Arizona Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are found guilty of DUI in Arizona, your car insurance is going to grow more expensive — it's just a matter of by how much. Arizona car insurance rates are impacted substantially by a motorist's rap sheet of serious driving violations, compared to all other US states.


In what way will a DUI impact auto insurance in Arizona?

In Arizona, a DUI conviction will increase your yearly car insurance rate by a mean of $1,634. That’s 38% more than the national average rate hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN ARIZONA — MEAN ANNUAL PENALTY
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Arizona$1,247,06$2,881.43131%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Shopping for car insurance in Arizona with a DUI

Purchasing inexpensive auto coverage in the wake of a DUI conviction is anything but simple. In fact, a DUI usually triggers a larger rate hike than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. Arizona is an especially bad state in which to rack up a DUI: its insurance price hikes are some of the nation's most severe.


Cheapest car insurance with a DUI in Arizona

If you're convicted of a driving under the influence offense in Arizona, it’s crucial to consider your insurance options with care. Auto insurance rates after a DUI can fluctuate greatly by insurer. For example, the most affordable car insurance company after a DUI in Arizona, Progressive, offers yearly premiums 44% more affordable than the state average insurance premium after a DUI. The second-most affordable option for car insurance with a DUI in Arizona is Farmers, while the most expensive company is GEICO, with prices 269% above average.


AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS WITH DUI IN ARIZONA — BY COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
Progressive$1,602.48
Farmers$2,080.58
USAA$2,212.43
American Family$2,312.17
Allstate$2,580.06
State Farm$2,917.53
GEICO$10,634.38

There is no auto insurance company specifically offering affordable DUI auto insurance. The recommended course of action to limit your losses after a DUI violation is to assess your options.

Find quotes online or contact an insurance expert to weigh the choices and find a cost-effective policy.

Find out more on car insurance options after a DUI conviction.


Find affordable DUI car insurance today!


Arizona DUI laws

In Arizona, you're considered to be driving under the influence if your blood alcohol concentration is above the limit of 0.08%. This is classified as a “standard DUI.”

Commercial drivers in Arizona are considered to be DUI if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher. Underage drivers are DUI in Arizona if there is anytrace of alcohol in their system.

In Arizona, it is possible to commit an act of “extreme DUI” if a driver's BAC is at or above 0.15%.

You are guilty of an “aggravated DUI” if:

  • You are DUI while your license is suspended, revoked, or cancelled
  • You are found to be DUI for the third time in an 84-month period
  • You are DUI while transporting a passenger under 15 years old

Penalties for standard DUI in Arizona

Arizona maintains a zero-tolerance policy for DUI, so penalties are severe in an attempt to discourage drivers from driving under the influence.

For first-time DUI offenders in Arizona:

  • Will be jailed for 24 hours to 10 days
  • Must pay at least $1,250 in fines, plus jail costs and a monitoring fee
  • Must undergo screening and counseling
  • Will receive a 90-day license suspension or one-year revocation
  • Must install and use an IID on every vehicle driven for a period of 12 months
  • May have to perform community service

Those committing a standard DUI offense two or more times in Arizona:

  • Will be jailed for at least 90 days
  • Must pay fines of at least $3,000
  • Will have their license revoked for 12 months
  • Must undergo a mandatory alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education program
  • Require an IID on every vehicle driven for a period of 12 months
  • Must perform 30 hours of community service

Penalties for extreme DUI in Arizona

Drivers found guilty of committing extreme DUI with a BAC of 0.15% or higher are subject to more severe penalties.

First-time extreme DUI offenders in Arizona:

  • Will be jailed for 30 days (but are eligible for home detention after serving two days)
  • Must pay fines of at least $2,500
  • Must undergo screening and counseling
  • Will have their license suspended for 90 days
  • Will require an IID on all vehicles driven for a period of 12 months
  • May have to perform community service

Those guilty of committing an extreme DUI offense for the second time in Arizona:

  • Will be jailed for 120 days (but eligible for home detention after serving 24 days)
  • Must pay fines of at least $3,250
  • Will have their driver's license revoked for 12 months
  • Must undergo alcohol/drug screening and participate in a treatment and education program
  • Must use an IID on all vehicles driven for a period of 12 months
  • Must perform 30 hours of community service

Penalties for aggravated DUI in Arizona

Because aggravated DUI demonstrates willful disobedience despite past DUI offenses, there are stiff penalties for aggravated DUIs in Arizona. Those guilty of committing an aggravated DUI:

  • Will be imprisoned for up to two years
  • Will have their license revoked for one year
  • Must undergo a mandatory alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education program
  • Must install and use an IID for a period of time
  • May be required to perform community service
  • May be subject to other fees and fines as ordered by the court

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Arizona

Those under legal drinking age and driving with anyreadable BAC are subject to the following penalties for underage DUI in Arizona:

  • Unless charged as a juvenile, the DUI charge is added to the offender's permanent criminal record
  • Up to 180 days in jail (no mandatory minimum if underage DUI is the only offense)
  • No mandatory minimum, but up to $4,575 in fines and fees
  • No mandatory probation, but possibility for up to three years of probation
  • Suspension of their driver's license for up to two years (with the possibility of a restricted license)
  • Possibility of stricter fines and punishments for repeat offenses

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/az-arizona/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.azcentral.com/story/news/local/arizona/2015/05/22/arizona-dui-laws/27781089/

https://www.azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-services/driver-improvement/dui

https://dui.findlaw.com/dui-laws-resources/arizona-dui-laws.html

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/arizona.php

https://www.azleg.gov/ars/28/01383.htm

https://www.allenlawaz.com/what-happens-if-you-get-a-dui-and-you-are-underage/

https://tobinlawoffice.com/underage-drinking-driving-arizona/

Don't forget to share!