Here's what you need to know when driving in Kansas
Across the Sunflower State, there are 286,642 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.
The Zebra doesn't support your browser version, so please give us a call or upgrade your browser to the latest version.
Compare the best rates from 8 car insurance companies in Kansas.
Across the Sunflower State, there are 286,642 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.
|Rank||Company Name||Avg. Annual Premium|
|7||Farm Bureau Mutual||$1,187|
|16||National Farmers Union||$1,503|
Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Kansas drivers without a recent moving violation typically save 16% on their car insurance premiums, near the national average of 17%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$283||16.56%|
Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. Kansas is a relatively affordable state for teen drivers: the typical teen driver pays $4,139 per year — about $800 less than the national average for teens, but still far more than the Kansas driver average across all age groups.
|Age||Annual Rate with Parents||Annual Rate Alone|
If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably pay less for car insurance. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 24% after a DUI, 26% after an at-fault accident, and 16% after a speeding ticket in Kansas. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in Kansas are lower than nationwide averages, especially after a DUI citation. If you have a clean driving record, be on the lookout for good-driving discounts from your insurer.
|Rating Factor||Annual Rate||% Increase|
Every car insurance company advertises its low prices. But as with any product, the most affordable auto insurance isn't always the best choice. Considering the financial stakes, it's worth doing your homework to discover the policy that covers your car adequately after a collision. Be on the lookout for the best value, rather than settling for the cheapest auto insurance in your state.
Review top insurance companies' financial stability and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service you will receive. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Poor" to "Superior" — evaluates an insurer's financial stability and ability to meet its policy and contractual obligations.
|Insurance Company||Claims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)||Financial Strength (A.M. Best)|
|Cal Casualty||Not Rated||Excellent|
The minimum required level of insurance in Kansas is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident.
For the minimum required coverage in Kansas, expect to owe an average of $480 per year. This is cheaper than the U.S. average by 27%. If you elect better coverage, you can select a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against damages incurred by car collisions, theft and vandalism, or weather incidents. Better coverage comes with a cost: in Kansas, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,199, 150% more than basic insurance coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 198% more than you would for basic coverage.
Analyze average rates for liability-only and comprehensive coverage levels in the following table.
|Location||Liability-Only||Comprehensive — $1,000 Deductible||Comprehensive — $500 Deductible|
Liability coverage is legally required in Kansas and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Kansas, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage is legally required in Kansas and pays for injuries that you or your passengers may suffer in the event that you are hit by an uninsured/underinsured driver who is at fault. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into two categories. In Kansas, the minimum is listed as 25/50 and explained below:
Personal Injury Protection provides coverage for medical costs that you and your passengers incur in an accident regardless of fault. PIP will cover medical expenses such as hospital bills, rehabilitation costs, and even work loss resulting from an accident. In Kansas, the PIP coverage limits listed above can be increased for more protection.
Even though Kansas is considered a “no-fault” state, drivers can still sue in the event of medical bills exceeding $2,000 or permanent disfigurement or death resulting from auto accidents.
Put simply, a no-fault insurance laws system requires that drivers carry their own protection. When an accident happens, no matter who is at fault, your own insurance foots the bill. Each driver takes care of his or herself, and theoretically, the chances of someone suing or raising a hissy fit over culpability are lessened. As a bonus, it guarantees every driver immediate medical treatment in the event of an accident.
There is no Kansas law regarding loaning your car to someone — the legality of this depends on your insurance company's policy. Many car insurance policies have a stipulation referred to as "permissive use." This extends coverage to an individual who uses the vehicle infrequently but does not live at the listed residence. The definition of "infrequently" depends on carrier-specific requirements. Your best option is to speak with an insurance agent at your current provider.
Yes. Car insurance is required in Kansas in order for a vehicle to be driven or parked on public roadways.
Depending on your coverage and the accident, you could receive a payout for the totaled vehicle. For example, if you have comprehensive or collision coverage, you would receive the current value of the vehicle minus your deductible. You could use this to acquire a new vehicle. If you were the not-at-fault party in the collision, the other driver's insurance could cut you a check for the current value of the vehicle. If you were the at-fault party and only have liability coverage, you can consider selling the vehicle for scrap value. If you repair the vehicle, it will be deemed a "salvaged title" and could potentially be denied coverage given the risk insurance companies assign to salvaged titles.
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Prairie Village, Kansas, and the most expensive in Kansas City, Kansas.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|
How does insurance work in this case and can I get full coverage?...
Trying to get a car and I don’t have a driver’s license. But I know a place that will let ...
I’m a 55-year-old female with a perfect driving record (no accidents and no tickets) with a CDL driver’s license. I ...
I was driving down the highway when my passenger side window fell off the track and shattered. Is this covered ...
Kansas applies enhanced penalties for DUIs involving:
Kansas recently lowered its lookback period from considering a lifetime of past DUI offenses to a period of 10 years.
First-time DUI offenses in Kansas lead to:
In general, speeding in Kansas occurs when drivers exceed these basic limits:
Local authorities can alter these guidelines as they see fit, so make sure that you are aware of the speed limits in the area in which you’re driving.
Reckless driving in Kansas is defined as driving with “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” Reckless driving may comprise various behaviors. It counts as a misdemeanor in Kansas.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration defines three types of distraction:
Kansas distracted driving laws allow speaking to other passengers but forbid certain activities while driving. Drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Furthermore, drivers between the ages of 14 and 17 are prohibited from speaking on a mobile device while behind the wheel.
Kansas law prohibits drivers from racing, defined as:
Kansas has “no-fault” car insurance laws. This means that your own personal injury protection (PIP) coverage pays your medical bills and specific out-of-pocket expenses regardless of who is at fault.
Kansas requires that all drivers carry mandatory no-fault personal injury protection with these minimums:
If you receive a ticket or citation, your car insurance premiums will probably rise. By how much depends on the specific citation, your car insurance company's pricing standards, and local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
See below average auto insurance rates in Kansas after a few common violations.
|Violation||Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate||% Insurance Rate Increase||$ Insurance Rate Increase|
|Hit and Run||$2,123||44%||$646|
|Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test||$1,993||35%||$517|
|Driving with a Suspended License||$2,081||41%||$604|
|Driving with an Open Container||$1,872||27%||$395|
|Operating a Vehicle Without Permission||$1,778||20%||$301|
|Passing a School Bus||$1,852||25%||$376|
|Following Too Closely||$1,826||24%||$350|
|Failure to Stop at a Red Light||$1,765||20%||$288|
|Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane||$1,753||19%||$277|
|Failure to Yield||$1,826||24%||$349|
|Speeding in a School Zone||$1,733||17%||$256|
|Driving Too Slowly||$1,724||17%||$248|
|Driving with Expired Registration||$1,613||9%||$137|
|Failure to Show Documents||$1,613||9%||$137|
|Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint||$1,548||5%||$71|
|Failure to Wear a Seat Belt||$1,548||5%||$71|
|Driving Without Lights||$1,536||4%||$59|
At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Kansas area, while also getting an insider view of the Sunflower State.
So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.
The length of the road trip to your feature destrination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.
Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.
Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes
The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo
Email your submission to email@example.com
your name, address, and phone number when you submit
Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000
Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019
Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020
The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation
*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.
By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.
Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.
Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.
Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...
Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...
You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...
A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...
While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...
With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...
Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....
If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...
The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...
Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...
If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...
We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...
In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...
Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...
Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...
Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...
Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...