Cheap Wyoming Car Insurance

Compare rates from the best auto insurance companies in Wyoming.

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Wyoming

Across the Cowboy State, there are 58,385 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in Wyoming?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1USAA$637
2Safeco$927
3The Hartford$943
4National Farmers Union$990
5GEICO$998
6State Farm$1,033
7Grange$1,098
8Cal Casualty$1,372
9Allstate$2,083

Find the perfect policy for you!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Wyoming

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Wyoming drivers without a recent moving violation can save big, cutting 24% from their car insurance bill, on average — compared to the national average of 17% savings. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$42824.25%
No Accidents$50827.51%
Good Credit$57730.13%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Wyoming

Young drivers — aged between 16 and 25 — pay very high car insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Wyoming, the average teen driver pays $3,548 — well below the national average but nearly three times the state average.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$2,898$5,573
17$2,727$4,528
18$2,897$3,993
19$2,380$3,314

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Wyoming

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably pay less for car insurance. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 38% after a DUI, 27% after an at-fault accident, and 24% after a speeding ticket in Wyoming. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies after DUI violations and at-fault accidents in Wyoming generally align with nationwide averages, but speeding tickets are penalized with larger-than-average rate increases. If you have a clean driving record, be sure to check for good-driving discounts from your insurer.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$1,84727.51%
DUI$2,18438.70%
Speeding Violation$1,76724.25%
Bad Credit$1,91630.13%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in Wyoming?

Each car insurance company brags about its low rates. But just like with any product, the cheapest choice is not always the best choice. Considering what's at stake, it's worth doing your due diligence to purchase an auto policy that will cover your car adequately after a collision. Be patient and look for the best value, rather than settling for the cheapest auto insurance you can find.

Compare local and national insurers' financial strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service they will provide. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and running from "Poor" to "Superior" — determines an insurer's financial strength and ability to meet its policy and contractual obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allstate3Superior
Cal CasualtyNot RatedExcellent
GEICO3Superior
GrangeNot RatedExcellent
National Farmers UnionNot RatedExcellent
Safeco3Excellent
State Farm3Superior
The Hartford4Excellent
USAA5Superior

 

Compare quotes today!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

What is the Best Car Insurance Coverage in Wyoming?

The minimum insurance requirement in Wyoming is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $20,000 Property Damage per accident.

If you opt for the minimum required coverage in Wyoming, expect to owe a mean of $369 yearly. This is cheaper than the national average by 44%. If you elect better coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, covering damages caused by car-vs.-car collisions, auto theft, or weather incidents. But better insurance coverage has a cost: in Wyoming, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,102, 199% more than liability-only coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 264% more than you would for basic liability-only coverage.

Compare average rates for liability-only and comprehensive car insurance levels below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
Wyoming$368.50$1,102.41$1,340.21
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Wyoming

In Wyoming, the state minimum coverage requirement is liability with limits of:
  • Bodily Injury Liability $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Liability $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability $20,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Wyoming (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical and Funeral Services
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury

Liability coverage is legally required in Wyoming and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Wyoming, the minimum is listed as 25/50/20 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $20,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Wyoming but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

Wyoming Car Insurance FAQs

Are digital insurance cards accepted in Wyoming?

Yes. If you happen to find yourself pulled over by a police officer in Wyoming you won't have to rifle through your glovebox wondering if you remembered to replace that expired insurance card last month. Instead, you can provide proof of coverage with your smartphone.

What are the most popular car insurance companies in Wyoming?

USAA, State Farm, and GEICO are among the most popular auto insurance companies in Wyoming.

What car insurance do I need in Wyoming?

Wyoming's bodily injury minimums are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, and $20,000 in property damage coverage. If you have a loan or lease on your vehicle, more coverage may be required.

How much does car insurance cost in Wyoming cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in South Greeley, Wyoming, and the most expensive in Gillette, Wyoming.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Gillette$1,430
2Newcastle$1,423
3Green River$1,392
4Worland$1,385
5Buffalo$1,380
6Torrington$1,372
7Laramie$1,370
8Mills$1,364
9Casper$1,364
10Evanston$1,363
11Cheyenne$1,362
12Douglas$1,356
13Cody$1,354
14Powell$1,354
15Sheridan$1,332
16Rawlins$1,320
17Jackson$1,206
18Lander$1,192
19Riverton$1,183
20Wheatland$1,180
21Rock Springs$1,173
22Ranchettes$1,156
23Warren AFB$1,156
24Fox Farm-College$1,154
25South Greeley$1,153

Recent Wyoming Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Does car insurance cover vet bills for injured dogs?

Our dogs were injured in a car accident where the other driver was totally at fault. Does the at-fault insurance ...

MAY 06, 2019
|
STAR VALLEY RANCH, WY
What address should I use for a new car insurance policy if I am about to move to a different state but don’t know the address?

I am in the process of buying a new car and will need insurance on it. I am also moving ...

AUG 17, 2017
|
WHITE CLOUD, MI
Why is car insurance so expensive in Wyoming?

My rate recently increased with my insurance company so I started shopping around for a new policy. I found that, ...

AUG 04, 2017
|
FRANNIE, WY

Driving Laws

Wyoming Texting and Driving Laws

  1. Ban on all cell phones for drivers <18 years old

  2. Ban on text messaging for all drivers

 

Wyoming DUI Laws

The DUI/DWUI lookback period in Wyoming is 10 years. Multiple drunk driving offenses within this timeframe will result in harsher penalties. In addition, penalties are also enhanced for a DUI/DWUI that causes an injury or death or while transporting a passenger under 18 years old.

First-time DUI offenses in Wyoming lead to:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to $750 in fines
  • License suspension for 90 days
  • Required installation and use of an interlock ignition device for at least six months if BAC is over 0.15%

How Fast is Speeding in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, drivers are required to adjust their speed based on the conditions of the road. Additionally, drivers are speeding in Wyoming if their speeds exceed the posted limits or:

  • 75 miles per hour on interstate highways
  • 70 miles per hour on secondary highways
  • 30 miles per hour in residential areas
  • 30 miles per hour in business areas
  • 20 miles per hour in school zones
  • 15 miles per hour when approaching a blind intersection

 

How is Reckless Driving Defined in Wyoming?

Driving a vehicle with a “willful and wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property” is considered reckless driving in Wyoming. In other words, a person whochoosesto disobey safe driving habits and the rules of the road is likely to be charged with reckless driving.

 

Distracted Driving Laws in Wyoming

Any activity that causes a driver to move his or her hands from the steering wheel or fail to pay attention to the road is considered distracted driving in Wyoming. In 2017, 180 accidents in Wyoming were a result of cell phone use while driving. 377 accidents occurred because of in-vehicle distractions, 304 crashes because of outside distractions, and 51 because of distractions caused by other electronic devices.

 

Wyoming Racing Laws

It is illegal to engage in, aid, or abet in any speed or acceleration contest, exhibition, or racing in Wyoming. Racing in Wyoming is only permitted after approval from the governing body of whichever highway is planned to be the course for a race.

 

At-Fault Accidents in Wyoming

Wyoming is a fault-based state. After an accident, fault is assigned to one or more involved parties to determine their liability for an accident. Any party with 51 percent or more fault for an accident is “barred” from recovering damages.

If you are deemed able to be awarded damages, your compensation is reduced by your fault for the accident. For example, if you are 30 percent at-fault for an accident, you would only recover 70 percent of your damages.

How Do Tickets Affect Car Insurance Premiums in Wyoming?

If you receive a ticket or citation, your car insurance rates may go up. By how much depends on the violation's severity, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance regulations and risks. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

Below is a look at typical auto insurance rates in Wyoming after a few common violations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$2,37172%$996
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$2,22061%$845
DUI$2,35571%$980
Racing$2,00746%$632
Reckless Driving$2,23663%$862
Driving with a Suspended License$2,00746%$632
At-Fault Accident$1,89738%$522
Driving with an Open Container$1,65020%$275
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$1,58815%$213
Passing a School Bus$1,58815%$213
Improper Passing$1,58815%$213
Following Too Closely$1,58815%$213
Speeding$1,81732%$442
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$1,56814%$193
Illegal Turn$1,58815%$213
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$1,58815%$213
Failure to Yield$1,58815%$213
Speeding in a School Zone$1,81732%$442
Driving Too Slowly$1,81732%$442
Distracted Driving$1,46210%$87
Driving with Expired Registration$1,56814%$193
Failure to Show Documents$1,56814%$193
Not-at-Fault Accident$1,3911%$17
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$1,56814%$193
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$1,56814%$193
Driving Without Lights$1,55013%$175

Wyoming Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Wyoming area, while also getting an insider view of the Equality or Cowboy State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destrination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.

Chevron left icon
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
Jul 28, 2017

Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...

Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Jun 09, 2017

  Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...

Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
May 19, 2017

You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...

Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Apr 03, 2017

A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...

Driverless Car Laws by State
Driverless Car Laws by State
Mar 16, 2017

While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...

How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
Mar 12, 2017

  With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...

What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Jan 27, 2017

If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...

The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
Dec 20, 2016

The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...

How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
Dec 13, 2016

Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...

What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
Nov 08, 2016

If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...

Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Nov 02, 2016

We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...

Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Sep 23, 2016

In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...

Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Aug 22, 2016

Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...

Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Aug 02, 2016

Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...

Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Aug 02, 2016

Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...

Chevron right icon