New York Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you happen to get a DUI in New York, your car insurance policy is going to get more expensive — it is just a question of by how much. Unfortunately for your bank account, New York car insurance prices are influenced substantially by a history of serious driving violations, compared to other US states.


How does getting a DUI affect car insurance premiums in New York?

In New York, a DUI will increase your annual car insurance rate by an average of $1,207. That is 16% more than the national average premium hike after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN NEW YORK — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
New York $1,582.41 $2,789.59 76%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

How to find car insurance in New York with a DUI conviction

Finding affordable car insurance with a DUI conviction is far from easy. In fact, a DUI typically brings about a greater rate hike than any other driving transgression — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.


Cheap auto insurance with a DUI in New York

If you have been convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in New York, it’s important to weigh your insurance options thoroughly. Car insurance prices following a DUI can deviate greatly by insurer. For example, the cheapest auto insurance company with a DUI in New York, Progressive, offers annual rates 44% more affordable than the state average insurance premium after a DUI violation. The second-most affordable option for car insurance with a DUI in New York is Allstate, while the most expensive insurer is State Farm, at 118% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE COSTS WITH DUI IN NEW YORK — BY INSURER
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Progressive $1,566
Allstate $2,327
GEICO $2,369
New York Central Mutual $3,892
Liberty Mutual $4,804
State Farm $6,086

There is no auto insurance company specifically that provides affordable DUI car insurance. The recommended way to save in the wake of a DUI citation is to shop policies.

Get pricing information online or contact your insurance professional to gauge the choices and find a sensible option.

Find out more about auto insurance after a DUI.


Need new car insurance? Compare rates today!


New York DWI laws

Driving under the influence is formally referred to as driving while intoxicated, or DWI, in New York State. You are DWI in New York if your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

New York is a zero-tolerance state for underage DWI. Drivers under 21 years old are DWI in New York if their BAC reads between 0.02% and 0.07%.

In New York, drivers are also considered driving while ability impaired, or DWAI, if their BAC reads between 0.05% and 0.07%.


DWI penalties in New York

The lookback period for most DWI offenses in New York is 10 years. However, multiple offenses within a 25-year period may also lead to enhanced penalties.

All penalties include an annual assessment fine of $250 for three years and a possible requirement to attend the New York Drinking Driver Program at the offender's expense.

First-time DWI or DWAI-Drug offenses in New York lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • License revoked for at least six months for DWI
  • License suspended for at least six months for DWAI-Drugs

A second DWI or DWAI-Drug offense is a class E felony in New York and results in:

  • Up to four years in jail
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least one year

Third-time DWI or DWAI-Drug offenses in New York are class D felonies and subject offenders to:

  • Up to seven years in jail
  • $2,000 to $10,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least one year

Three or more DWI/DWAI convictions can lead to permanent revocation of a driver's license.


DWAI penalties in New York

A DWAI in New York is driving while impaired by alcohol alone with a BAC measuring between .05% and 0.07%.

All penalties include an annual assessment fine of $250 for three years and a possible requirement to attend the New York Drinking Driver Program at the offender's expense.

A first-time DWAI offense in New York results in:

  • Up to 15 days in jail
  • $300 to $500 in fines
  • License suspended for at least 90 days

A second DWAI offense within five years leads to:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • $500 to $750 in fines
  • License revoked for at least six months

Three or more DWAI offenses in New York within 10 years are misdemeanors and subject offenders to:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • $750 to $1,500 in fines
  • License revoked for at least six months

Three or more DWI/DWAI convictions can lead to permanent revocation of a driver's license.


DWAI-combination penalties in New York

A DWAI-Combination offense occurs when a driver in New York is intoxicated by a combination of alcohol and drugs.

All penalties include an annual assessment fine of $250 for three years and a possible requirement to attend the New York Drinking Driver Program at the offender's expense.

The first DWAI-Combination offense in New York leads to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least six months

A second DWAI-Combination offense is a class E felony in New York and results in:

  • Up to four years in jail
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least one year

Third-time DWAI-Combination offenses in New York are class D felonies and subject offenders to:

  • Up to seven years in jail
  • $2,000 to $10,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least one year

Three or more DWI/DWAI convictions can lead to permanent revocation of a driver's license.


Penalties for aggravated DWI in New York

Penalties are increased for any DWI in which the driver has a BAC of 0.18% or higher. This is referred to as aggravated DWI, or AGG DWI.

All penalties include an annual assessment fine of $250 for three years and a possible requirement to attend the New York Drinking Driver Program at the offender's expense.

The penalties for the first AGG DWI are:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $1,000 to $2,500 in fines
  • License revocation for at least one year

A second AGG DWI within 10 years is a class E felony in New York and leads to:

  • Up to four years in jail
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least 18 months

A third AGG DWI in 10 years in a class D felony and subjects offenders to:

  • Up to seven years in jail
  • $2,000 to $10,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least 18 months

Three or more DWI/DWAI convictions can lead to permanent revocation of a driver's license.


DWI penalties for underage drinkers in New York

Drivers guilty of an underage DWI in New York may be required to enroll in the New York Drinking Driver Program at their expense. They may also be required to install and use an interlock ignition device.

Underage drivers charged with a DWI for the first time are subject to:

  • A $125 civil penalty
  • A six-month license suspension
  • A $100 fee to terminate license suspension

A second underage DWI in New York results in:

  • A $125 civil penalty
  • A revoked license for one year or until age 21
  • A $100 re-application fee

Sources and references:

https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/penalties-alcohol-or-drug-related-violations

https://www.dmv.org/ny-new-york/automotive-law/dui.php

Don't forget to share!