New Jersey Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in New Jersey, your car insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a matter of by how much. In fact, New Jersey auto insurance rates are altered considerably by a motorist's rap sheet of serious driving violations, compared to all other American states.


In what way does being convicted of DUI affect car insurance in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, a DUI violation can lift your annual auto insurance premium by an average of $1,273. That is 20% more than the national average premium jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN NEW JERSEY — MEAN ANNUAL PENALTY
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
New Jersey$1,678.56$2,951.2275%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

How to find car insurance in New Jersey after a DUI

Purchasing cheap auto insurance after a DUI conviction is far from easy. In fact, a DUI usually results in a larger rate increase than any other driving infraction — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.


Affordable car insurance with a DUI in New Jersey

If you are found guilty of a driving under the influence offense in New Jersey, it is crucial to consider each of your insurance choices judiciously. Car insurance premiums after a DUI can vary greatly by insurer. For instance, the best cheap car insurance company with a DUI in New Jersey, New Jersey Manufacturers Insurance Company, offers yearly rates 53% more affordable than the state average insurance premium with a DUI violation. The next-cheapest insurer for car insurance after a DUI in New Jersey is Progressive, while the priciest company is State Farm, at 129% above the mean.


AUTO INSURANCE COSTS AFTER DUI IN NEW JERSEY — BY INSURER
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
New Jersey Manufacturers$1,392
Progressive$1,745
GEICO$1,850
Allstate$4,872
State Farm$6,755

There’s no car insurer specifically that provides cheap DUI car insurance. The best way to limit your losses post-DUI citation is to look at multiple options.

Get prices online or contact your insurance professional to gauge the choices and find the cheapest plan.

Find out more about car insurance options after a DUI violation.


New Jersey DUI laws

Drivers are considered DUI in New Jersey when their blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI when their BAC is 0.04% or higher. As a zero-tolerance state, drivers under 21 years old are DUI in New Jersey when their BAC reads 0.01% or higher.

New Jersey may also find a driver to be DUI if their BAC is less than 0.08% but are still operating a vehicle as if they are impaired or intoxicated.


Need insurance after a DUI? Find the policy for you today!


DUI penalties in New Jersey

New Jersey has a 10-year lookback period for DUI. Multiple offenses within this time period result in harsher penalties and fines.

In addition to penalties corresponding to the number of previous DUI convictions, any DUI offense in New Jersey includes the following surcharges:

  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund
  • $100 Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee
  • $100 Intoxicated Driving Program fee
  • $50 Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee
  • $75 Safe and Secure Community Program fee
  • $1,000 per year automobile insurance surcharge ($1,500 for a third DUI offense)

A first-time DUI offense with a BAC of at least 0.08% but less than 0.10% leads to:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • $250 to $400 in fines
  • License suspension for three months
  • 12 hours over two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

A first-time DUI offense in New Jersey with a BAC of at least 0.10% subjects an offender to:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • $300 to $500 in fines
  • License suspension for seven months to one year
  • 12 hours over two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

A second DUI offense in New Jersey results in:

  • 48 consecutive hours to 90 days in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for two years
  • 48 consecutive hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • IID installation and use for one to three years

Third-time DUI offenders in New Jersey are subject to:

  • 180 days in jail
  • $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • Admission to an inpatient alcoholism treatment program
  • Fee paid to an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, sentenced by the court
  • IID installation and use for one to three years

A DUI offense with a BAC of 0.15% or higher requires the use of an IID during the entire length of a license suspension and for six months to a year after license reinstatement.

Committing a DUI offense while transporting a child 17 years old or younger is an additional disorderly persons offense. The right to drive a vehicle will be forfeit for six months and the offender must perform at least five days of community service.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in New Jersey

Drivers under the age of 21 who commit a DUI in New Jersey:

  • Lose driving privileges for 30 to 90 days
  • Must perform 15 to 30 days of community service work
  • Must participate in an alcohol and traffic safety education program

Sources and references:

https://www.nj.gov/lps/hts/downloads/dui-bro-eng.pdf

https://www.state.nj.us/lps/dcj/agguide/dwi2005-penaltytable.pdf

Don't forget to share!