Cheap Texas Car Insurance

Compare rates from 24 of the top auto insurance companies in Texas.

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Texas

Across the Lone Star State, there are 654,923 miles of road waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.



Cheap car insurance

What's the cheapest car insurance in Texas?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
3Texas Farm Bureau$1,223
4Germania Mutual$1,269
6Cal Casualty$1,410
7State Farm$1,480
10Safe Auto$1,581
14Home State$2,113
1921st Century$2,445
23Old American County Mutual Fire$3,095
24Liberty Mutual$3,097

Compare car insurance rates!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.


Affordable auto insurance for good drivers in Texas

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Texas drivers without a recent moving violation save just 4% on their car insurance premiums, on average — compared to the national average of 17%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

If you feel like your rates are high in spite of your clean driving record, get car insurance quotes every few months to ensure you're getting a good deal.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$804.32%
No Accidents$87433.01%
Good Credit$1,33842.99%

Cheap insurance for young drivers in Texas

Young drivers — aged between 16 and 25 — pay very high car insurance rates, with those aged 16 to 19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Texas, teen drivers pay especially high rates: $7,096 per year — more than $2,000 more than the nationwide average and almost four times as much as a typical Texas driver.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone

Cheap car insurance for drivers with bad records in Texas

With a good driving record — devoid of at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. On the other hand, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 28% after a DUI, 33% after an at-fault accident, and 4% after a speeding ticket in Texas. The post-violation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in Texas are substantially lower than nationwide averages — especially when it comes to speeding tickets. If you have a clean driving history, inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$2,64833.01%
Speeding Violation$1,8544.32%
Bad Credit$3,11242.99%

What are the best car insurance companies in Texas?

Every auto insurance company advertises its low premiums. As with any product, the cheapest auto insurance policy isn't always the best choice. Considering the stakes, it's worthwhile to do your homework to discover an insurance policy that covers your vehicle adequately after an accident. It's worth comparing insurance options to unearth a great value, instead of settling for the most affordable car insurance in Texas.

Compare major insurers' financial strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better predict the level of service you will receive. Claims satisfaction — assigned by J.D. Power — is rated on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Poor" to "Superior" — assesses an insurance company's financial strength and ability to satisfy its policy and contractual obligations.

Insurance Company
Claims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)
Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
21st Century
Not Rated
Liberty Mutual
State Farm
Texas Farm Bureau
Not Rated


Find the right policy for you!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.


What is the best auto insurance coverage in Texas?

The minimum car insurance requirements in Texas are $30,000 bodily injury per person, $60,000 bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 property damage per accident.

If you choose the legal minimum coverage level in Texas, expect to pay an average of $826 annually. This expenditure is more expensive than the nationwide average by 26%. If you opt for better coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against the costs of car-on-car crashes, theft and vandalism, or weather incidents. But better coverage comes with a cost: in Texas, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,620, 96% more than liability-only car insurance. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 120% more than you would for basic coverage.

Compare average rates for basic, better, and best Texas auto insurance levels below.


Comprehensive — $1,000 Deductible
Comprehensive — $500 Deductible
National Average


Car insurance laws in Texas

State minimum insurance requirements in Texas

In Texas, the state minimum coverage requirement is liability insurance with limits of:
  • Bodily injury liability: $30,000 per person
  • Bodily injury liability: $60,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Texas (varies by carrier):
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • Additional Medical Coverage
  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance/Towing and Labor

Liability coverage is legally required in Texas and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Texas, insurance minimums are listed as 30/60/25, explained below:

  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person you injure in an auto accident.
  • $60,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
  • $25,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage you cause in an accident.

These numbers reflect the minimum insurance limits required in Texas but higher coverage amounts are available from most insurance companies.

Texas auto insurance FAQs

Do you need insurance to change your car title in Texas?

Yes. Because car insurance is legally required in Texas, you will need insurance to get a title change.

Can undocumented immigrants get car insurance in Texas?

Yes, but it is difficult. Most car insurance companies require their customers to have a valid driver's license. This provides insurers insight into their potential customers' driving backgrounds. While you can get insurance without a license in Texas, it may be difficult and expensive.

Can you insure a salvage title car in Texas?

Yes, but it may be more expensive due to the added risk insurance companies attribute to salvaged titles.

How much does car insurance cost in Texas cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Killeen, Texas, and the most expensive in Dallas, Texas.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
6Grand Prairie$1,561
14San Antonio$1,501
17Fort Worth$1,446
18El Paso$1,442
21Corpus Christi$1,416

Recent Texas Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Is it illegal to carry liability insurance rather than full coverage on a financed vehicle?

Though it's not illegal, you will be violating terms of your loan if you change the breadth of your coverage in favor of liability-only. Your lienholder will then force-place collateral protection insurance to your monthly payments.

Can I add a non-licensed, non-U.S. citizen to an auto policy?

Thanks for the question. The first thing that I would say is that you should consider having them get their drivers license beforehand.

Can a handicap permit from another country be used in the US?

It appears the following states will allow you to use an out of country placard: California, Illinois, Louisiana, Nevada, and Texas. If she'll be visiting other states, you may need to contact the state's DMV for additional information. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask.

I got into a minor car accident and agreed to pay out-of-pocket, but today I learned they filed a claim against me. What should I do?

Unfortunately, if you're at-fault and the other party wants to file a claim against you, that is within their power to do so — even if you previously agreed to pay for the damage out-of-pocket. If you had already paid for the damage, make sure to tell the claims department when you speak with them and provide proof if you have it.

Texas driving laws

Texas texting and driving laws

  1. Ban on all cell phones for school bus drivers w/ passenger <17 drivers and drivers <18 years old
  2. Ban on text messaging for school bus drivers w/ passenger <17 drivers and drivers <18 years old
  3. Ban on text messaging in school zones for all drivers

Texas DUI laws

There is no maximum DWI lookback period in Texas. Instead, all prior DWI convictions are taken into account when an impaired driver is sentenced for a DWI offense. Penalties are enhanced when charged with DWI if a passenger under 15 years old is present.

First-time DWI offenses in Texas lead to:

  • Three to 180 days in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to a year
  • Possible requirement to attend a DWI Education Program
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

How do tickets impact car insurance rates in Texas?

If you receive a ticket or citation, your auto insurance premiums will probably rise. By how much depends on the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance regulations and risks. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

See below average auto insurance rates in Texas after a few common citations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$2,55740%$730
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$2,49737%$670
Reckless Driving$2,55740%$730
Driving with a Suspended License$2,47736%$649
At-Fault Accident$2,62844%$801
Driving with an Open Container$2,38731%$560
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$2,05613%$229
Passing a School Bus$2,00510%$177
Improper Passing$2,00510%$177
Following Too Closely$2,00510%$177
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$2,00510%$177
Illegal Turn$2,00510%$177
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$2,00510%$177
Failure to Yield$2,00510%$177
Speeding in a School Zone$1,9255%$98
Driving Too Slowly$1,9255%$98
Distracted Driving$2,00510%$177
Driving with Expired Registration$1,9698%$141
Failure to Show Documents$1,9698%$141
Not-at-Fault Accident$2,06413%$237
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$1,8270%$0
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$1,8270%$0
Driving Without Lights$1,8270%$0

Texas Tour Guide Scholarship

At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in Texas, while also getting an insider view of the Lone Star State.


So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.

How do I choose a location?

The length of the road trip to your feature destination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.


Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.

How to Apply
1. Create a video

Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes

2. Post online

The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo

3. Submit by email

Email your submission to

4. Please include...

your name, address, and phone number when you submit


Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000


Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2020


Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2021

Judges: The Zebra

The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation

*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.

Fine Print

By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.

Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.

Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.