Illinois Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you happen to get a DUI in the state of Illinois, your auto insurance will get more expensive — it's just a question of how much you'll end up paying. In fact, Illinois car insurance premiums are influenced greatly by a motorist's history of serious driving violations, versus all other US states.


How does a DUI affect car insurance in Illinois?

In Illinois, a DUI violation will raise your annual car insurance cost by a mean value of $1,416. That’s 28% more than the national average rate hike after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN ILLINOIS — AVERAGE YEARLY PENALTY
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Illinois$1,119.87$2,535.73126%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Shopping for car insurance coverage in Illinois after a DUI

Finding cheap auto coverage with a DUI violation isn’t straightforward. In fact, a DUI often brings about a greater cost increase than does any other driving transgression — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. Illinois is an exceedingly unfortunate place in which to be convicted of a DUI: its insurance price hikes are some of the nation's harshest.


Best auto insurance with a DUI in Illinois

If you've been convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Illinois, it’s crucial to consider all possible insurance choices with care. Car insurance premiums following a DUI may vary widely by company. For instance, the cheapest auto insurance company after a DUI in Illinois, GEICO, offers annual premiums 45% less than the state mean insurance rate after a DUI. The second-cheapest choice for car insurance with a DUI in Illinois is Progressive, while the most expensive company is Country, with prices 1% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE PRICES WITH DUI IN ILLINOIS — BY COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
GEICO$1,405
Progressive$1,537
Farmers$1,837
American Family$2,019
State Farm$2,080
Allstate$2,375
Country Financial$2,557

There is no car insurance company specifically that offers affordable DUI auto insurance. The recommended way to save money after a DUI conviction is to look at multiple options.

Find quotes through The Zebra or contact an insurance professional to assess your choices and find a cost-effective option.

Read more about car insurance options with a DUI offense.


Compare rates and find a great deal on car insurance today!


Illinois DUI laws

Illinois considers a driver DUI when their blood alcohol concentration reads 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter limit of 0.04% or higher. Those under 21 years old are not permitted to have any measurable BAC.

Illinois may also consider drivers with a BAC of 0.05% to be DUI if they display other signs of impairment and unsafe driving.


DUI penalties in Illinois

In Illinois, the first two DUI convictions are considered misdemeanors. Third and subsequent DUIs are felony offenses. A DUI may also be deemed a felony if it's committed while transporting passengers for-hire, the violator does not have a license or insurance, or leads to injury or death, as well as other similar situations.

Penalties are also increased for violators whose BAC is 0.16% or higher or if transporting a child under 16 years old.

There is a lifetime lookback period in Illinois, so subsequent DUI offenses are much more severe.

First-time DUI offenses in Illinois lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,500 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Possible requirement to perform community service
  • Attendance in a drug and alcohol program
  • Vehicle registration revocation

A second DUI offense in Illinois results in:

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,500 in fines
  • License revocation for a minimum of five years
  • Possible requirement to perform 240 hours of community service
  • Attendance in a drug and alcohol program
  • Vehicle registration revocation

Third-time DUI offenders in Illinois are subject to:

  • 18 to 30 months of mandatory periodic imprisonment and up to seven years in jail
  • Up to $25,000 in fines
  • License revocation for a minimum of 10 years
  • Attendance in a drug and alcohol program
  • Vehicle registration revocation

Aggravated DUI in Illinois

A DUI that leads to an accident in which someone is dealt “great bodily harm” or permanently disfigured is a class four felony. Penalties for an aggravated DUI in Illinois are:

  • 10 days to 12 years in jail
  • Up to $25,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Possible requirement to perform 480 hours of community service

DUI penalties for young drivers in Illinois

Illinois is a zero-tolerance state. Those under 21 years old are considered DUI if driving with any readable BAC. As with those over 21, the first two DUI convictions are considered misdemeanors in Illinois. Third and subsequent offenses are felonies.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Be jailed for up to one year
  • Pay fines of up to $2,500
  • Receive a license revocation for a minimum of two years
  • May be required to attend an alcohol education program

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,500 in fines
  • Five-year license revocation
  • Possible requirement to perform 240 hours of community service
  • May be required to attend an alcohol education program

A third underage DUI offense in Illinois results in:

  • 18 to 30 months of mandatory periodic and up to seven years in jail
  • Up to $25,000 in fines
  • Ten-year license revocation

Sources and references:

https://www.isp.state.il.us/traffic/drnkdriving.cfm

https://www.dmv.org/il-illinois/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/publications/pdf_publications/dsd_a118.pdf

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/illinois.html

Don't forget to share!