Cheap South Carolina Car Insurance

Compare the best rates from 9 car insurance companies in South Carolina.

Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in South Carolina

Across the Palmetto State, there are 139,690 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in South Carolina?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1The Hartford$760
2USAA$1,005
3State Auto$1,116
4Auto-Owners$1,130
5Southern Farm Bureau$1,273
6Southern Farm Bureau$1,273
7National Grange Mutual$1,348
8Travelers$1,370
9State Farm$1,394
10Allstate$1,605
11Progressive$1,627
12Encompass$1,674
13Nationwide$1,796
14Safe Auto$1,946
15GEICO$2,021
16Dairyland$2,412
17Bristol West$2,444
18Liberty Mutual$2,464
19Safeco$2,717

Find the right policy for you!

 

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in South Carolina

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. South Carolina drivers without a recent at-fault accident typically save 31% on their car insurance premiums — nearly matching the 32% US average. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$27116.54%
No Accidents$62831.46%
Good Credit$1,39450.48%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in South Carolina

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In South Carolina, the typical teen driver pays $4,742 annually, which aligns with the national average for teens. Teen drivers in South Carolina pay approximately three times as much as do older drivers.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$5,050$6,372
17$4,732$5,274
18$4,554$4,620
19$4,153$3,190

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in South Carolina

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 33% after a DUI, 31% after an at-fault accident, and 16% after a speeding ticket in South Carolina. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in South Carolina are near nationwide averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$1,99531.46%
DUI$2,06533.79%
Speeding Violation$1,63816.54%
Bad Credit$2,76150.48%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in South Carolina?

Every car insurer boasts about its low rates. But just like with any service, the cheapest option isn't always the finest selection. Considering the stakes, it's worth doing the due diligence to obtain an auto policy that covers your car completely after an accident. It's worth contrasting options to discover a great value, rather than settling for the cheapest car insurance in South Carolina.

Review top insurance companies' financial strength and claims satisfaction levels to better understand the level of service they will provide. Claims satisfaction — assigned by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and running from "Poor" to "Superior" — evaluates an insurer's financial strength and ability to meet its policy and contractual obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allstate3Superior
Auto-Owners5Superior
Bristol WestNot RatedExcellent
GEICO3Superior
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
National Grange MutualNot RatedExcellent
Nationwide4Superior
Progressive3Superior
Safeco3Excellent
Southern Farm BureauNot RatedSuperior
State AutoNot RatedExcellent
State Farm3Superior
The Hartford4Excellent
Travelers3Superior
USAA5Superior

 

Compare policy rates today!

 

What is the Best Auto Insurance Coverage in South Carolina?

The minimum insurance requirement in the state of South Carolina is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident.

For the legal minimum coverage level in South Carolina, prepare to pay an average of $693 per year. This is pricier than the U.S. average by 5%. If you opt for more comprehensive coverage, you can purchase a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against damages caused by vehicle collisions, theft, or weather conditions. However, better insurance coverage comes at a price: in South Carolina, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,240, 79% more than liability-only car insurance. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 97% more than you might for basic coverage.

Compare average expenditures for basic, good, and great policy tiers below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
South Carolina$693.49$1,239.69$1,369.56
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in South Carolina

In South Carolina, the state minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
Liability
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $25,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in South Carolina (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Underinsured Motorist Property Damage

Liability coverage is legally required in South Carolina and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In South Carolina, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $25,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

Uninsured Motorist coverage is legally required in South Carolina and pays for injury and lost wages that you or your passengers may suffer in the event that you are hit by an uninsured driver who is at fault. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into two categories. In South Carolina, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person injured in your vehicle by an uninsured driver.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries in your vehicle by an uninsured driver if more than one person is hurt.
  • $25,000 property damage coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage caused to your vehicle by an uninsured driver.
  • These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in South Carolina but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

South Carolina Car Insurance FAQs

Is car insurance required in South Carolina?

Yes. Car insurance is required by law in South Carolina.

Do restricted license drivers need car insurance in South Carolina?

Yes. Your driver's license status does not affect your need for car insurance. If you're driving a vehicle in South Carolina, it needs to be insured.

Do I need insurance on a totaled car South Carolina?

This depends on what your plan for the vehicle is, and on details of your insurance policy. If your vehicle has been totaled and you do not plan on replacing it, you can cancel the policy. Just be aware that if you do not have another vehicle on the policy, canceling coverage for the vehicle would cancel the coverage altogether.

How much does car insurance cost in South Carolina cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Wade Hampton, South Carolina, and the most expensive in Summerville, South Carolina.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Summerville$1,557
2North Charleston$1,471
3Florence$1,452
4Goose Creek$1,438
5Charleston$1,407
6Columbia$1,377
7Myrtle Beach$1,314
8Mount Pleasant$1,311
9Spartanburg$1,286
10Rock Hill$1,276
11Anderson$1,275
12Greenville$1,262
13Taylors$1,254
14Hilton Head Island$1,243
15Greer$1,231
16Greenwood$1,228
17Sumter$1,227
18Mauldin$1,220
19Aiken$1,219
20Simpsonville$1,214
21Socastee$1,211
22Easley$1,208
23Saint Andrews$1,172
24North Augusta$1,117
25Wade Hampton$1,069

Recent South Carolina Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Can I get car insurance with only a permit?

I want to buy a car before I get my license. My plan is to get my license within a...

MAY 11, 2019
|
COLUMBIA, SC
How do I obtain insurance in the name of the estate?

I am an executor of an estate in South Carolina. I live in Maryland. A Nissan truck, part of the ...

APR 15, 2019
|
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC
Can my mom add me and my car to her policy?

My insurance is high by myself and I don’t know why I got a clean record. Will my mom be ...

JAN 24, 2019
|
NEWBERRY, SC
Can I insure my son’s business vehicle?

My son has had a couple of accidents. He wants me to purchase a car and get it insured with ...

JAN 22, 2019
|
PAWLEYS ISLAND, SC

Driving Laws

South Carolina Texting and Driving Laws

  1. Ban on text messaging for all drivers

South Carolina DUI Laws

The DUI lookback period in South Carolina is 10 years. Multiple DUI offenses within a decade result in harsher penalties. Penalties are also enhanced for any DUI that leads to injury or death. DUI penalties in South Carolina are also increased for DUI with a passenger under 16 years old.

First-time DUI offenses in South Carolina lead to:

  • 48 hours to 30 days in jail or 48 hours of community service
  • $400 in fines
  • License suspension for six months

South Carolina Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the South Carolina area, while also getting an insider view of the Palmetto State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destrination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.

How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
Jul 28, 2017

Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...

Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Jun 09, 2017

  Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...

Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
May 19, 2017

You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...

Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Apr 03, 2017

A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...

Driverless Car Laws by State
Driverless Car Laws by State
Mar 16, 2017

While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...

How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
Mar 12, 2017

  With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...

What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Jan 27, 2017

If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...

The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
Dec 20, 2016

The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...

How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
Dec 13, 2016

Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...

What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
Nov 08, 2016

If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...

Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Nov 02, 2016

We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...

Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Sep 23, 2016

In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...

Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Aug 22, 2016

Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...

Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Aug 02, 2016

Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...

Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Aug 02, 2016

Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...