Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers in Connecticut

The Zebra
Dec. 4, 2018

If you've been deemed at-fault after an accident, filed an at-fault claim, or received a citation for a serious moving violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Car insurance for risky drivers is typically expensive, but the increase in rates you receive depends on your insurance company, your driving record, and the state in which you drive.


What goes into auto insurance rates for high-risk drivers in Connecticut:

  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. View Connecticut driving laws

Compare auto insurance rates!


Car insurance after an at-fault crash in Connecticut


If you are deemed responsible for causing an auto collision, you should expect your car insurance costs to jump. In Connecticut, the average insurance rate after an at-fault accident is $1,938, compared to the national average of $2,012. A serious incident like an at-fault collision will stay on your insurance record for as long as three years!


CONNECTICUT AUTO INSURANCE RATES FOLLOWING AN AT-FAULT ACCIDENT
LocationWith At-Fault Accident — Annual RateNo At-Fault Accident — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
Connecticut$1,938$1,544$394
National Average$2,012$1,397$615

The most affordable insurance company after an at-fault collision in Connecticut is State Farm. State Farm’s typical price increase after an accident is $546, leading to a premium 28 percent less expensive than the average among all companies. If you've been at-fault in an accident in Connecticut, avoid Allstate and Progressive, which sit at the pricier end of the spectrum.


AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER AN AT-FAULT ACCIDENT IN CONNECTICUT — CHEAP CARRIERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Premium After an At-Fault Accident
State Farm$1,392
GEICO$1,403
Amica$1,536
Allstate$3,054
Progressive$3,373


Does getting a speeding ticket in Connecticut lead to more expensive car insurance?


One of the violations that earns drivers the "high-risk" tag is speeding. In Connecticut, car insurance premiums rise by $303 per year after a speeding ticket, to an average per-year price of $1,847.


CONNECTICUT AUTO INSURANCE PRICES AFTER A SPEEDING TICKET
StateWith a Speeding Ticket — Annual RateNo Speeding Ticket — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Connecticut$1,847$1,544$303
National Average$1,727$1,397$330

The foolproof way to find cheap auto insurance after a speeding ticket is to shop around and weigh the options. The cheapest car insurance after a speeding ticket in Connecticut is available through GEICO. GEICO’s average rate after a violation is $709 less than the state typical. If you've been caught speeding in Connecticut, Progressive is worth avoiding.


AUTO INSURANCE PRICES AFTER A SPEEDING VIOLATION IN CONNECTICUT — AFFORDABLE CARRIERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With a Speeding Violation
GEICO$1,138
State Farm$1,392
Amica$1,536
Allstate$2,022
Progressive$2,395


How does a distracted driving ticket impact car insurance rates in Connecticut?


If you are found guilty of distracted driving, one side effect will be increased car insurance rates. In Connecticut, auto insurance costs typically increase by $173 annually. That's an 11% jump from the average yearly premium in Connecticut, and 0% less than the nationwide average cost of auto insurance with a distracted driving offense.


CONNECTICUT AUTO INSURANCE PRICES WITH A DISTRACTED DRIVING TICKET
LocationWith Distracted Driving — Annual RateNo Distracted Driving — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Connecticut$1,717$1,544$173
National Average$1,570$1,397$173

The best way to get inexpensive car insurance following a distracted driving citation is to shop a variety of options. The cheapest auto insurance company after a citation for distracted driving in Connecticut is GEICO, with an average rate of just $935 per year, 46% less than the average distracted driving insurance rate from all insurers.


AUTO INSURANCE COSTS AFTER DISTRACTED DRIVING IN CONNECTICUT — CHEAPEST PROVIDERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With Distracted Driving
GEICO$935
State Farm$1,277
Allstate$2,022
Amica$2,260
Progressive$2,363


Racing infractions and car insurance in Connecticut


Racing is treated as an extremely serious offense. Auto insurance carriers commonly penalize racing citations severely — in fact, Connecticut auto insurance prices rise by $1,371 per year after a citation for racing. That's an 89% increase from the usual yearly car insurance premium in Connecticut!


LocationWith a Racing Citation — Annual RateNo Racing Citation — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
Connecticut$2,915$1,544$1,371
National Average$2,397$1,397$1,000

If you've been pulled over for racing, do your homework and shop around for the best rates. In Connecticut, start your search by checking out State Farm, offering rates 52 percent less than the state average after a citation for racing.


AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER A RACING CITATION IN CONNECTICUT — AFFORDABLE COMPANIES
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With Racing
State Farm$1,392
Progressive$2,828
Allstate$2,893
GEICO$3,005
Amica$4,277


How does reckless driving in Connecticut impact car insurance rates?


As one of the most serious moving violations, reckless driving is a surefire way to end up paying more for auto insurance. Insurance companies raise prices by $1,283 per year after reckless driving. That's 83% greater than the average insurance rate in Connecticut, and 16% less than the U.S. average price increase for a reckless driving violation.


CONNECTICUT CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH A RECKLESS DRIVING CITATION
LocationWith Reckless Driving — Annual RateNo Reckless Driving — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Connecticut$2,827$1,544$1,283
U.S. Average$2,395$1,397$998

If you're ticketed for reckless driving, compare insurance companies to get the most affordable premium. In Connecticut, the most budget-friendly insurance company with a reckless driving ticket is State Farm.


AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER A RECKLESS DRIVING CITATION IN CONNECTICUT — AFFORDABLE PROVIDERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With Reckless Driving
State Farm$1,392
Progressive$2,828
Allstate$2,893
GEICO$2,984
Amica$3,243

If you're looking for car insurance as a high-risk driver, the best course of action is to shop around and compare rates.


Find insurance today!


Connecticut Driving Regulations

Connecticut traffic laws are designed to encourage safe driving behavior and prevent unsafe driving habits. Speeding, reckless and distracted driving, and racing in Connecticut are all punishable offenses, as is driving without car insurance — particularly if it leads to an at-fault accident.

 

Speeding in Connecticut

When Are You Speeding In Connecticut?

Speeding on Connecticut is broken into three categories:

  • Traveling unreasonably fast
  • Speeding
  • And reckless speeding

In Connecticut, you aretraveling unreasonably fastwhen your speed exceeds the posted speed limit but not more than 55 miles per hour.

Exceeding 55 miles per hour when a lower speed limit is set is consideredspeedingin Connecticut.

Speeds in excess of 85 miles per hour constitute reckless speeding in Connecticut.

Drivers in Connecticut must adhere to posted speed limits. In addition, the speed limit on multiple-lane, limited-access highways is set at 65 miles per hour, unless otherwise posted.

Penalties for Speeding In Connecticut

A driver accused of speeding in Connecticut can be arrested and penalized based on any of the three speeding-related statutes, depending on the specific circumstances.

Fines for speeding in Connecticut are determined on your speed in excess of a posted speed limit. Penalties are based on:

  • A base fine
  • Surcharges (court cost, Special Transportation Fund)
  • Fees (remittance to municipality, police training)
  • Assessments (court cost, Traumatic Brain Injury Fund)

Fines may be doubled for speeding in specific zones, such as work or school zones.

The fine for unreasonable speed in Connecticut is based on a driver’s speed in excess of a posted limit, but not exceeding 55 miles per hour.

The fine for speeding in Connecticut is between $100 and $150 before surcharges and fees and other considerations.

The penalties for a first-time conviction of reckless speeding in Connecticut are:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • $100 to $300 in fines (plus surcharges and fees)

Subsequent offenses for reckless speeding in Connecticut lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $600 in fines (plus surcharges and fees)

Speeding in Connecticut may also result in the accumulation of one point against a driver’s license.

Penalties and fines are higher for truck drivers.

 

Reckless Driving in Connecticut

What Is Reckless Driving in Connecticut?

Reckless driving in Connecticut happens when drivers operate a vehicle in a way that “creates a high degree of risk of physical harm to another” in a way that deliberately disregards those risks.

Reckless driving in Connecticut is also considered:

  • Driving at a speed that endangers another’s life
  • Driving at speeds in excess of 85 miles per hour

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Connecticut

A driver’s first reckless driving conviction in Connecticut is a class D misdemeanor and leads to:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • $100 to $300 in fines
  • License suspension for 30 to 90 days

A second or subsequent conviction for reckless driving in Connecticut is a class A misdemeanor and results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $600 in fines
  • License suspension for at least 90 days

 

Distracted Driving in Connecticut

What is Distracted Driving in Connecticut?

Distracted driving in Connecticut is classified as any non-driving activity that causes a driver not to pay attention to the road, such as:

  • Not paying visual attention to the road
  • Manual distractions, like a driver taking his or her hands off the steering wheel
  • Or cognitive distractions, including anything that distracts a driver from paying attention

Any type of cell phone or wireless device use is prohibited while driving in Connecticut unless hands-free technology is being used. All drivers, of any age, are prohibited from texting, browsing the internet, or otherwise using a wireless device while driving — even while stopped at a traffic light.

Drivers between 16 and 17 years old are not allowed to use wireless devices in any capacity in Connecticut, even if using hands-free functionality.

Penalties for Distracted Driving in Connecticut

The penalty for a first or second offense of distracted driving in Connecticut is a fine of $150 to $300. Subsequent offenses will result in a fine of $500.

Penalties are more severe — and may include jail time — for any incident of distracted driving resulting in the death of another person.

 

Racing in Connecticut

What is Racing in Connecticut?

Racing in Connecticut is classified as participating in an event to make a speed record, racing, or operating a vehicle on a public highway for a wager.

Penalties for Racing in Connecticut

A driver’s first conviction for racing in Connecticut results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $75 to $600 in fines
  • License suspension for one year

A second or subsequent conviction for racing in Connecticut leads to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $100 to $1, 000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year

As with most traffic laws in Connecticut, racing that leads to injury, death, or damage may result in enhanced and harsher penalties.

 

At-fault Accidents in Connecticut

What is An At-fault Accident in Connecticut?

Connecticut became a fault-based state in 1994. When an accident occurs in Connecticut, blame may be assigned to one or more drivers, making them liable for any claims.

Connecticut requires drivers to maintain active liability insurance as well as mandatory uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage in the amounts of:

  • $20, 000 for bodily injury or death to one person
  • $40, 000 for total bodily injury or death
  • $10, 000 for damage
  • Mandatory uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage equal to the policy’s liability coverage

Penalties for At-fault Accidents in Connecticut

Driving a vehicle without insurance coverage in Connecticut results in a fine between $100 and $1, 000 and a license suspension of one month for a driver’s first conviction or six months for any subsequent convictions.

Failure to maintain insurance in Connecticut is a class C misdemeanor and leads to:

  • Up to three months in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines

Failure to carry proof of insurance or registration in Connecticut results in a $35 fine for the first offense. Subsequent offenses are not considered infractions and require violators to pay a $50 fine and appear in court.

 

Sources and references:

Don't forget to share!