Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Vermont drivers without a recent moving violation save just 14% on their car insurance premiums, on average — compared to the national average of 17%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.
No Traffic Tickets
Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Vermont
Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. The average teen driver in Vermont pays $4,285 annually — approximately $700 less than the average teen driver nationally, but about four times as much as an older driver in Vermont.
Annual Rate with Parents
Annual Rate Alone
Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Vermont
If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. Conversely, a driving record with citations and violations will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 39% after a DUI, 31% after an at-fault accident, and 14% after a speeding ticket in Vermont. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in the Mountain State are similar to nationwide averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.
What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in Vermont?
Every car insurance company boasts about its cheap costs. But as with any product, the most affordable car insurance option isn't always the best idea. Considering the stakes, it's worth doing your homework to obtain an auto policy that will cover your vehicle after an accident. Be patient and look for the best value, rather than settling for the cheapest car insurance you find.
Compare top auto insurers' financial strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better predict the quality of service they'll provide. Claims satisfaction — assigned by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Poor" to "Superior" — assesses an insurer's financial strength and ability to satisfy its contractual and policy obligations.
Claims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)
Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Compare auto insurance rates today!
What is the Best Auto Insurance Coverage in Vermont?
The minimum insurance requirement in Vermont is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $10,000 Property Damage per accident.
If you carry the minimum required coverage in Vermont, expect to owe an average of $378 each year. These rates are more affordable than the nationwide average by 43%. If you elect better coverage, you can purchase a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against damages caused by auto collisions, auto theft, or weather incidents. Better auto insurance comes at a cost: in Vermont, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $908, 140% more than liability-only coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 173% more than you would for liability-only coverage.
Compare typical rates for basic and comprehensive policy levels below.
Comprehensive — $1,000 Deductible
Comprehensive — $500 Deductible
Car Insurance Laws
State minimum insurance requirements in Vermont
In Vermont, the state minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
Property Damage $10,000 per accident
Bodily Injury $50,000 per person
Bodily Injury $100,000 per accident
Property Damage $10,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Vermont (varies by carrier):
Rental Car Reimbursement
Liability coverage is legally required in Vermont and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Vermont, the minimum is listed as 25/50/10 and explained below:
$25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
$50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
$10,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage is legally required in Vermont and pays for injury and lost wages that you or your passengers may suffer in the event that you are hit by an uninsured/underinsured driver who is at fault. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into two categories. In Vermont, the minimum is listed as 50/100/10 and explained below:
$50,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person injured in your vehicle by an uninsured/underinsured driver.
$100,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries in your vehicle by an uninsured/underinsured driver if more than one person is hurt.
$10,000 property damage coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage caused to your vehicle by an uninsured/underinsured driver.
These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Vermont but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.
Vermont Car Insurance FAQs
Does Vermont car insurance cover chiropractic care?
It depends on the reason for the chiropractic care. If you were injured in a car accident, you might have coverage through your medical payments optional coverage or your liability insurance.
Is car insurance more expensive in Massachusetts than Vermont?
Basic car insurance coverage is $231 per year more expensive in Massachusetts than in Vermont.
What type of car insurance is required in Vermont?
Vermont requires bodily injury limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 in property damage coverage. Vermont also requires uninsured motorist coverage of $50,000, bodily injury coverage of $100,000, and property damage insurance of $10,000.
How much does car insurance cost in Vermont cities?
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Winooski, Vermont, and the most expensive in Newport, Vermont.
Avg. Annual Premium
White River Junction
Recent Vermont Car Insurance Questions and Answers
Each company has different requirements, but Vermont requires that you file a claim within three years of the incident. Most companies require you to report any incident (whether you file a claim or not) as soon as possible.
Vermont’s DUI lookback period is 10 years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe subject offenders to harsher penalties.
In addition to the below penalties, drivers guilty of a DUI in Vermont are subject to an assortment of fees for attendance in treatment programs, screenings, and license reinstatement. Penalties are also enhanced for any DUIs that result in serious injury or death.
First-time DUI offenses in Vermont lead to:
Up to two years in jail
Up to $750 in fines
License suspension for 90 days
How Do Tickets Impact Vermont Car Insurance Rates?
If you receive a ticket, your car insurance premiums will probably get more expensive. By how much depends on the severity of the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
Below is a look at typical auto insurance rates in Vermont after a few common citations.
Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate
% Insurance Rate Increase
$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test
Driving with a Suspended License
Driving with an Open Container
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission
Passing a School Bus
Following Too Closely
Failure to Stop at a Red Light
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane
Failure to Yield
Speeding in a School Zone
Driving Too Slowly
Driving with Expired Registration
Failure to Show Documents
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt
Driving Without Lights
Vermont Tour Guide Scholarship
At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Vermont area, while also getting an insider view of the Green Mountain State.
So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.
How do I choose a location?
The length of the road trip to your feature destination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.
Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.
your name, address, and phone number when you submit
Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000
Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2020
Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2021
Judges: The Zebra
The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation
*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.
By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.
Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.
Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.