Cheap Arkansas Car Insurance

Compare the best rates from 21 car insurance companies in Arkansas.

Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Arkansas

Across the Natural State, there are 204,051 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

Cheap Car Insurance

It's cheap to get car insurance in Arkansas!

Whoa! Arkansas is one of the cheapest states for car insurance. Let's see how much you'll save!

At The Zebra we're all about helping you save money on car insurance. Our engine looks for the cheapest insurance provider to find the best fit for you and your vehicle. Since Arkansas might have cheaper premiums that makes our job a breeze! It's easy to get started—we just need some basic information to begin finding the best auto discounts for you.

What's the cheapest car insurance in Arkansas?
Rank Company Name Avg. Annual Premium
1 USAA $1,001
2 Auto Club $1,025
3 Travelers $1,115
4 Southern Farm Bureau $1,201
5 State Farm $1,236
6 Columbia Insurance $1,285
7 Safeco $1,291
8 Farmers $1,316
9 Cameron Mutual $1,342
10 State Auto $1,363
11 Auto-Owners $1,401
12 Shelter $1,506
13 Progressive $1,594
14 GEICO $1,852
15 Nationwide $2,113
16 Liberty Mutual $2,164
17 MetLife $2,417
18 ALFA $2,555
19 Allstate $2,591
20 Home State $2,638
21 Sentry $2,664
22 Hanover $2,989
23 InsureMax $3,520
24 United Automobile $3,631

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Arkansas

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Arkansas drivers without a recent ticket save 19% on their car insurance, on average — slightly more than the nationwide average. In addition to earning a more affordable premium for staying incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor $ Savings % Savings
No Traffic Tickets $352 19.48%
No Accidents $686 32.05%
Good Credit $1,215 45.50%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Arkansas

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Arkansas, the typical teen driver pays $4,909 annually — approximately equal to the national average for teens, but about three times as much as the average driver in Arkansas.

Age Annual Rate with Parents Annual Rate Alone
16 $4,437 $7,227
17 $4,206 $6,492
18 $4,026 $5,723
19 $3,692 $3,473

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Arkansas

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably pay less for car insurance. Conversely, a bad driving record will inflate your rates: car insurance premiums typically increase by 27% after a DUI, 32% after an at-fault accident, and 19% after a speeding ticket in Arkansas. These post-incident rate hikes roughly align with national averages. If you have a sparkling clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurer's safe driver discount.

Rating Factor Annual Rate % Increase
At-Fault Accident $2,142 32.05%
DUI $2,009 27.53%
Speeding Violation $1,808 19.48%
Bad Credit $2,671 45.50%

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Arkansas

In Arkansas, the state minimum coverage requirement is liability with limits of:
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Arkansas (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage

Liability coverage is legally required in Arkansas and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Arkansas, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:

$25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.

$50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.

$25,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Arkansas but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

Cheap Arkansas Car Insurance Companies

The Zebra compares over 200 companies & 1,800 products, so you can save way more than 15% and find the cheapest car insurance in Arkansas.

Car Insurance FAQs

Are digital insurance cards accepted in Arkansas?

Yes

What does this mean for you?

If you happen to find yourself pulled over by a police officer in Arkansas you won't have to rifle through your glovebox wondering if you remembered to replace that expired insurance card last month. Instead, you can provide proof of coverage with your smartphone.

Do I need uninsured motorist coverage in Arkansas?

Uninsured Drivers in Arkansas
Arkansas

16%

Nationwide

12%

Did you know?

Uninsured motorist coverage protects you from damage caused by other drivers without insurance and hit-and-runs.

How much does car insurance cost in Arkansas cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Rogers, Arkansas, and the most expensive in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Rank City Avg. Annual Premium
1 Little Rock $1,518
2 El Dorado $1,512
3 Hot Springs $1,487
4 Texarkana $1,477
5 Pine Bluff $1,459
6 West Memphis $1,448
7 North Little Rock $1,443
8 Bryant $1,443
9 Benton $1,430
10 Maumelle $1,424
11 Cabot $1,411
12 Jacksonville $1,407
13 Sherwood $1,405
14 Jonesboro $1,396
15 Searcy $1,381
16 Paragould $1,371
17 Conway $1,339
18 Russellville $1,329
19 Van Buren $1,321
20 Fayetteville $1,290
21 Fort Smith $1,290
22 Springdale $1,288
23 Bentonville $1,264
24 Bella Vista $1,261
25 Rogers $1,256

Recent Arkansas Car Insurance Questions and Answers

What can I do if a ticket is listed on my driving record but I was never issued a ticket?

Nov 23, 2016
I’ve never had a car accident or received a ticket in over 5 years, but I had a violation on

...

Does a criminal record affect your insurance?

Jul 14, 2016

I want to buy a car but I’m afraid I won’t be able to insure it because I have a ...

Will my insurance policy cover me while I drive in a different state?

Apr 02, 2016

I live on the border and work in Texas. I know that insurance varies by state so will my Arkansas ...

Driving Laws

Arkansas Texting and Driving Laws

  1. Ban on hand-held cell phones for drivers 18 - 20 years old
  2. Ban on hand-held cell phones while driving in a school zone or in a highway construction zone
  3. Ban on all cell phones for school bus drivers and novice drivers <18 years old
  4. Ban on text messaging for all drivers
Alcohol Related Fatalities

143

Per Year in Arkansas
Annual DUI Arrests
Arkansas
11,707
US Average
23,438
DUI Legal Limit

0.08%

Blood Alcohol Content
Average DUI Cost

10k

Nationally, For First Offenders
What does this mean for you?

Driving with a blood alcohol content higher than the number above will put you at risk of being arrested for driving under the influence. If arrested you’ll face harsh consequences and may face varying degrees of jail time, fines, driver’s license suspensions, and reinstatement requirements.

If convicted of a DUI, you can expect the financial obligations to extend beyond the DUI ticket to court costs, attorney fees, higher insurance rates, and potentially the installation of a Ignition Interlock Device to serve as a breathalyzer test each time you start your vehicle.
Additional Resources:

Arkansas Car Insurance

Google Home vs. Amazon Echo: How Smart Speakers Can Make Your Life Easier
Google Home vs. Amazon Echo: How Smart Speakers Can Make Your Life Easier
May 16, 2017

Wouldn’t it be great if you could assign a robot to handle all of your mundane tasks? While we’re not...

What is PIP Insurance and Do You Really Need It?
What is PIP Insurance and Do You Really Need It?
Nov 16, 2015

Commonly called PIP for short, personal injury protection insurance protects you against—you guessed it—personal injury. If you get in an...

How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
Jul 28, 2017

Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...

Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Jun 09, 2017

  Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...

Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
May 19, 2017

You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...

Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Apr 03, 2017

A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...

Driverless Car Laws by State
Driverless Car Laws by State
Mar 16, 2017

While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...

How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
Mar 12, 2017

  With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...

What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Jan 27, 2017

If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...

The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
Dec 20, 2016

The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...

How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
Dec 13, 2016

Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...

What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
Nov 08, 2016

If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...

Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Nov 02, 2016

We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...

Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Sep 23, 2016

In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...

Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Aug 22, 2016

Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...

Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Aug 02, 2016

Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...

Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Aug 02, 2016

Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...

Arkansas Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Arkansas area, while also getting an insider view of the Natural State.

Click here to learn more.

Prompt

So, Arkansas students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that’s great! But there are no limits to what we’re looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

Please Note:

  • The length of the road trip to your feature destination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that’s just two miles from home, we want to see it.
Qualifications:

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply:
  • Entrants should create an original video not exceeding 2 minutes. Each video submission must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo, and should be submitted by email to scholarships@thezebra.com.
  • With your submission, please include your name, address, and phone number.
Details
  • Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000.
  • Applications must be received no later than 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2018.
  • Winner(s) will be selected and notified by e-mail by January 31st, 2019.
  • Submissions will be judged by The Zebra and the winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation.
  • Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.

Fine Print

  • By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.
  • Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.
  • Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.