considered a minor in Texas. Minors guilty of a DWI face penalties for repeated DWI offenses.

For a first-time underage DWI, offenders will:

  • Be fined up to $500
  • Perform 20 to 40 hours of community service
  • Receive a 30-day license suspension

A second underage DWI offense leads to:

  • Up to $500 in fines
  • 40 to 60 hours of community service
  • License suspension for 60 days

A third underage DWI offense in Texas results in:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • $500 to $2,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 180 days

Sources and references:

https://www.txdot.gov/inside-txdot/division/traffic/safety/sober-safe/intoxication.html

https://www.dmv.org/tx-texas/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/texas.html

Don't forget to share!