Cheap Missouri Car Insurance

Compare the best rates from 13 car insurance companies in Missouri.

Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Missouri

Across the Show Me State, there are 268,201 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

 


 

Cheap Car Insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in Missouri?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1USAA$655
2The Hartford$801
3Electric$858
4Allied$858
5Auto-Owners$1,017
6Travelers$1,018
7MO Farm Bureau$1,042
8Nationwide$1,120
9Farmers$1,128
10Cameron Mutual$1,178
11State Farm$1,246
12American Family$1,266
13Safe Auto$1,391
14Progressive$1,396
15Safeco$1,398
16GEICO$1,420
17Shelter$1,433
18MetLife$1,444
19Cal Casualty$1,454
20Auto Club$1,503
21Encompass$1,547
22Allstate$1,917
2321st Century$1,940
24Dairyland$3,378

Compare rates now!

 

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Missouri

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Missouri drivers don't enjoy much of a rate discount for staying safe on the roads, as avoiding at-fault accidents is rewarded by just a 29% price cut, compared to 32% nationally. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$31319.21%
No Accidents$54829.42%
Good Credit$1,58854.70%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Missouri

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Missouri, the typical teen driver pays $4,847 per year, which aligns closely with the national average for all teen drivers, but is about three times the rate typical for all Missouri drivers.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$5,011$6,886
17$4,808$5,288
18$4,889$4,556
19$4,175$3,170

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Missouri

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you're probably enjoying relatively low auto insurance premiums. On the other hand, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 27% after a DUI, 29% after an at-fault accident, and 19% after a speeding ticket in Missouri. The penalties assessed by car insurance companies after a DUI citation in Missouri are lower than in many other states. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$1,86329.42%
DUI$1,82527.98%
Speeding Violation$1,62719.21%
Bad Credit$2,90254.70%

What are the Best Car Insurance Companies in Missouri?

Every auto insurance company emphasizes its low rates. But just like with any service, the cheapest car insurance option is not always the preferable choice. Considering the stakes, it's worthwhile to do your research to find a policy that protects your car adequately after an accident. It's worth comparing insurance options to discover a great value, instead of settling for the cheapest car insurance you can find.

Compare popular insurers' financial strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the quality of service you will receive. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and varying from "Poor" to "Superior" — determines an insurer's financial stability and ability to fulfill its contractual and policy obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
21st Century3Excellent
Allied3Superior
Allstate3Superior
Cameron MutualNot RatedGood
ElectricNot RatedExcellent
Farmers3Excellent
GEICO3Superior
MetLife3Superior
Nationwide4Superior
Progressive3Superior
ShelterNot RatedExcellent
State Farm3Superior
The Hartford4Excellent
Travelers3Superior
USAA5Superior

 

Find the best policy for you today!

 

What is the Best Car Insurance Coverage in Missouri?

The required minimum insurance level in Missouri is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $10,000 Property Damage per accident.

For the legal minimum coverage in Missouri, you'll owe an average of $519 each year. This is cheaper than the U.S. average by 21%. If you opt for better car insurance coverage, you can select a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, insuring against damages caused by car-vs.-car wrecks, theft, or weather incidents. It's worth noting that better auto insurance comes at a cost: in Missouri, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible runs $1,169, 125% more than basic insurance coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, you can expect to pay 156% more than you would for a basic liability-only policy.

Contrast average rates for basic, better, and best car insurance options below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
Missouri$518.89$1,169.22$1,330.20
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Missouri

In Missouri, the state minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
Liability
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $10,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Missouri (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury

Liability coverage is legally required in Missouri and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Missouri, the minimum is listed as 25/50/10 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $10,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

Uninsured Motorist coverage is legally required in Missouri and pays for injury and lost wages that you or your passengers may suffer in the event that you are hit by an uninsured driver who is at fault. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into two categories. In Missouri, the minimum is listed as 25/50 and explained below:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person injured in your vehicle by an uninsured driver.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries in your vehicle by an uninsured driver if more than one person is hurt.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Missouri but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

Missouri Car Insurance FAQs

Is Missouri a no-fault state for car insurance?

No. Missouri is an at-fault state. This means you are required to provide reimbursement for any damage you if you are deemed at fault in a car collision.

How long does a car insurance payout take for a stolen car in Missouri?

This depends on your insurance company. If you have comprehensive coverage, expect a theft claim to be resolved as quickly as possible.

Does insurance follow the car or the driver in Missouri?

No. Unless explicitly stated in your policy, car insurance follows the vehicle, not the driver.

How much does car insurance cost in Missouri cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Saint Peters, Missouri, and the most expensive in Florissant, Missouri.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Florissant$1,676
2University City$1,636
3Mehlville$1,594
4Kansas City$1,582
5Wildwood$1,517
6Chesterfield$1,516
7Independence$1,489
8Ballwin$1,486
9Saint Louis$1,459
10Liberty$1,419
11Lee's Summit$1,402
12Blue Springs$1,391
13Cape Girardeau$1,353
14Springfield$1,350
15Columbia$1,331
16Raytown$1,290
17Jefferson City$1,239
18Kirkwood$1,189
19Joplin$1,149
20Saint Joseph$1,145
21Wentzville$1,123
22Saint Charles$1,118
23O'Fallon$1,112
24Saint Peters$1,106

Recent Missouri Car Insurance Questions and Answers

How do I handle car insurance after my husband’s death?

If my husband passed away, and I have never had a license, should I keep his insurance current? Or does ...

DEC 11, 2018
|
KANSAS CITY, MO
Does subrogation vary from state to state?

Does the process of subrogation varies from state to state or if the process is straight forward?...

DEC 07, 2018
|
SPRINGFIELD, MO
Claims that would be covered under a HO3 and not covered HO2?

I understand about named Peril and Open Perils. However, I need examples of covered situations on an HO3 that aren’t ...

OCT 12, 2018
|
SIKESTON, MO
Should I file a claim for damage to my car caused by my husband?

My husband backed my vehicle into the back of his vehicle in our driveway. His vehicle was not damaged but ...

SEP 20, 2018
|
TERRY, MS

Driving Laws

Missouri Texting and Driving Laws

  • Ban on text messaging for drivers <21

Missouri DUI Laws

Some DWI offenses result in harsher penalties if they occur within five years of a previous DWI offense in Missouri. For others, prior lifetime convictions are taken into account. Repeated offenses subject offenders to harsher penalties and fines.

First-time DWI offenses in Missouri lead to:

  • Up to six months in prison Up to $500 in fines
  • A 90-day license suspension
  • Possible requirement to use an interlock ignition device for at least one month
  • Possible requirement to complete an alcohol evaluation or treatment program

Missouri Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Missouri area, while also getting an insider view of the Show Me State.

Prompt

So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destrination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.

Qualifications

Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to scholarships@thezebra.com

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit

Details
Award

Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000

Deadline

Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2019

Notification

Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2020

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.


Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.

How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
How to Update Your Driver’s License When You Move to a New State
Jul 28, 2017

Moving to a new state can be an exciting adventure. As with most moves, it requires a bit of paperwork...

Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Drunk Driving vs. Distracted Driving: Which is More Dangerous?
Jun 09, 2017

  Drunk driving has long been a major cause of accidents on the road. Having a few drinks impairs our...

Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
Digital Insurance Cards: Which States Accept Them?
May 19, 2017

You probably already take care of your banking errands on your phone (thanks, mobile check deposits!). You may have shown...

Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Car Insurance for First-Time Drivers: 6 Things You Should Know
Apr 03, 2017

A driver’s license is more than just permission to take to the open road. To many, including first-time drivers, it...

Driverless Car Laws by State
Driverless Car Laws by State
Mar 16, 2017

While many established automakers and technology companies are itching to win the autonomous vehicle race, legislators are simply trying to...

How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
How Does the Government Affect What You Pay for Car Insurance?
Mar 12, 2017

  With auto insurance rates on the rise over the last five years, I’m constantly asked who’s responsible for auto...

What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
What You Need to Know about Getting High and Driving in 2017
Jan 30, 2017

Marijuana legalization in the U.S. is constantly evolving, and states continue to modify their own legislation on their own timelines....

4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
4 Consequences of Driving without Insurance
Jan 27, 2017

If you drive in the U.S., you simply have to have car insurance. It’s the law. (Even residents of New...

The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
The Rundown on “No Refusal” Weekends
Dec 20, 2016

The holidays are a hazardous time to be on the roads, and believe us, cops know it. They’re closely monitoring...

How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
How Long After a Car Crash Can You File a Claim?
Dec 13, 2016

Auto insurance rules aren’t simple: each state sets its own regulations about everything from whether or not a driver’s credit...

What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
What’s the Most Expensive Traffic Ticket in Your State?
Nov 08, 2016

If a cop hands you a ticket for speeding, swerving in and out of lanes, or causing a crash, you’re...

Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Don’t Count on Anti-Theft Devices to Lower Your Insurance Rate – Here’s Why
Nov 02, 2016

We know that tech and automotive companies are racing to create increasingly connected, autonomous cars. In fact, many of us...

Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Driver’s License Points: Do They Matter?
Sep 23, 2016

In the world of traffic law and auto insurance, points are universally a bad thing. Instead of helping you win...

Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Who Pays More for Car Insurance: Democrats or Republicans?
Aug 22, 2016

Red states, blue states, and battleground states: we’ll hear a lot about the political leanings of the 50 U.S. states...

Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Which States Have the Cheapest Car Insurance?
Aug 02, 2016

Car insurance companies consider all sorts of factors to assess risk and set rates for different drivers. Here at The...

Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Welcome to Data Heaven: Introducing The 2016 State of Auto Insurance Report
Aug 02, 2016

Drumroll please… Today, The Zebra introduces to you, fine readers, our first annual State of Auto Insurance Report! Did you...

Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
Study: Poor Credit Will Cost You Double for Car Insurance
May 03, 2016

Most folks consider credit a crucial factor in determining what they pay for home mortgages and other big life expenses, but far...