Cheap Mississippi Car Insurance

Compare the best rates from 8 car insurance companies in Mississippi.

or
Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Mississippi

Across the Magnolia State, there are 156,211 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in Mississippi?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1USAA$823
2Travelers$1,010
3Unitrin$1,156
4Dairyland$1,164
5Direct General$1,304
6ALFA$1,364
7Southern Farm Bureau$1,422
8Safeway$1,429
9State Farm$1,436
10Shelter$1,458
11Nationwide$1,540
12Progressive$1,612
13GEICO$1,791
14Safe Auto$2,449
15Allstate$2,618
16Liberty Mutual$2,940
17Safeco$3,943

Compare rates and save!

or
Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Mississippi

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Mississippi drivers don't enjoy much of a rate discount for staying safe on the roads, as avoiding at-fault accidents is rewarded by just a 28% price cut, compared to 32% nationally. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$37617.31%
No Accidents$73328.97%
Good Credit$1,61347.29%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Mississippi

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Mississippi, the typical teen driver pays $5,385 per year, just a bit higher than the national average for all teen drivers.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$4,030$8,989
17$3,826$8,053
18$3,738$6,717
19$3,326$4,407

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Mississippi

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 31% after a DUI, 28% after an at-fault accident, and 17% after a speeding ticket in Mississippi. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in Mississippi roughly align with national averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$2,53128.97%
DUI$2,60931.11%
Speeding Violation$2,17417.31%
Bad Credit$3,41047.29%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in Mississippi?

Every car insurance company boasts about its cheap costs. But just like with any product, the cheapest car insurance isn't always the finest option. Considering the stakes, it's worth doing your homework to discover an insurance policy that will cover your car completely after an accident. Consider comparing choices to discover a great value, instead of settling for the cheapest auto insurance you find.

Compare popular car insurance companies' financial stability and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service you'll receive. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is rated on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Superior" to "Poor" — determines an insurer's financial strength and ability to fulfill its contractual and policy obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
ALFANot RatedExcellent
Allstate3Superior
Direct GeneralNot RatedExcellent
GEICO3Superior
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
Nationwide4Superior
Progressive3Superior
Safeco3Excellent
SafewayNot RatedExcellent
ShelterNot RatedExcellent
Southern Farm BureauNot RatedSuperior
State Farm3Superior
Travelers3Superior
UnitrinNot RatedExcellent
USAA5Superior

 

Get quotes from Mississippi's best insurers!

or
Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

 

What is the Best Car Insurance Coverage in Mississippi?

The minimum insurance requirement in Mississippi is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident.

If you choose the legal minimum coverage level in Mississippi, you will pay an average of $776 annually. This is more expensive than the national mean by 18%. If you opt for better coverage, you can purchase a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against damages caused by vehicle collisions, auto theft, or weather incidents. It's worth noting that better insurance coverage comes with a cost: in Mississippi, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible runs $1,613, 108% more than basic insurance coverage. For comprehensive coverage with a $500 deductible, you can expect to pay 132% more than for basic coverage.

Compare average rates for basic, better, and best car insurance levels below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
Mississippi$775.90$1,612.77$1,803.34
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Mississippi

In Mississippi, the state minimum coverage requirement is liability with limits of:
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Mississippi (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage

Liability coverage is legally required in Mississippi and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Mississippi, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $25,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Mississippi but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

Mississippi Car Insurance FAQs

Do you need to have car insurance in Mississippi?

Yes — car insurance is legally required in Mississippi.

Who has the cheapest insurance in Mississippi?

While the cheapest company will depend on your driving profile, USAA is the cheapest company in Mississippi for an average driver profile. If you do not qualify for USAA, Travelers, Unitrin, and Direct General offer car insurance at below-average rates.

What type of car insurance is required in Mississippi?

Mississippi has state-required liability limits of 25/50/25, meaning you are required to carry $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury coverage and $25,000 in property damage coverage. If you have a loan or lease on the vehicle, you may need to carry comprehensive and collision coverage.

How much does car insurance cost in Mississippi cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Starkville, Mississippi, and the most expensive in Jackson, Mississippi.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Jackson$1,670
2Clarksdale$1,661
3Gulfport$1,635
4Clinton$1,633
5Biloxi$1,613
6Horn Lake$1,585
7Pascagoula$1,575
8Vicksburg$1,574
9Olive Branch$1,565
10Southaven$1,562
11Brandon$1,556
12Gautier$1,554
13Ridgeland$1,552
14Greenville$1,530
15Madison$1,524
16Oxford$1,516
17Hattiesburg$1,503
18Meridian$1,498
19Laurel$1,460
20Columbus$1,394
21Tupelo$1,393
22Natchez$1,370
23Ocean Springs$1,290
24Pearl$1,264
25Starkville$1,116

Recent Mississippi Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Can my husband add a car that is in my name to his insurance policy?

Thanks for your question. Your husband should be able to add your vehicle so long as his insurance carrier is alright with the change.

I had an accidental ten day lapse between insurance carriers. How long will I be penalized for lapse?

You will have to have had your car insurance for a continuous six months in order to cease being penalized with a higher rate and get credit for having insurance — which should help your rate come down. See this guide to understand how and why a lapse in coverage impacts your premium.

How do you insure a car that is not being driven but is held for collateral by a bank?

Whether or not the vehicle is being driven, you still need the state minimum liability coverage — in Mississippi, the state-required liability limits are 25/50/25, meaning you are required to carry $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury coverage and $25,000 in property damage coverage. In most cases, if the vehicle is used for collateral for a loan, the loan company will require you to have comprehensive and collision coverage to protect your vehicle.

An excluded driver got into an not-at-fault accident with my vehicle

In this situation, it can depend. When a driver is excluded from a car insurance policy, this means they are not covered to drive your vehicle.


Driving Laws

Mississippi Texting and Driving Laws

  • Ban on all cell phones for school bus drivers
  • Ban on text messaging for school bus drivers
  • Ban on text messaging for Learner or Provisional License

Mississippi DUI Laws

Mississippi’s DUI lookback period is five years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe lead to enhanced fines and penalties. Penalties are also increased for DUIs that cause damage, injury, or death.

First-time DUI offenses in Mississippi lead to:

  • Up to two days in jail $250 to $1,000 in fines
  • Suspended license for a 90-day minimum
  • Required completion of the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program
  • Requirement to install and use an interlock ignition device for 90 days after license reinstatement

How Do Tickets Impact Car Insurance Rates in Mississippi?

If you receive a ticket or citation, your car insurance rates may rise. How much your rates rise depends on the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance risks and regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

Below is a look at car insurance costs in Mississippi after a few common citations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$2,44259%$905
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$2,33852%$801
DUI$2,33852%$801
Racing$2,37855%$841
Reckless Driving$2,30050%$763
Driving with a Suspended License$2,32351%$786
At-Fault Accident$2,21744%$680
Driving with an Open Container$2,18942%$652
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$2,03833%$501
Passing a School Bus$2,00731%$470
Improper Passing$1,97528%$438
Following Too Closely$2,09236%$555
Speeding$1,90124%$364
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$1,87722%$340
Illegal Turn$1,94827%$411
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$2,00731%$470
Failure to Yield$1,87722%$340
Speeding in a School Zone$1,83720%$300
Driving Too Slowly$1,83720%$300
Distracted Driving$1,98329%$446
Driving with Expired Registration$1,73913%$202
Failure to Show Documents$1,73913%$202
Not-at-Fault Accident$1,6678%$130
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$1,6467%$109
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$1,6195%$82
Driving Without Lights$1,6467%$109

How Do Tickets Impact Car Insurance Rates in Mississippi?

If you receive a ticket or citation, your car insurance rates may rise. How much your rates rise depends on the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance risks and regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

Below is a look at car insurance costs in Mississippi after a few common citations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$2,44259%$905
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$2,33852%$801
DUI$2,33852%$801
Racing$2,37855%$841
Reckless Driving$2,30050%$763
Driving with a Suspended License$2,32351%$786
At-Fault Accident$2,21744%$680
Driving with an Open Container$2,18942%$652
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$2,03833%$501
Passing a School Bus$2,00731%$470
Improper Passing$1,97528%$438
Following Too Closely$2,09236%$555
Speeding$1,90124%$364
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$1,87722%$340
Illegal Turn$1,94827%$411
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$2,00731%$470
Failure to Yield$1,87722%$340
Speeding in a School Zone$1,83720%$300
Driving Too Slowly$1,83720%$300
Distracted Driving$1,98329%$446
Driving with Expired Registration$1,73913%$202
Failure to Show Documents$1,73913%$202
Not-at-Fault Accident$1,6678%$130
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$1,6467%$109
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$1,6195%$82
Driving Without Lights$1,6467%$109

Mississippi Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Mississippi area, while also getting an insider view of the Magnolia State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.