Cheap West Virginia Car Insurance

Compare the best rates from 3 car insurance companies in West Virginia.

or
Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in West Virginia

Across the Mountain State, there are 79,144 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in West Virginia?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1Erie$922
2The Hartford$1,039
3State Auto$1,241
4Westfield$1,288
5USAA$1,300
6Progressive$1,509
7State Farm$1,523
8Nationwide$1,567
9Encompass$1,604
10GEICO$1,710
11Motorists Mutual$1,768
12Safeco$1,785
13Cal Casualty$1,824
14Dairyland$2,188
15Allstate$2,276
16Liberty Mutual$3,243
17Sentry$3,884

Compare quotes now!

or
Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in West Virginia

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. West Virginia drivers without a recent at-fault accident can save 34% on their car insurance premiums, on average — just a bit better than the 32% US average. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$28717.19%
No Accidents$72334.37%
Good Credit$1,04943.15%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in West Virginia

Young drivers — aged between 16 and 25 — pay very high car insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In West Virginia, the average teen driver pays $5,366 — approximately $400 per year more than the nationwide average and approximately three times more than an older West Virginia driver.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$5,828$6,342
17$5,608$5,835
18$5,734$5,169
19$4,909$3,510

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in West Virginia

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 37% after a DUI, 34% after an at-fault accident, and 17% after a speeding ticket in West Virginia. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in the Mountain State are similar to nationwide averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$2,10534.37%
DUI$2,22737.96%
Speeding Violation$1,66817.19%
Bad Credit$2,43043.15%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in West Virginia?

Each car insurance company boasts about its low costs. But just like with any product or service, the cheapest auto insurance isn't always the best choice. Considering the financial stakes, it's worth doing the research to purchase an auto insurance policy that covers your vehicle completely in the event of an incident. Work to find a great value, rather than settling for the cheapest car insurance available.

Compare top auto insurance companies' fiscal strength and claims satisfaction levels to better predict the level of service you will receive. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and varying from "Poor" to "Superior" — assesses an insurance company's financial strength and ability to meet its policy and contractual obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allstate3Superior
Cal CasualtyNot RatedExcellent
EncompassNot RatedSuperior
Erie5Superior
GEICO3Superior
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
Motorists MutualNot RatedExcellent
Nationwide4Superior
Progressive3Superior
Safeco3Excellent
State Farm3Superior
State AutoNot RatedExcellent
The Hartford4Excellent
USAA5Superior
WestfieldNot RatedExcellent

 

Compare auto insurance prices today!

or
Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

What is the Best Auto Insurance Coverage in West Virginia?

The legal auto insurance minimum in West Virginia is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident.

If you choose the minimum coverage level in West Virginia, expect to pay an average of $604 annually. This is cheaper than the nationwide average by 8%. If you choose more comprehensive coverage, you can purchase a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, protecting against damages caused by car crashes, theft, or weather incidents. It's worth noting that better insurance coverage comes at a price: in West Virginia, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,202, 99% more than basic insurance coverage. For comprehensive coverage with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 130% more than you would for basic coverage.

Compare usual expenditures for basic, better, and best car insurance levels below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
West Virginia$604.36$1,202.27$1,390.17
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in West Virginia

In West Virginia, the state minimum coverage requirement is liability with limits of:
  • Bodily Injury Liability $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Liability $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in West Virginia (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage

Liability coverage is legally required in West Virginia and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In West Virginia, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $25,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in West Virginia but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

Car Insurance FAQs

Why is car insurance so expensive in West Virginia?

Car insurance costs in West Virginia are actually slightly below the national average. Your individual premium might be high because of individual features related to your driving profile. Shop around and compare rates to find a more competitive price. 

How much does car insurance cost in West Virginia?

On average, state minimum car insurance coverage costs $604 per year in West Virginia. Full coverage costs an average of $1,390 per year.

Do you need car insurance in West Virginia?

Yes. Car insurance is required by law in West Virginia.

How much does car insurance cost in West Virginia cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Martinsburg, West Virginia, and the most expensive in Huntington, West Virginia.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Huntington$1,391
2Beckley$1,386
3Dunbar$1,376
4Charleston$1,376
5St. Albans$1,375
6Cross Lanes$1,370
7Oak Hill$1,362
8Elkins$1,356
9Princeton$1,352
10Pea Ridge$1,349
11Bluefield$1,342
12Nitro$1,338
13South Charleston$1,324
14Bridgeport$1,323
15Teays Valley$1,322
16Vienna$1,322
17Parkersburg$1,316
18Weirton$1,315
19Clarksburg$1,307
20Fairmont$1,294
21Moundsville$1,293
22Morgantown$1,289
23Wheeling$1,265
24Cheat Lake$1,263
25Martinsburg$1,190

Recent West Virginia Car Insurance Questions and Answers

If I buy a vehicle privately will my current auto policy cover this vehicle while driving it home?

Most insurance companies give you 14 days to update the policy with the new vehicle and will cover the new vehicle for those 14 days. Every company is different so make sure to check with your insurance company to for the exact information.

My motorcycle wasn't covered in a non-fault accident

Unfortunately, there usually isn't any coverage provided for contents when you tow something - only for the entity with which you are towing. Meaning, while the trailer would have physical protection extended to it, the contents you were towing would need to be covered by something else.

At-fault driver lied about having insurance

I would contact the police and let them know the insurance information provided is invalid. Give them all the information you have available to you; the other driver's license plate, police report, all photos of the incident, etc.

How long into getting a new policy can I file a claim?

As long as the problems began after you started your policy, you can file a claim immediately. The statute of limitations in West Virginia is two years for property damage.


Driving Laws

West Virginia Texting and Driving Laws

  1. Ban on hand-held cell phones
  2. Ban on all cell phones for drivers <18 years old with Learner or Intermediate Licenses
  3. Ban on text messaging for all drivers

West Virginia DUI Laws

The DUI lookback period in West Virginia is 10 years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe subject offenders to harsher penalties. Penalties are also enhanced for DUI offenders whose BAC is 0.15% or higher, for a DUI with a minor passenger, or for DUI leading to injury or death.

First-time DUI offenses in West Virginia lead to:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • $100 to $500 in fines
  • License revocation for 90 days
  • May require the installation and use of an interlock ignition device

How Do Tickets Impact Auto Insurance Rates in West Virginia?

If you get a ticket, your auto insurance costs may rise. How much your rates rise depends on the violation's severity, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance regulations and risks. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

See below average car insurance rates in West Virginia after some common violations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$2,51077%$1,090
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$2,49476%$1,074
DUI$2,49476%$1,074
Racing$2,42771%$1,007
Reckless Driving$2,29161%$871
Driving with a Suspended License$2,32564%$905
At-Fault Accident$2,12049%$700
Driving with an Open Container$1,86631%$446
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$1,96839%$548
Passing a School Bus$2,03043%$610
Improper Passing$1,66017%$240
Following Too Closely$1,66017%$240
Speeding$1,65817%$238
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$1,66017%$240
Illegal Turn$1,66017%$240
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$1,66017%$240
Failure to Yield$1,66017%$240
Speeding in a School Zone$1,62815%$208
Driving Too Slowly$1,62815%$208
Distracted Driving$1,64816%$228
Driving with Expired Registration$1,4321%$12
Failure to Show Documents$1,4321%$12
Not-at-Fault Accident$1,4975%$77
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$1,4200%$0
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$1,4200%$0
Driving Without Lights$1,4200%$0

West Virginia Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in West Virginia, while also getting an insider view of the Mountain State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.