Cheap Montana Car Insurance

Compare rates from the best car insurance companies in Montana.

Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Montana

Across the Treasure State, there are 151,209 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in Montana?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1Safeco$549
2Progressive$961
3USAA$1,034
4State Farm$1,080
5MetLife$1,163
6National Farmers Union$1,216
7Allied$1,322
8Farmers$1,557
9Cal Casualty$1,584
10GEICO$1,706
11Allstate$2,049

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Montana

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Montana drivers don't enjoy much of a rate discount for staying safe on the roads, as avoiding at-fault accidents is rewarded by just a 26% price cut, compared to 32% nationally. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$33917.29%
No Accidents$57026.00%
Good Credit$1,65250.46%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Montana

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Montana, the typical teen driver pays $4,816 per year, which aligns closely with the national average for all teen drivers. It's still more than double the average for all drivers in Montana.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$4,250$7,249
17$4,055$6,141
18$3,947$5,655
19$3,947$3,290

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Montana

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. On the other hand, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 29% after a DUI, 26% after an at-fault accident, and 17% after a speeding ticket in Montana. The penalties assessed by car insurance companies after serious infractions like DUI and at-fault collisions in Montana are lower than in many other states. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$2,19126.00%
DUI$2,30529.66%
Speeding Violation$1,96017.29%
Bad Credit$3,27350.46%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in Montana?

Every car insurance company emphasizes its low prices. But as with any service, the cheapest auto insurance policy isn't always the best option. Considering the financial stakes, it's worth doing the research to find the policy that insures your car adequately in the event of an accident. Find a great value, rather than settling for the cheapest car insurance you find.

Compare local and national auto insurers' financial strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service they'll provide. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is rated on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and varying from "Superior" to "Poor" — assesses an insurance company's financial strength and ability to meet its contractual and policy obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allied3Superior
Allstate3Superior
Cal CasualtyNot RatedExcellent
Farmers3Excellent
GEICO3Superior
MetLife3Superior
National Farmers UnionNot RatedExcellent
Progressive3Superior
Safeco3Excellent
State Farm3Superior
USAA5Superior

 

What is the Best Car Insurance Coverage in Montana?

The minimum insurance requirement in Montana is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $10,000 Property Damage per accident.

For the minimum required coverage in Montana, prepare to pay an average of $450 yearly. This is more affordable than the nationwide average by 32%. If you opt for better car insurance coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against damages caused by vehicle crashes, theft, or weather incidents. It's worth noting that better auto insurance coverage comes at a cost: in Montana, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,386, 208% more than basic insurance coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, you can expect to pay 262% more than for a basic policy.

Compare average rates for liability-only and comprehensive coverage levels below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
Montana$449.56$1,385.56$1,627.05
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Montana

In Montana, the state minimum coverage requirement is liability with limits of:
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $10,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Montana (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Additional Liability

Liability coverage is legally required in Montana and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Montana, the minimum is listed as 25/50/10 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $10,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Montana but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

Car Insurance FAQs

Are digital insurance cards accepted in Montana?

Yes — if you are pulled over by a police officer in Montana you won't have to rifle through your glovebox wondering if you remembered to replace that expired insurance card last month. Instead, you can provide proof of coverage with your smartphone.

Is Montana a no-fault state for car insurance?

No. You're only required to cover the damage for which you are deemed responsible. In this sense, Montana is a tort — or at-fault — state.

How much does car insurance cost in Montana cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Orchard Homes, Montana, and the most expensive in Columbia Falls, Montana.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Columbia Falls$1,447
2Evergreen$1,440
3Whitefish$1,432
4Polson$1,386
5Havre$1,383
6Sidney$1,366
7Miles City$1,365
8Lewistown$1,360
9Glendive$1,360
10Livingston$1,356
11Billings$1,330
12Belgrade$1,306
13Hamilton$1,304
14Great Falls$1,302
15Bozeman$1,298
16Laurel$1,280
17Missoula$1,260
18Helena$1,236
19Kalispell$1,199
20Anaconda-Deer Lodge$1,071
21Butte-Silver Bow$1,067
22Lockwood$1,061
23Orchard Homes$1,032

Recent Montana Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Temporary car insurance for foreign driver in US

I’m looking for car insurance as an Australian traveling to Bozeman, Montana for 6 weeks. I will be borrowing a ...

DEC 30, 2018
|
BOZEMAN, MT
Do I need a commercial or personal policy?

Do I need commercial car insurance if I only use my car to mail my products and pick up a ...

MAY 08, 2018
|
SCOBEY, MT
If my teenager rear ended another car but we aren’t filing a claim, will my insurance rate go up?

My daughter hit a car at a red light. The vehicle is worth less than a $1,000, but we are ...

APR 29, 2017
|
BOZEMAN, MT

Driving Laws

Montana Texting and Driving Laws

  • There's no law against texting and driving in Montana, but we strongly urge you to keep it at 10 and 2!

Montana DUI Laws

There is a lookback period of ten years for a second DUI offense in Montana. There is no limited lookback period for subsequent offenses. Penalties are enhanced for repeated DUI offenses, driving with a suspended or revoked license, or for transporting passengers under 16 years old.

DUI with a BAC of 0.16% or higher is an “aggravated DUI” and results in harsher penalties.

First-time DUI offenses in Montana lead to:

  • 24 hours to six months in jail $600 to $1,000 in fines
  • 6-month license suspension
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device
  • Must fulfill the A-C-T requirements, including assessment, a chemical dependency course, and treatment 10 points added to driving record

Montana Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Montana area, while also getting an insider view of the Treasure State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destrination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.

How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
Jul 28, 2017

Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...

Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Jun 09, 2017

  Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...

Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
May 19, 2017

You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...

Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Apr 03, 2017

A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...

Driverless Car Laws by State
Driverless Car Laws by State
Mar 16, 2017

While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...

How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
Mar 12, 2017

  With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...

What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Jan 27, 2017

If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...

The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
Dec 20, 2016

The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...

How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
Dec 13, 2016

Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...

What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
Nov 08, 2016

If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...

Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Nov 02, 2016

We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...

Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Sep 23, 2016

In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...

Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Aug 22, 2016

Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...

Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Aug 02, 2016

Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...

Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Aug 02, 2016

Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...